Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
Cajun8
LA-Lafayette Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2008
580 posts

Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


Hey guys, I'm looking for some unbiased opinions here.

I'm a big fan of Jonathan Lucroy as he played at my alma mater Louisiana-Lafayette... I've followed him through his journey to the majors and I owned him in my league last year when he was on fire.

So I was hoping to get him this year as a late round value catcher but someone jumped the gun in my league and drafted him in the 8th round. I then drafted Mike Napoli who I also think should have a good year especially in Boston where he will get more ABs than he did with Texas.

Well now this guy in the league has offered me a trade of Jonathan Lucroy and injured Corey Hart (we have 2 DL spots) for Mike Napoli.

So I'm trying not to led my clouded fandom judgement of Lucroy get in the way of true Fantasy value.... Do you guys think this is worth the trade? I think Lucroy will hit 20+ bombs this year and he will hit over .300 again. Also he should be in line for more RBIs this year as he's moved up in the batting order to 5th rather than 7th/8th of last year. Lucroy is one of the most clutch hitters in the game, if you haven't watched him yet I suggest you check him out.

So the real question is, will Napoli get me 30+ homers and hover anywhere close to .300? Because if he doesn't, I'm leaning toward Lucroy.

Now fire away, all opinions welcome. Head to Head format.

My roster...

C Mike Napoli
1B Edwin Encarnacion
2B Chase Utley
SS Ian Desmond/Andrelton Simmons
3B Evan Longoria
OF Jason Heyward
OF Yoenis Cespedes
OF Melky Cabrera
DH Ryan Howard

My pitching staff is prob irrelevant here so I'll leave em out of the discussion.



This post was edited on 4/4 at 11:01 am



Back to top
Share:
Louie T
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2006
31748 posts
 Online 

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


Who would you be dropping? I would likely do the trade without even knowing though.

I would take Hart over Napoli starting in a month, and Lucroy is a more than adequate starting C.






Back to top
TthomasJR
New Orleans Saints Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Sep 2006
12137 posts

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


If you really like Lucroy then do the deal. Always good to have the guys you like in real life on your team.

Even if you didn't like Lucroy, I'd probably still do it since you have DL spots.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
rondo
New Orleans Saints Fan
Worst. Poster. Evar.
Member since Jan 2004
59839 posts

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


Ha! You went to ULL





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Cajun8
LA-Lafayette Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2008
580 posts

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


I wouldn't have to drop anyone since I have DL spots. Plus at this point I don't have any backup OFs so it would be nice to get Corey Hart in the mix when he's healthy.

I'm just worried that with Napoli getting more ABs being that he's going to be playing more 1B with the Sox than with the Rangers that he might go off this year and maybe even hit 35+ bombs.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
swamie
Memphis Fan
Where opportunity meets hard work
Member since Jan 2007
22336 posts

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


quote:

I think Lucroy will hit 20+ bombs this year and he will hit over .300 again. Also he should be in line for more RBIs this year as he's moved up in the batting order to 5th rather than 7th/8th of last year.


That's a really optimistic stat line for Luc. Realistically I'd say .280 with 15-20 HR. And he should move back in the lineup once Hart comes off the DL.

Do you have any UTL spots?







Back to top
Cajun8
LA-Lafayette Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2008
580 posts

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


quote:

That's a really optimistic stat line for Luc. Realistically I'd say .280 with 15-20 HR. And he should move back in the lineup once Hart comes off the DL.

Do you have any UTL spots?


Well I agree with you that it's an optimistic stat line but it's definitely possible, not that far fetched. He hit 12 bombs last year with almost 100 fewer ABs than the year before when he also hit 12. He broke his hand on a freak accident mid season, was out for 2 months, then came back and was still tearing it up.

I guess my point is, I feel like Napoli has reached his ceiling and may or may not get back there with a new team, while Lucroy is on the upswing and entering the prime of his career.

Oh and it's a 2 Keeper league, no UTL spots. Start all positions plus 1 DH plus 6 pitchers.






Back to top
Vicks Kennel Club
USA Fan
LegenD Forever
Member since Dec 2010
19063 posts
 Online 

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


quote:

I feel like Napoli has reached his ceiling and may or may not get back there with a new team

Napoli's upside is as the best fantasy catcher in the game. However, I would be very surprised if he were to return to his second half surge in 2011.






Back to top
Cajun8
LA-Lafayette Fan
Lafayette
Member since Feb 2008
580 posts

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


My concern is that while Lucroy may be a safe play at Catcher, Napoli could very well blow up in Boston hitting in Fenway Park. Him being a right handed hitter, the green monster will make a lot of his routine fly balls turn into doubles off the wall and home runs.

If he ends up hitting 35+ bombs and I lost him in a trade at the beginning of the season I'd be kicking myself.






Back to top
rondo
New Orleans Saints Fan
Worst. Poster. Evar.
Member since Jan 2004
59839 posts

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


Don't trade for a dude because he went to your school.

Homerism don't win ships son






Back to top
  Replies (0)
PortCityTiger24
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Dec 2006
64763 posts

re: Lucroy/Napoli Trade? Need opinions


I wouldn't do it. Napoli will hit 30+ bombs this season.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top