What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
L.A.
New Orleans Saints Fan
Los Angeles
Member since Aug 2003
37398 posts

What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


Is he the long-term answer at LT?

Or if Terron Armstead is the long-term answer at LT, is Brown a better option at RT than Zach Strief?

TIA.








Back to top
Share:
Hoodoo Man
LSU Fan
Sunshine Pumping most days.
Member since Oct 2011
17400 posts
 Online 

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


Armstead is the future at LT.

Strief is fine to me right now, but we might look for another.
Or maybe Harris will eclipse him.






Back to top
L.A.
New Orleans Saints Fan
Los Angeles
Member since Aug 2003
37398 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


quote:

Strief is fine to me right now, but we might look for another.
What about Brown at RT? Too light? He's listed at 297 and usually RT's are maulers.






Back to top
Hoodoo Man
LSU Fan
Sunshine Pumping most days.
Member since Oct 2011
17400 posts
 Online 

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


Yeah, Strief has a bit of weight on Brown.

Brown is good, but I think he might just be holding the spot at this point.






Back to top
Chad504boy
New Orleans Saints Fan
Five Oh Four
Member since Feb 2005
79285 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


he's doing ok but its in my hopes that armstead can soon be an upgrade.





Back to top
SDwhodat
Member since Apr 2007
1613 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


He went to USC - he's doing terribly.





Back to top
geauxtigers87
USA Fan
NOLA
Member since Mar 2011
6668 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?








Back to top
Billy Mays
Ole Miss Fan
Northshore Ole Miss Bear Club
Member since Jan 2009
16348 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?








Back to top
chillygentilly
USA Fan
Dallas, TX via 70122
Member since Aug 2012
1095 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


Brown is incredibly mediocre, but so is our whole o-line right now. Armstead may be the long-term solution, but he is a project. The fact that Payton hasn't put him out there, even with all our o-line woes, is saying something.





Back to top
blueslover
New Orleans Saints Fan
soon to be south of zero
Member since Sep 2007
20873 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


Brown will be UDFA so there should be some understanding between & the team as to what the future is. For him, it is all predicated on his performance this year.

So after the season-

*Charlie we wanna lock you up long term
*We're gonna go Franchise Tag for a year to be sure ($9.8mil 2013) before going long term
*offer a non bank breaking deal- like the 2yr Bushrod deal
*We're gonna go in a different direction Charlie (Armstead in)

Beyond the money, he prolly is more interested in security. A deal but having to compete against Armstead yearly vs. "You da man!" It's an established fact that some good O-linmen come out of the Saints system. Chargers just signed Tiller to PS. Castoff Jeremy Parnell has gotten decent reps in Dallas, etc.

After 3 games I'd say moderate deal offered like Bushrod's extension. Prolly depends as much on what they see in Armstead as Brown's performance. He's locked in thru 2016 with cap hit never reaching $900K






Back to top
Hoodoo Man
LSU Fan
Sunshine Pumping most days.
Member since Oct 2011
17400 posts
 Online 

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


quote:

After 3 games I'd say moderate deal offered like Bushrod's extension. Prolly depends as much on what they see in Armstead as Brown's performance. He's locked in thru 2016 with cap hit never reaching $900K

I think this is what we're looking at.

He's gonna back up Armstead going forward.






Back to top
L.A.
New Orleans Saints Fan
Los Angeles
Member since Aug 2003
37398 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


quote:

Chargers just signed Tiller to PS.
I liked what I saw of Tiller in preseason. I was surprised that we didn't sign him to the PS.






Back to top
BGSB
LSU Fan
Opelousas
Member since Jan 2010
1277 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


I .... well I don't know. I never really focus on the offensive line, on run plays I watch them a bit. It looks to me that the run blocking is not so good all the way across. I guess I'm more interested in how they protect Brees. So far, not too bad.


This post was edited on 9/26 at 3:12 pm


Back to top
chillygentilly
USA Fan
Dallas, TX via 70122
Member since Aug 2012
1095 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


quote:

I .... well I don't know. I never really focus on the offensive line, on run plays I watch them a bit. It looks to me that the run blocking is not so good all the way across. I guess I'm more interested in how they protect Brees. So far, not too bad.


Have you watched a Saints game this year? Drew's been sacked 10 times in 3 games. He was sacked 26 times total last year.






Back to top
CocoLoco
New Orleans Saints Fan
30° 12' N 92° 0' W
Member since Jan 2012
12559 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


He has played fairly well so far. He's not the long term answer here, but he is more than serviceable, along with Strief. Armstead should be the man next season, and hopefully the long term answer. He's has a much higher ceiling than Brown.





Back to top
blueslover
New Orleans Saints Fan
soon to be south of zero
Member since Sep 2007
20873 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


and...





Back to top
Suntiger
USA Fan
BR or somewhere else
Member since Feb 2007
20961 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


quote:

Armstead is the future at LT.


You are awefully sure Hoodoo. I haven't seen anything that makes me think Armstead is such an upgrade over Brown. He was giving the opportunity in camp and Brown won out.


That being said, I'll agree that Charles Brown is mediocre. Not great. Not terrible. I'd take an upgrade if one was available.






Back to top
Melvin
New Orleans Saints Fan
Covington
Member since Apr 2011
11344 posts
 Online 

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


quote:

He's gonna back up Armstead going forward.
Would definitely be nice, but you seem to have a lot of confidence in Armstead. I know he's just a rookie and can improve but he may not and Brown has looked decent at least. Nothing to wow you but not horrible either.






Back to top
goatmilker
New Orleans Saints Fan
2014 drunkin Bobby award winner!
Member since Feb 2009
14996 posts
 Online 

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


As to the future who the hell knows. Who steps up next year is a total unknown. The best we have are starting for us now.

As to Brown he seems to be doing well in pass but vs the run he seems to not dominate at all. Unlike many I like Strief at RT and he doesn't cost much.
CSP will open most of the o-line to a lot of competition next year. Grubbs is very high dollar for performance. DLP has struggled early. Evans injured. Brown a FA. Could be a lot of turnover.
Its early yet and I hope for improvement. O-line coach needs to earn his money!






Back to top
TigerBait1127
New Orleans Saints Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Jun 2005
29606 posts

re: What's your opinion of LT Charles Brown so far?


quote:

The fact that Payton hasn't put him out there, even with all our o-line woes, is saying something.



our interior line has been failing us, not the tackles






Back to top


Back to top




//