Started By
Message

re: Can you punt out of a non punt formation?

Posted on 10/9/12 at 9:56 am to
Posted by Keltic Tiger
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2006
19371 posts
Posted on 10/9/12 at 9:56 am to
Somewhat related question. In the current Sports Illustrated, there is an article on a current NFL ref, drawing a blank on his name, but he said that there is no rule on pass interference when a team is punting, presumably the punter making the pass. But added that he has never seen it happen, either. Why wouldn't there be interference if a DB tackles a WR or RB out in the flat as the ball is in the air?
Posted by Zamoro10
Member since Jul 2008
14743 posts
Posted on 10/9/12 at 11:21 am to
quote:

In the current Sports Illustrated, there is an article on a current NFL ref, drawing a blank on his name, but he said that there is no rule on pass interference when a team is punting, presumably the punter making the pass. But added that he has never seen it happen, either. Why wouldn't there be interference if a DB tackles a WR or RB out in the flat as the ball is in the air?


When a team lines up in punt formation, it does not have to punt the ball. The punter can run with the ball or pass the ball from the punt formation. However, outside receivers are not given protection from pass interference on a pass from punt formation. For example, the outside gunner may sprint downfield and the punter can throw the ball to him. However, a defender can hit that player as he is sprinting downfield because the opponent is under the impression that he is a tackler who is trying to make a play against a punt return. The rationale behind the rule is that the defensive team does not have to afford the gunner room to run without being hit and may attempt to prevent him from getting downfield.

The rule reads:

“Whenever a team presents an apparent punting formation, defensive pass interference is not to be called for action on the end man on the line of scrimmage.

Otherwise, any time you lobbed a pass to a gunner, it would be pass interference as they are always fighting with the coverage team.

That does not mean it can't be called against other players who are not designated gunners.
This post was edited on 10/9/12 at 11:22 am
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram