First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
ligerbait
LSU Fan
Nashville, TN
Member since Dec 2005
3023 posts

First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


Surprising.

LINK







Back to top
Share:
Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
37317 posts

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed




Amanda Seyfried said she thinks it will be one of the best movies ever







Back to top
ligerbait
LSU Fan
Nashville, TN
Member since Dec 2005
3023 posts

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


All of the screener buzz created Oscar buzz, but unless this is just a randomly negative sample of reviewers then Oscar is probably out the window. Even the positive ones aren't all that positive.





Back to top
Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
37317 posts

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


quote:

Even the positive ones aren't all that positive.


I noticed that. Interesting






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Rittdog
LSU Fan
Yesterday, all my troubles seemed
Member since Oct 2009
9955 posts

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


quote:

Amanda Seyfried said she thinks it will be one of the best movies ever


Brad Bevet (C+)
I could watch the first hour of this film over again, but once Cosette grows up, Les Mis grows old.
LINK /



This post was edited on 12/6 at 2:28 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
elprez00
New Orleans Saints Fan
Hammond, LA
Member since Sep 2011
12925 posts
 Online 

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


Not gonna lie, read this as "First Les Miles reviews are online." Clicked thinking I would find some sort of joke with bad reviews.





Back to top
hobotiger
LSU Fan
Hoboken, NJ
Member since Nov 2007
3141 posts

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


I did too





Back to top
Dr RC
Texas A&M Fan
Dallas
Member since Aug 2011
14147 posts

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


well I just saw Hathaway promoing this on Letterman and I can already say I hate the way this was shot.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
Fearthehat0307
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Dec 2007
51340 posts

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


quote:

Not gonna lie, read this as "First Les Miles reviews are online." Clicked thinking I would find some sort of joke with bad reviews.
this






Back to top
  Replies (0)
roodypoo
Alabama Fan
New Jersey
Member since Nov 2012
122 posts

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


quote:

Not gonna lie, read this as "First Les Miles reviews are online." Clicked thinking I would find some sort of joke with bad reviews.








Back to top
  Replies (0)
TN Bhoy
USA Fan
Sketty, Wales
Member since Apr 2010
42549 posts

re: First Les Mis reviews are online, mixed


quote:

It's here the film begins to fall apart. Les Miserables reaches such a climax with Hathaway's show-stopping performance of "I Dreamed a Dream" that simply nothing that comes after it can live up to its excellence. Hathaway, shot in close-up for the song's duration and without a single cut, is crushing. I can't remember a time where I was so floored with emotion from one solitary musical performance that the fact her few minutes of song outweigh the entirety of a nearly three hour feature is telling not only of her performance, but of the remaining minutes that follow.

Barks, who played Eponine in the recent London stage adaptation of Les Mis, does provide the film's second half with a fantastic performance of "On My Own" that stands only second to Hathaway's "Dream", but is one of the few remaining highlights as the final 90 minutes drag to an inevitable conclusion.



This is a problem. "Bring Him Home" should be the moment in the film.


Also, as I've said in every Les Mis thread, Amanda Seyfried should be nowhere near this movie.






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top