Posted by
Message
Ham Solo
Arkansas Fan
Member since Apr 2015
4967 posts

Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
Horrible acting, great fricking movie.

Disagree? I will be at your local Sonic.

Discuss.
This post was edited on 4/19 at 11:26 pm


ellunchboxo
New Orleans Saints Fan
Gtown
Member since Feb 2009
17343 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
8 Seconds was better.


Ham Solo
Arkansas Fan
Member since Apr 2015
4967 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
quote:

8 Seconds was better.


I'm rolling my eyes at you for the moment, but I remember 8 seconds as a good movie.

I need to rewatch for a proper comparison.

Let's judge Pure Country on it's own merits for the moment.
This post was edited on 4/19 at 11:36 pm


ellunchboxo
New Orleans Saints Fan
Gtown
Member since Feb 2009
17343 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
I bet George Straight gives himself douche chills when he watches that performance.


Ham Solo
Arkansas Fan
Member since Apr 2015
4967 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
quote:

I bet George Straight gives himself douche chills when he watches that performance


C'mon now, his rat tail in that opening scene was amazing.

Nobody has pulled that off before or since.


Ham Solo
Arkansas Fan
Member since Apr 2015
4967 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
Just got my foot long coney with tater tots, and an ocean breeze slushy. No takers so far.

I'm going to go ahead and give Pure Country 9.5/10.

Goodnight everybody.

Go ahead and anchor this thread.
This post was edited on 4/19 at 11:48 pm


devils1854
Winthrop Fan
Nashville
Member since Aug 2014
5239 posts
 Online 

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
The Pure Country album is the greatest George Strait album ever.

I Cross My Heart-GOAT Strait love song
Heartland-"When you hear twin fiddles and a steel guitar"
When Did You Stop Lovin Me
The King of Broken Hearts
Where the Sidewalk Ends


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
181
dnm3305
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2009
12773 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
“Im a top flight, hold ya tight, get ya there by daylight, do ya right overnight male.”



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
90
Ham Solo
Arkansas Fan
Member since Apr 2015
4967 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
For the record I was on a country music movie binge tonight. I also watched Crazy Heart. Another great movie.

Sonic is closed,but I'm still here with the lights off if you disagree.
This post was edited on 4/20 at 1:53 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
70
Maximus
Florida A&M Fan
Member since Feb 2004
78297 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
Go on. Get your arse outta here.


SoFla Tideroller
Alabama Fan
South Florida
Member since Apr 2010
17798 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
Honeysuckle Rose with Willie. Haven't seen it since it came out. Saw it on a date with my girlfriend (now wife). Liked it then; I'm sure it's horrific now.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
FairhopeTider
Alabama Fan
Fairhope, Alabama
Member since May 2012
17208 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
Great Movie.

Great Album.

Horrible acting.

I actually think Strait does a decent job for someone who had never acted before. Saw him in concert in Atlanta a few weeks ago and when he played “Heartland,” they had the “Dusty” logo on all of the video boards. It was awesome.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
70
DVA Tailgater
LSU Fan
Bunkie
Member since Jan 2011
1937 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
It’s perfect for what it is. George didn’t have to do much heavy lifting. It’s fun to look back and see a young Kyle Chandler. The soundtrack is rock solid. The story is still as relevant as ever: don’t forget your roots and that it’s about the music.


extremetigerfanatic
LSU Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Oct 2003
4332 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
The king of broken hearts is legit one of my fav strait songs.

That album really is good.

Don’t mess with grandmaw ivy.

It needed a better actress for the love interest. And keep Leslie Ann warren away from my movies.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
Chocolate Jesus
LSU Fan
Deep in the Heart of Texas
Member since Jan 2019
360 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
I think I saw Pure Country at least 3x at the Broadmoor for a $1. That movie was tighter than a Gump in their sister.


prostyleoffensetime
USA Fan
Mississippi
Member since Aug 2009
9571 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
“You liiikkkeee him, dontchu?”

Agree with all previous assessments.

Great movie, great album, horrible acting.

Even that song written by Buddy Jackson... from the road crew... was a great song.


Looking forward to the 8 Seconds thread when y’all get to it.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
OliverQueen81
Florida Fan
In The South
Member since Oct 2015
6614 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
Pure country is a good movie but you notice at the end he doesn't even kiss harley.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Korin
Florida Fan
Member since Jan 2014
37935 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
WWE made a direct-to-video sequel recently. It's as bad as you'd think.


Nodust
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2010
21441 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
quote:

Ernest Tucker: The funny thing about that little white speck on the top of chicken shite. That little white speck is chicken shite too.

Plus it gave us one of the greatest quotes of all time.


OliverQueen81
Florida Fan
In The South
Member since Oct 2015
6614 posts

re: Pure Country, a review with 27 years in the making.
WWE made a sequel??? Which wrestler was dusty? Lol


first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram