What is ya'lls opinion on Roku | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
klewis
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2009
1074 posts

What is ya'lls opinion on Roku



Been thinking about cancelling my SuddenLink cable and getting Roku with a one time fee. I know I would probably need Hulu and Netflix also which will be monthly fees. How is it watching sports like LSU football and Saints? Would I still be able to watch those games w/o Suddenlink cable on Roku? Just curious of ya'lls overall opinion of it.






Back to top
Share:
cas4t
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jan 2010
29179 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


My roommate has it, and it's pretty cool. Granted most movies and others cost money so he actually probably spends more than he should.
Great for sports though






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUDropout
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2009
1859 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


I've owned one for a while now (2 years?) and I've really been happy with it. We have Netflix, and Hulu Plus. I have also watched movies through Crackle on it. I don't know of any channels on the Roku that would allow you to watch LSU football or Saints, but I haven't really looked either.





Back to top
NonSense
LA-Monroe Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2006
760 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


I have one and it's great, only issue with it is the little remote. If you misplace it, you can't operate the box without it, and it can hide pretty well because of it's size.

My 2 year old uses it most watching cartoons and other kid's shows on Netflix. Haven't browsed that many of the other channels on it but I know you can also watch HBOGO on it if you have an HBO subscription.






Back to top
klewis
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2009
1074 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


Yeah, the football is what's holding me back. I called them and the lady just kept saying sure you can watch sports. I was asking her if I would be able to watch my particular teams play and she just kept saying yes, you can watch sports. I wasn't real confident in her answer.





Back to top
klewis
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2009
1074 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


quote:

My 2 year old


I've got one that age also who is great at hiding remotes






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tkeey514
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since Apr 2008
26 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


Canceled cable and replaced it with a Roku subscribing to Netflix and Hulu Plus and an over the air antenna in my attic. I have been without cable for about a year and a half now. Not much on Roku is free but Hulu and Netflix is less than $20 a month. Crackle has free movies but most suck. There is an SEC channel the shows clip and highlights of SEC sports.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
TigerinATL
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since Feb 2005
34477 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


quote:

I know I would probably need Hulu


Comcast bought NBC/Universal so they have a controlling interest in Hulu and they appear to be moving in the direction of requiring you log into your cable account. They want to make it so you can't access Hulu unless you already have cable. In the short term you'll probably save money and watch 95% of what you used to watch, but long term the cable companies may find a way to suck you back in.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tkeey514
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since Apr 2008
26 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


I am not aware of any way to watch football on Roku. There is a MLB channel that you can subscribe to.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Waffle House
Virginia Fan
NYC
Member since Aug 2008
2409 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


Love it. I don't watch much TV though.

No sports except for MLB package and maybe NHL or NBA. I prefer to watch my sporting events with a group of people at a bar or at a friends house.

If they ever added the NFL Sunday Ticket, it could be a complete game changer.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
BottomlandBrew
LSU Fan
Nashville
Member since Aug 2010
13932 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


quote:

If you misplace it, you can't operate the box


They have android and iphone apps that you can use as a remote. Actually works better than the remote that comes with the Roku.

There is a way to get ESPN3 on it by using PlayOn. I think it's like $20 or $30. Been a while since I got it. Between that and tv antenna, I pretty much get all the sports I want. If I don't then there's always the bar on the corner.

I have Netflix, Amazon Prime, and PlayOn. Serves all my tv/movie needs.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tiger in NY
LSU Fan
Neptune Beach, FL
Member since Sep 2003
21988 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


Do you already have a Blu Ray player? If not, skip the Roku and get a WiFi enabled Blue Ray player for around $130.





Back to top
nikki6
New Orleans Saints Fan
Dallas
Member since Jul 2011
1790 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


I use an antenna to catch the Saints games on the rare occasion I'm home watching them. The picture on my tv is much better with my antenna than it ever was with cable.

I love my Roku!






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Jwodie
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Sep 2009
5694 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


I think I understand this correctly but if I have an XBOX360 with wifi I can do everything (stream HULU, Netflix, HBOGO) that Roku can, correct? I.e., if I have an XBOX360 + internet I don't need a Roku?





Back to top
davesdawgs
Georgia Fan
Georgia - Class of '75
Member since Oct 2008
17933 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


quote:

What is ya'lls opinion on Roku
Yeah, the football is what's holding me back. I called them and the lady just kept saying sure you can watch sports. I was asking her if I would be able to watch my particular teams play and she just kept saying yes, you can watch sports. I wasn't real confident in her answer.


Yep, there's a reason for her generic/evasive answer. I will likely just keep paying for cable tv as long as I can afford it. We waste money on stuff with a lot less value.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Layabout
UNO Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2011
7189 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


quote:

Do you already have a Blu Ray player? If not, skip the Roku and get a WiFi enabled Blue Ray player for around $130.

Be aware that you will be limited to the services hard coded in the Blu-Ray firmware and they vary from one manufacturer to another. Panasonic, for example, does not offer Amazon Prime. The same is true of the Roku box but it has a wider set of offerings and will also support streaming from a server running playon.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Layabout
UNO Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2011
7189 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


quote:

I think I understand this correctly but if I have an XBOX360 with wifi I can do everything (stream HULU, Netflix, HBOGO) that Roku can, correct? I.e., if I have an XBOX360 + internet I don't need a Roku


You need a server like playon in order to stream content to your xbox or playstation.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
JBeam
LSU Fan
Guns,Germs & Steel
Member since Jan 2011
45473 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


IF i didn't have an xbox, I'd get a roku just for HBOGO & Netflix streaming.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
SG_Geaux
LSU Fan
Googolplexian Posts
Member since Aug 2004
51077 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


quote:

I think I understand this correctly but if I have an XBOX360 with wifi I can do everything (stream HULU, Netflix, HBOGO) that Roku can, correct? I.e., if I have an XBOX360 + internet I don't need a Roku?




The 360 has netflix, Hulu, and HBOgo, but the Roku has FAR more channels.

You can't get HBOGo without a cable subscription though.






Back to top
JBeam
LSU Fan
Guns,Germs & Steel
Member since Jan 2011
45473 posts

re: What is ya'lls opinion on Roku


But outside of HBOGO,Netflix,Hulu+ & Infinityx what else do you really need?





Back to top


Back to top