My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
HeadyBrosevelt
Hawaii Fan
Down By The River
Member since Jan 2013
17470 posts

My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


Quick little write up. I focused on the tracks I really enjoyed.

The three songs that feature Nile Rodgers share a similar vibe- one of dirty, raw funk riffs and robotic vocoders. Lighthearted and bright, these are most fun tracks on the album. “Give Life Back to Music” utilizes the correct forumla as an opener and sets the vibe. “Lose Yourself to Dance” has Skateboard P channeling his inner MJ and ranks as one of the album’s most danceable sections. “Get Lucky” is well on its way to being a smash hit (and the best one on the Billboard Top 40 in a long time), although I wish there was more robot and less Pharrell. The robot section that starts at 3:26 is still the most infectious part of the entire album.

The closing five tracks are outstanding and truly champion sound. On that note, the entire album technically sounds phenomenal, a terrific example of superior audio engineering.

“Beyond” has a nice, gentle arrangement while “Motherboard” sounds like a lost Boards of Canada track (which is a good thing). “Fragments of Time” features a solo from the same thread as the one in "Digital Love." Overall a great song. Todd Edwards’ vocals may be the most “loungey” of the entire album, but work in the context of the song. Really enjoyed this one.

Of all the collaborators announced for Random Access Memories I was most excited about Panda Bear and “Doin’ It Right” does not disappoint. It really is Daft Punk meets Animal Collective, and I’ll leave it at that.

“Contact”. As a jam band fan it is impossible to not rock the frick out to this one. Pure cosmic space rock. Guy Manuel in particular goes fricking ballistic on the drums. Great ender to a great album.

Throughout the album I can’t help while listening and attempting to identify a way to describe the music I am hearing and the only thing I can come up with is “what the frick is this?” It certainly isn't house music. The voiceover in “Giorgio by Moroder” does a stellar job explaining how they tried to fit in the sounds of each decade while adding a touch of the future.

I listened to the album in full both on a bike ride and long car ride. I am looking forward to hearing it in a social setting to see how a crowd reacts to it, which I feel like is where Daft Punk really shines. It is no coincidence that they dropped this on the eve of summer.

Get this album.





This post was edited on 5/14 at 2:22 pm



Back to top
Share:
DustyRhodes85
USA Fan
Greater Baton Rouge
Member since Nov 2007
593 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


Nice breakdown Heady...I agree with all of it

Those were the tracks that stood out for me as well...






Back to top
  Replies (0)
CheeseburgerEddie
Alabama Fan
Crimson Tide Fan Club
Member since Oct 2012
11838 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


I'm not a big electro fan (what i call the broad umbrella that contains all electronic and semi electronic music) I love ghostland, as well as avicii's sound although much of it does come to the same refrain at the peak, I love that sound though. Others I enjoy select tracks but get bored pretty easily, I do like deadmau5 a lot especially after seeing live at voodoo in 2010, love skrillex up to the point in every song where he does his "skrillex thing" and completely ruins it for me.

having said all that i thought the album was interesting with I think three or four great tracks. I did a quick listen at work and will give it another chance as I have always thought Daft Punk brought something unique to this vast and generic music movement.

Also most of my friends that are really into this type of music hated this album.



This post was edited on 5/14 at 2:32 pm


Back to top
Josh Fenderman
Alabama Fan
Ron Don Volante's PlayPen
Member since Jul 2011
4655 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


I agree with your writeup. Listened to it for the second time now, but I still can't get into Touch. I'm not digging that song just yet.






Back to top
rutiger
Rutgers Fan
purgatory
Member since Jun 2007
16241 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


ive only given it a quick listen, i havent really delved in head first yet. my initial reaction is that it reminds me of off the wall era mj. i found the slow songs to be kind of boring, but again, i havent given it my full attention yet. after my first listen my favorite song is giorgio, but that could easily change after a few more listens.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Josh Fenderman
Alabama Fan
Ron Don Volante's PlayPen
Member since Jul 2011
4655 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


quote:

Also most of my friends that are really into this type of music hated this album.

They would probably rather be sucking Skrillex off






Back to top
Andre
Arizona Fan
Marigny
Member since Apr 2009
2796 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


quote:

but I still can't get into Touch


It kinda reminds me of Bowie






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Sublime
LSU Fan
The Rocky Mountains
Member since Aug 2009
575 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


Solid write-up Heady thanks for sharing your opinion. I really enjoy this album and you touched on the songs that stand out to me as well. I feel like there hasn't been an album that brought the funk like this in awhile. I dig Touch but then again I'm a sucker for horns and that psychedelic sound.





Back to top
danman6336
Duke Fan
Member since Jan 2005
14061 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


quote:

“Motherboard” sounds like a lost Boards of Canada track (which is a good thing)
It really does

And the last 1-2 minutes of Giorgio by Moroder sounds like a Biscuits jam

Except with a real bass player






Back to top
Dave England
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Apr 2013
1201 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


THIS ALBUM FRICKING ROCKS





Back to top
HeadyBrosevelt
Hawaii Fan
Down By The River
Member since Jan 2013
17470 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours








Back to top
Sublime
LSU Fan
The Rocky Mountains
Member since Aug 2009
575 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours








Back to top
  Replies (0)
Dave England
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Apr 2013
1201 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


quote:

Guy Manuel in particular goes fricking ballistic on the drums


Where did you see it was Guy that played drums?






Back to top
CheeseburgerEddie
Alabama Fan
Crimson Tide Fan Club
Member since Oct 2012
11838 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


Probably would, and I refuse to allow them to control the ipod at my house for that reason in particular





Back to top
  Replies (0)
quail man
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New York, NY
Member since May 2010
25434 posts
 Online 

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


i need to give it a second listen. it was good but not as grand as i expected based off hype





Back to top
HeadyBrosevelt
Hawaii Fan
Down By The River
Member since Jan 2013
17470 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


quote:



And the last 1-2 minutes of Giorgio by Moroder sounds like a Biscuits jam

Except with a real bass player


yeah I would say Thomas Bangalter is a little more legit than Brownie






Back to top
  Replies (0)
HeadyBrosevelt
Hawaii Fan
Down By The River
Member since Jan 2013
17470 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


quote:

it was good but not as grand as i expected based off hype


If you watched any of the collaboration series I don't know why you would have "grand" expectations. It was clear that they were shooting for a stripped down affair.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
HeadyBrosevelt
Hawaii Fan
Down By The River
Member since Jan 2013
17470 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


quote:

Where did you see it was Guy that played drums?


Why wouldnt it be?






Back to top
The realpurpangold
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2007
957 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


listening to "Doin it Right" as I type this. Love the Panda Man, can't wait to rock this shite out some more.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Rickety Cricket
Navy Fan
Premium Member
Member since Aug 2007
34803 posts

re: My review of | Daft Punk - Random Access Memories | after 24 hours


R Bar is jamming Give Life Back to Music





Back to top


Back to top