Just my opinion regarding this site | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
thetigerman
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2006
1568 posts

Just my opinion regarding this site


The fact that you create separate "message boards" for large events like football games and elections is pretty crappy, IMO. It seems, at least IMO, that you are trying to cover up or sugar coat events and the commentary they inspire. I say this because you later lock the new "message boards" and unless one knows exactly how to search for them, the posts are virtually no longer existent. I understand this is probably a CYA policy, but I personally find it to be disingenuous, suppressive, and clandestine.

Again, just my opinion.







Back to top
Share:
TheRig
Arkansas Fan
Basketball School, AL
Member since Aug 2011
24547 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


Why would you want to clog up the Poli Talk and Tiger Rant with shitty gameday and election threads that sweep general game discussion and every day political chatter to the wayside?

For every negative you try to point out there is a counter and a reason for why the Admins made their choice.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
RIPMachoMan
LSU Fan
Nola
Member since Jun 2011
1008 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


Here's a thought:

Then frick off! TigerDroppings hates ya back!

:nana: :nana:






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Displaced
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2011
15766 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


this site has been around for almost a decade. The trial and error process works. How dare you question the mighty?

It keeps the clutter contained in one area so those of us who dont really care about the topic (example, i live in the center of the country so i didn't care about Hurricane Issac) don't have to sift through 100 threads.

another example: i dont live in colorado and i dont smoke pot so i don't really want to llook at 15 pot threads on the first page of the ot. i want to see nothing but WOWYHI threads. if i want to know something about the legalization of pot, i can go to the Weed World Board and read about it.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
genro
Penn Fan
Tuscaloosa (not Austin)
Member since Nov 2011
30164 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


During a game (or an election) a million little shitty threads get started for every minuscule thought that pops up in people's heads. It completely clogs up the board and quickly wipes out the quality and substantive threads. It's the posters' fault that this happens, but it's impossible for the admins to maintain control and keep people from doing that.

So this is their only solution. Don't blame the admins, blame the posters.






Back to top
thetigerman
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2006
1568 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


I do understand the positives to the policy, and I can appreciate them. I just wish there was a way to do it AND allow the posts to still be readily accessible without a search.






Back to top
Displaced
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2011
15766 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


quote:

I just wish there was a way to do it AND allow the posts to still be readily accessible without a search.


bookmark any thread you tkink you may be interested in...






Back to top
  Replies (0)
wildtigercat93
LSU Fan
Hammond, LA
Member since Jul 2011
43194 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


Love it or leave it





Back to top
thetigerman
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2006
1568 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


quote:

Love it or leave it


Not helpful.






Back to top
thetigerman
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2006
1568 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


But ultimately, what does it matter if the alternate board is "locked"? It cannot "clog up the board" if the board is locked. I'm just saying that IMO it looks bad. If no one else cares, then please carry on. Its just my opinion.






Back to top
Kafka
New Orleans Saints Fan
Remember landscaping the Alamo
Member since Jul 2007
72461 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site








Back to top
Chad504boy
New Orleans Saints Fan
Five Oh Four
Member since Feb 2005
80008 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


quote:

I just wish there was a way to do it AND allow the posts to still be readily accessible without a search.



take pictures of the threads with your camera.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
jeff5891
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Aug 2011
4920 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site








Back to top
  Replies (0)
Burt Reynolds
Florida State Fan
L.A.
Member since Jul 2008
17226 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


nicely done kafka





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Ice Cold
USA Fan
Over Macho Grande
Member since Jun 2004
16792 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


quote:

Kafka








Back to top
  Replies (0)
Breesus
New Orleans Saints Fan
House of the Rising Sun
Member since Jan 2010
25948 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


quote:

Just my opinion regarding this site


It is the best site on the internet, with the best admin team ever, and the "special event" boards are both entirely necessary and brilliant ideas.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
EarthwormJim
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2005
9765 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


You can request threads to be moved to the board after the Election/Score Board are closed.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
When in Rome
USA Fan
Telegraph Road
Member since Jan 2011
25966 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


HEY IS THIS YOUR OPINION OR WAT





Back to top
  Replies (0)
OneMoreTime
SMU Fan
Florida Gulf Coast Fan
Member since Dec 2008
47292 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


quote:

Again, just my opinion.

Your opinion is stupid.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
When in Rome
USA Fan
Telegraph Road
Member since Jan 2011
25966 posts

re: Just my opinion regarding this site


quote:

Just my opinion
quote:

IMO
quote:

at least IMO
quote:

Again, just my opinion.






Back to top


Back to top