Posted by
Message
crossfire
TBD Fan
Trumpland
Member since Oct 2010
560 posts

Just watched film and my overall opinion.
First of all this class really reminds me of the 11 class and Trey Palmer reminds me of Odell,he is smooth and has excellent route running but needs some lbs.

Secondly, we all would be stoked but the Ish debacle took out some wind from the sails. We have to move on, his tape shows laziness and his whole announcement with the family seemed strange. I wish him the best.

Now the subjective part.... We just picked up some generational talent. Emery is great and will be just as good as Fournette and Guice, he kind of reminds me of a bigger Kamara and Davis reminds me of Jeremy Hill. I really hope the new coach can bring in more passing to the rbs. Stingly is hands down the best cb prospect I've ever seen in high school, also I would love to see him take punts (I think he will be more cultish than Peterson was)....seriously the kid could go straight to the NFL and succeed. I think the linebackers are strong and I think the kid from Alabama, McCallum, is extremely underrated and he is a major thumper. Brooks is a physical specimen and I personally think Davonta Lee may almost be as good as Brooks, I think Lee would dominate as a linebacker. We got so lucky that Ray Parker will be qualified because the guy is such an athletic big man. The Dbs....geez where do you even begin as the entire group, they are all elite and I expect Raydar to be close to Greedy. Ika is an absolute monster but we had a major fail with missing on so many DL recruits and hopefully we make up for it. Parish is fun to watch, I'm not sold on him but I did get to watch him because I live in Bama and he beat Tualia head to head rather easily, I personally think he's a project but if he can get the accuracy down and be efficient with the RPO watch out!

It's crazy to think we are rated this high with a long snapper and a kicker.

Watching film on the two new outside rushers was so much fun. Soni has such incredible athletic ability and enormous size. The last addition will be an impact player before he leaves, the guy has a gigantic frame, fast twitch, multiple sports and if he can gain weight he will be the next in line from the long lengthy types.....think Mingo, Key, Chaisson, and now Desmond Little.

I know this may come off as sunshine pumping but this is the strongest class we've had in a long time. If Coach O would have had a better DL haul then this may have been the best LSU class ever. Keeping Lawrence and Fehoko will be great as long as they are healthy and unfortunately Freshmen will have to contribute from day one in the next class. I think that plays into our hands and we will score some monsters.

Get past the doom and gloom and celebrate this absolutely amazing class!


The Estimator
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jul 2012
1226 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Solid post.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
382
cajuntiger1010
LSU Fan
Hawaii
Member since Jan 2015
2564 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Ish is highly overrated. everyone who watched him play live knows that. His recruitment was more about locking down the state especially from Bama.


TexasTigerBH
Texas
Member since Jun 2018
136 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Ish is just a groupie. LSU will be better off not to have that lack of leadership in their locker room.


weptiger
LSU Fan
Georgia
Member since Feb 2007
5256 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Great post. Too much focus around here on the one(s) that got away instead of the ones that committed. They were never coming anyway.

Your post reinforces that LSU has an excellent/solid class. We need to be proud.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
331
West Palm Tiger561
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2018
192 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Why wish Ish the best?


TigerAxeOK
USA Fan
Antarctic Transmutagen Base
Member since Dec 2016
6533 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Couldn't stand Ish all along. I didn't talk crap on him because I think it's stupid to rag on high school kids, but I was very open in my belief that Ish was 100% gump all along.

And as stated above in this thread, it's true that Sop's recruitment was more about keeping N$ out than anything, although Ish would have added solid depth at a position of need. Thank the good Lord we got Ika.

Ish was more about potential and a high ceiling than anything. I wish him the best, as reality is about to slap him in the face. Lord Midget will not allow him to 1) Take plays off, as his film shows he does often, and 2) Be lazy, as many scouting services have reported his propensity towards highly questionable work ethic and attitude.

Good luck to him. He's going to need it. In the meantime, I'm going to celebrate this stellar class. Just a gut feeling, but I feel like Ika and Lee are going to be absolute superstars.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
191
SoloTiger
Member since Aug 2016
2981 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
He always was and still is Tiger Bait.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
122
Dlab2013
LSU Fan
Pineville, Luzianna
Member since Jun 2013
6639 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Nice post bro! The melters over look all of the previous 19 that already signed over ONE kid, who’s been wishy washy at best.

Future NFL talent in this class will include

Kardell Thomas
Marcel Brooks
Mo Hampton “if he sticks”
Apu Ika
Derek Stingley Jr
John Emery Jr
Tyrion Davis
Trey Palmer
Devonta Lee
Donte Starks


That’s insane rt there......

DL is already looking more than solid for 2020. If anyone is crying over Sop.....Just STOP


Geauxst Writer
LSU Fan
Atlanta
Member since Dec 2015
3294 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Outstanding post and I am pumped on the class. Kardell is a road grader and 1st round pick in 3 years. Ika is better than fat arse Ish, and Parker could be Gronk type TE. Joe Brady is bringing pop to our offense. Bring on Spring training.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
162
Double Down
Southeastern LA Fan
Mayor of St. George
Member since Dec 2007
2762 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
I respect the op’s post. Lots of good points... but you morons that keep saying Sopsher is overrated are being stupid. He was an absolute need in this class and you know it but whatever helps you cope.


Dlab2013
LSU Fan
Pineville, Luzianna
Member since Jun 2013
6639 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
quote:


I respect the op’s post. Lots of good points... but you morons that keep saying Sopsher is overrated are being stupid. He was an absolute need in this class and you know it but whatever helps you cope.




Any DL was needed for depth, and that criticism should absolutely be hung on O for failing to address the DL depth.......

But all the major recruiting services actually were in agreement that he was overrated...hence his ranking drop......


rilesrick
Member since Mar 2015
6221 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Excellent post, to discount the entire class because of Amite lazy arse is travesty. There may be some allyime a tigers in this group and they and the staff should be applauded


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
150
sstig
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Oct 2003
2048 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
I have thought for a while that Ish will eventually end up at Southeastern because he is undisciplined and will be eaten alive without a huge attitude adjustment.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
80
LSUFM57
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2012
295 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Great class . You can’t fill every position. We are in good position with 4 of the top 8 DTs in the country next year and 2 of them are from La. we will load up next year

We ridin !


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
140
crossfire
TBD Fan
Trumpland
Member since Oct 2010
560 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
I wish him the best because I'm just not a very vindictive person.

I posted this because all day 80% of the posts were about a player that peaked early, doesn't have good weight (honestly looks to have mostly bad weight), doesn't seem overly athletic or in cardiovascular shape, and like I said the whole announcement was strange. Think about this, who in the hell asks for help to put on a visor? I agree with many here stating that it's better optics to keep him in state. I personally didn't agree with 2 scholarships for a player who is falling in the rankings and I personally think he should have fallen more. By the way ESPN asked him several times about Rodney going to Alabama. Who knows, maybe he goes to Bama and wants to prove us wrong and lights it up but in my opinion he will not get the chance because Bamas defensive front class is sick. Also if shady dealing went on I wouldn't trust him. Did anyone see the current and former Auburn players, on Twitter, basically saying that Pickens took money? Where do you think Kirby learned his dirty tricks?

I hate to be tough on young people but my job is to provide feedback for a very large corporation so you can say I'm used to constructive criticism. In my opinion, Ish is the next Anthony "Freak" Johnson except that Freak actually appeared to try hard. Ish has entitled, lazy, and early development written all over him. His speach was terrible, why even bring politics into it.

This reminds me of the Hootie situation, I had a good friend who coached for Neville and he straight up told me that Hootie is no where near Sec quality and he was right. I promise this isn't sour grapes. Young or Moore would have been fantastic. I do think this gives a great recruiting advantage for next class as they could start day one.

I'm sick of the O bashers, I personally think with what I said about doing things the right way was a not so subtle jab at Alabama. I think the team is better off not having those types in the locker room.

We finished top 5 and could have easily been higher if we do not extend scholarships to both the Kicker and long snapper but I do feel that both of those are wise scholarships and I think Cade York may end up being similar to Cole Tracy with a significantly stronger leg.

So what's the consensus here, where does Davonta play? For some reason he is one of my favorite recruits and I think he is ranked entirely too low. The guy has everything, amazing work ethic, hit the genetic lottery, strong as an ox, and I just like him from interviews and everything I have seen. He reminds me of Debo Jones.

One last thing, I personally think Bo Davis should come here after his show cause expires. I know he's loyal to Saban but the dude fell on the sword and lost a job and drove trucks for a while all because he took all of the blame (frick Saban).


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
121
Tigers eyes
Member since Nov 2018
1722 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
quote:

Get past the doom and gloom and celebrate this absolutely amazing class!

Nice read, good eval's, thanks. Well, I'm neither feeling the gloom nor the doom like a lot of others are. I didn't like the idea of LSU giving up a scholarship to Rodney just to get Ish. And I'm glad Ish chose bama. I'd of liked him in this class, but I had mixed feelings about how good he may be and I definitely wasn't fond of giving 2 scholarships to get one player. I believe LSU dodged a bullet on this one. I believe Ish is a project and I do't see the work ethic needed to work his way to where he is an All American type player. He has so many questions due to his mediocre showing in the AA game, his technique is not there, he cannot get off blocks. At the college level athleticism won't get you on the field. Andyway, I'm pumped about Ika, ever time I watch his film the dude amazes me. And I think LSU got a future star with Little. 3 years from now, we won't be missing Ishmael Sopsher or his brother.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
100
Bengal26
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2014
1467 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
You bring up Stingley being the best you have seen and I don't disagree 100% but I have never seen a better CB highlight tape than Elias Ricks. I can't wait to see that kid play at LSU.


crossfire
TBD Fan
Trumpland
Member since Oct 2010
560 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
No matter what anyone wants to say, LSU's brand is sky rocketing. Did you hear the coaches on ESPN saying they would love for their child to be coached by Coach O? Did you hear O talking about how many new areas he's hearing from?

I know O catches a lot of crap from the fans but the guy can operate the clock, is trying to keep up with the times (hiring the analyst and now Brady) and I live in the Sec mecca and talk radio really talks up Orgeron.

The times are changing and the program is trending up and not everyone is making fun of us because of Miles. Last year was great and the Georgia game showed that we can compete with anyone. We return a ton of talent, bring back some big time contributors (Ingram & Chaisson) and should have an easier path.


Iluvlsu104
LSU Fan
San Diego,CA
Member since Feb 2019
3 posts

re: Just watched film and my overall opinion.
Im callin it! This class is going to help put a few more trophies in our trophy case.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
80
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram