Posted by
Message
t00f
New Orleans Saints Fan
Eating square cut pizza in the zone
Member since Jul 2016
11201 posts

Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Hey guys ..

Looks like Cox is screwing with me and promised to not raise my cable bill but did. Not putting up with it. What's the current opinions on what they are using? I sat on Directv now but let it expire after the 90 days/Apple TV deal.

Last time I used Sling I just hated the interface.

Seems to me if you don't have the $35 deal with DTVN Vue is the way to go. But that said if you want HBO (which I do) DTVN is a better deal.
This post was edited on 5/9 at 12:42 pm


4WHLN
USA Fan
P'ville
Member since Mar 2013
5963 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
I still have zero issues with my DTVN service. Its been great for me so far. I will say tho when on Fire Tv, it tends to buffer a fair amount. on ATV, it's flawless.
This post was edited on 4/12 at 8:20 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
50
knowingabyss
LSU Fan
Vermont
Member since Aug 2016
2479 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
What do you like to watch? I've got Direct Tv Now and the Apple TV and I love it. No problems at all whatsoever, though I may have to upgrade my package soon because the $35 one is lacking. Also, no live ABC hurts because I want to watch the NBA Finals but I guess I'll have to go to my friends for that.


4WHLN
USA Fan
P'ville
Member since Mar 2013
5963 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Get an antenna for your locals.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
140
jefforize
Army Fan
Cyrodiil
Member since Feb 2008
31054 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Sling has updated their interface.

Also reliability is a lot better.

I like sling. I used to hate Sling. They've improved.

My friend has DTV now and i like it when i use it.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
t00f
New Orleans Saints Fan
Eating square cut pizza in the zone
Member since Jul 2016
11201 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Thanks for the feedback so far.

As far as what I watch I find at the 35 range the channels are pretty similar

T-Mobile gives you 30% off a month for Sling, so with HBO it's $30 but I want to use Apple TV and they don't have DVR yet for ATV.

I kick myself for letting the DTVN deal drop but Cox swore they would give me the same deal.

If I start atreamng again I plan to buy a Tablo.


AUCE05
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Dec 2009
21255 posts
 Online 

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
I am a casual TV watcher (turn it on 3-4 times a week) and DTV now has been great for me.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Uncle JackD
USA Fan
MAGA
Member since Nov 2007
53584 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
DTVN is great if you're using Apple TV.. on fire devices, its terrible.

I can't comment on Vue


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
jefforize
Army Fan
Cyrodiil
Member since Feb 2008
31054 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Sling does have a lot of on demand shows.

For instance i can watch damn near any history channel show i want at the moment. Even if american pickers is on live.


LSUtigerME
LSU Fan
Walker, LA
Member since Oct 2012
1674 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
I like PSVue. Haven't compared against Sling or DTVN, but the interface on FTV is pretty easy and simple to navigate, DVR is great. Hardly any buffering or streaming issues.


t00f
New Orleans Saints Fan
Eating square cut pizza in the zone
Member since Jul 2016
11201 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Thanks Uncle D, I was with you guys when it first came out and got the ATV deal.

I also need to re-check out Sling, looks like things have gotten better.

Jeff .. any issues with video stream on high demand shows? Use to bomb on the walking dead.


t00f
New Orleans Saints Fan
Eating square cut pizza in the zone
Member since Jul 2016
11201 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Yeah those are the reasons I have it at the top vs DTVN


jefforize
Army Fan
Cyrodiil
Member since Feb 2008
31054 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
I remember those dark days.. bombing on TWD. Hence why i hated then.

Its gotten better. But sometimes the connection still dips and quality will drop or it buffers


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Carson123987
Texas Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
54374 posts
 Online 

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Vue is simply incredible


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
100
TheriotAF
LSU Fan
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Member since Mar 2013
316 posts
 Online 

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Vue has been nothing but reliable for me and has always been perfect HD. Add that with their DVR function and it was an easy choice for me. Best decision I ever made was to cut my $120 cable bill for Vue @ $35!


Uncle JackD
USA Fan
MAGA
Member since Nov 2007
53584 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
For those who have Vue, does it work well on Apple TV and fire tv?


TheriotAF
LSU Fan
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Member since Mar 2013
316 posts
 Online 

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
My Apple TV is old so I can't download apps onto it. As far as FireTV stick, it works great. It's all I've used so far.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
t00f
New Orleans Saints Fan
Eating square cut pizza in the zone
Member since Jul 2016
11201 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
quote:

For those who have Vue, does it work well on Apple TV and fire tv?


Going to be testing Vue today.

So, a breakdown:

(1) Sling is tempting as I get a 30% discount via TMobile and it appears their interface has gotten better, Cheapest with HBO=$30

(2) Directv Now has a good set of channels even with losing out on the 100 channels $35 + HBO is $40

(3) Vue seems to be the most mature of the 3 along with having a 30 day DVR and logins to apps and channels comparable to DTVN + HBO is $50


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
jmcwhrter
Member since Nov 2012
505 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
Do you turn the TV on and just let it play in the background for noise? Or are there specific shows you watch on a regular basis?

We have Vue and DTVN, and more and more we find ourselves downloading the individual channel apps and then using our credentials to watch shows that way


t00f
New Orleans Saints Fan
Eating square cut pizza in the zone
Member since Jul 2016
11201 posts

re: Latest opinions on Directv now vs sling vs Vue vs Hulu Live TV
quote:

Do you turn the TV on and just let it play in the background for noise? Or are there specific shows you watch on a regular basis?

We have Vue and DTVN, and more and more we find ourselves downloading the individual channel apps and then using our credentials to watch shows that way




I am all over the place. One thing that drew me back to Cox was a DVR so I was not a slave to when something came on which is why Vue intrigues me.

I watch Fox News every day, AMC, Syfy, cooking channels, locals, History, National Geographic, USA when Mr. Robot is on, and others. So depending on the season as to when the shows comes on makes a difference as to whether I hit Netflix/Prime vs TV.


Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 9next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram