Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
donRANDOMnumbers
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Lafayette Rouge
Member since Nov 2006
12094 posts

Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


rather than get a new driver this year i am thinking of trying a different shaft in my current driver.

Right now i am playing a 910D3 8.5* and have it on standard setup with the lowest loft (d-1 i think)
Shaft is the made for Titleist 'Ahina 70 S.

i am looking for a shaft that will help with spin reduction, and to keep the ball flight low.

I did a fitting last year and he tried to put me in a Proforce V2 70S, which is 76 grams. Though it might have performed well, it felt too much like i was swinging an anvil.

I am currently considering the Motore F1 65 S. I've also read that the Aldila RIP is a low flight/low spin shaft.

any thoughts are appreciated?







Back to top
Share:
JJ27
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2004
46980 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


Have you ever hit a whiteboard?





Back to top
  Replies (0)
threeputt
Notre Dame Fan
God's Country
Member since Sep 2008
21743 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


Im a big matrix fan .. Played the tp7hd in both the driver and three wood for a while now. Of course that is an expensive shaft. Sometimes you can find a pull for cheap on ebay but not often ..

I recently bought a new driver and hated the shaft it cam with. I bought a graphite design BB shaft today. Maybe look into that.






Back to top
medtiger
LSU Fan
Cubs Fan
Member since Sep 2003
17595 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


Take a look at this chart. Looks like the shaft you have is the best option for what you're looking for as far as stock Titleist options go. Driver shafts are one thing I get really frustrated with. There are just so many options, and it's so hard to tell how well each performs in just a few swings.





Back to top
medtiger
LSU Fan
Cubs Fan
Member since Sep 2003
17595 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

Im a big matrix fan .. Played the tp7hd in both the driver and three wood


That's OT ballin'. Just looked that shaft up and they're $1000 each.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
L.A.
New Orleans Saints Fan
Los Angeles
Member since Aug 2003
37566 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

Right now i am playing a 910D3 8.5* and have it on standard setup with the lowest loft (d-1 i think)
D1 is a swing weight, not a loft.

The "8.5" you mentioned is the loft. Fwiw, that's a very low loft for an amateur golfer. I have a 7 handicap and I play a 9.5 loft (Titleist 905R).






Back to top
medtiger
LSU Fan
Cubs Fan
Member since Sep 2003
17595 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

D1 is a swing weight, not a loft.


He's referring to the adjustable setting on his driver. Setting D1 is delofted 0.75 degrees and neutral. So, he's actually playing his driver at 7.75 degrees.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
hehateme2285
LSU Fan
Katy, TX
Member since Dec 2007
3292 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

tp7hd in both the driver


Tested that in my driver. Hated it. Something about the kickpoint of it seemed different from what I always played. Went back to Oban



This post was edited on 1/9 at 6:14 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
unbeWEAVEable
LSU Fan
The Golf Board Godfather
Member since Apr 2010
11641 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

Right now i am playing a 910D3 8.5* and have it on standard setup with the lowest loft (d-1 i think)


So the driver is set at 7.75*?

quote:

Shaft is the made for Titleist 'Ahina 70 S.


Here is your first problem. If this isn't the first thing someone points out, they aren't too knowledgeable in shafts...

Any shafts made for a particular company is "watered down" or "sub-par" compared to the actual shaft. What it says isn't what it actually is (sorry I don't know the specifics on the variance). Do NOT get a shaft that is made "exclusively for" someone.

quote:

i am looking for a shaft that will help with spin reduction, and to keep the ball flight low. I did a fitting last year and he tried to put me in a Proforce V2 70S, which is 76 grams. Though it might have performed well, it felt too much like i was swinging an anvil.


This was my recent venture and exactly what I put in. The shaft has low torque and depending one the kick-point, will keep the ball low as well. The weight is a factor as well (favorable, in this case). The ProForce is a low spin/low flight shaft.

I don't think that the problem is the shaft, but your swing (I don't mean that in a way that says you have a bad swing, but in a way that you may have adjusted to the new shaft in the wrong way).

When you had the 8.5* (or 7.75* in the lowest setting), you were already trying to force the ball flight down, since you wanted an even lower ball flight. When you put the V2 shaft in it, you forcing the ball flight down compared withe the low torque and heavy shaft probably either caused the ball flight to go low and right, or when you did hit one "well", it was on the top of the club face. When you hit the ball left, it probably was just a mid-level pull (let me know if those three things were accurate or not).

If those were the case, I think the problem is that you didn't give yourself enough time to adjust to the new shaft. If that wasn't the case, then I think you may have gone to the extreme of low ball flight, which doesn't result in low ball flight but misses that go everywhere.

If the latter is the case, try putting the loft on the club UP all the way (I'm not sure what that is). If that doesn't help, next try teeing the ball up higher (doesn't make much sense, but trust me). This way, if these fix the problem, then you don't have to change anything major or spend money. If not, next get a shaft that is a little lighter, but not much, and one with a tiny hit more torque. The last thing you want to adjust is the kick-point, since the variance in changing that is larger than changing anything else in relation.

Good luck, and sorry for the novel






Back to top
unbeWEAVEable
LSU Fan
The Golf Board Godfather
Member since Apr 2010
11641 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

Take a look at this chart.


This. The chart in medtiger's post is the best source of information available when picking a new shaft. Just make sure you are at the point of actually picking a new shaft before really analyzing it.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
mytigger
USA Fan
Member since Jan 2008
12268 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

Right now i am playing a 910D3 8.5* and have it on standard setup with the lowest loft (d-1 i think)
Shaft is the made for Titleist 'Ahina 70 S.



funny, I was playing the driver at 9.5d and same shaft and had the same problems. way too much spin causing drives into the wind to flare and come up short, but with no wind I hit it well.

(But I believe the Ahina you're playing is 72 and not 70)

I just upgraded to the 913d3 8.5d shaft with the Ahina 72 shaft and I've got a much lower ball flight and it bores into the wind. Feels like a totally different shaft.

This titlest shaft chart shows you the new shafts, torque, spin, etc.:

LINK

Good luck!



This post was edited on 1/9 at 7:43 pm


Back to top
donRANDOMnumbers
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Lafayette Rouge
Member since Nov 2006
12094 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

D1 is a swing weight, not a loft. The "8.5" you mentioned is the loft. Fwiw, that's a very low loft for an amateur golfer. I have a 7 handicap and I play a 9.5 loft (Titleist 905R).


d-1 is the setup on the adjustable club.

I played a 7.5* 975J throughout high school and some college.

My handicap is roughly 4.5

I own a 975d, 975j, 909, and 910. None greater than 8.5*

Just FYI






Back to top
LSUcdro
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2009
7644 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


How old are you? How fast is your swing?





Back to top
donRANDOMnumbers
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Lafayette Rouge
Member since Nov 2006
12094 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


Yea, I like the stats of the new diamana d+ white 72. Just can't make myself buy the 913 driver.

You like it much more than the 910?






Back to top
donRANDOMnumbers
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Lafayette Rouge
Member since Nov 2006
12094 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


28.

Definitely over 105 with driver.
Guy had a swing speed reader one time we went out and I was swinging a little over 110.






Back to top
LSUcdro
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2009
7644 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


I'll bookmark this thread and get back to you tomorrow. I have a couple buddies on amateur tours, and a guy thats a pro at a golf course. I'll see what the recommend. My brother also buys and sells golf equipment, so I may be able to hook you up with something for a discounted price.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
donRANDOMnumbers
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Lafayette Rouge
Member since Nov 2006
12094 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

I don't think that the problem is the shaft, but your swing (I don't mean that in a way that says you have a bad swing, but in a way that you may have adjusted to the new shaft in the wrong way).


U are probably very right IMO. I believe I come in very steep due to the amount of lag i create. However that lag is how I create power and just part of my swing now. I probably need a lesson more than a new club!






Back to top
unbeWEAVEable
LSU Fan
The Golf Board Godfather
Member since Apr 2010
11641 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

d-1 is the setup on the adjustable club.


And is also a weight.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
unbeWEAVEable
LSU Fan
The Golf Board Godfather
Member since Apr 2010
11641 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

donRANDOMnumbers


Don't I know you IRL?






Back to top
donRANDOMnumbers
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Lafayette Rouge
Member since Nov 2006
12094 posts

re: Golf genuises - opinions on a new driver shaft


quote:

So the driver is set at 7.75*?


Fwiw I really didn't find THAT much difference between the standard setting and the 7.75* setting.

I guess I felt the ball wasn't ballooning as bad as the standard setting.






Back to top


Back to top