I'm not blaming the ref. The 4th official got it wrong.
That's fine. I thought that you were talking about the center referee wrt the, "10 second" comment.
Defender clearly won the challenge. He got to the ball first, and got nothing but the ball. His body impeded Rooney's progress after the fact that the ball was already cleared. That isn't a penalty.
I'll have to watch it again. I thought that it was close. I was hoping that the post game show would replay it in slow motion.
Moot point though with the 3rd goal
I don't know if they score that without Braga being stretched while going forward. Of course, I know for sure that they wouldn't score that again with Hernandez taking 12 touches after beating the goalkeeper.