Matt Krohn-USA TODAY Sports
On Tuesday, former LSU teammates Joe Burrow and Justin Jefferson were both named finalists for the NFL's Most Valuable Player Award.

Jefferson was also named a finalist for AP Offensive Player of the Year.

Burrow has led the Cincinnati Bengals back to the AFC Championship Game for the second consecutive year, passing for 4,475 yards and 35 touchdowns along the way.

Jefferson led the league in receptions (128) and yards (1809) this season and caught eight touchdown passes with one rushing touchdown for the Minnesota Vikings this year.

Here is a full list of finalists for all NFL Awards this season:

AP Most Valuable Player
Josh Allen, Bills QB
Joe Burrow, Bengals QB
Jalen Hurts, Eagles QB
Justin Jefferson, Vikings WR
Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs QB

AP Defensive Player of the Year
Nick Bosa, 49ers DE
Chris Jones, Chiefs DT
Micah Parsons, Cowboys LB

AP Offensive Player of the Year
Tyreek Hill, Dolphins WR
Jalen Hurts, Eagles QB
Justin Jefferson, Vikings WR
Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs QB

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year
Brock Purdy, 49ers QB
Kenneth Walker III, Seahawks RB
Garrett Wilson, Jets WR

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year
Sauce Gardner, Jets CB
Aidan Hutchinson, Lions DE
Tariq Woolen, Seahawks CB

AP Comeback Player of the Year
Saquon Barkley, Giants RB
Christian McCaffrey, 49ers RB
Geno Smith, Seahawks QB

AP Coach of the Year
Brian Daboll, Giants
Sean McDermott, Bills
Doug Pederson, Jaguars
Kyle Shanahan, 49ers
Nick Sirianni, Eagles

AP Assistant Coach of the Year
Ben Johnson, Lions OC
DeMeco Ryans, 49ers DC
Shane Steichen, Eagles OC
Filed Under: LSU Football
user avatar
Undertow18 months
I don’t care who wins the MVP. It hasn’t been relevant in 15 years. Sure it’s nice if a player I like wins it but in the grand scheme of things it’s ho-hum.
user avatar
wesman2118 months
Burrow MVP and Jefferson OPOY, should be easy selections. If the Eagles somehow lose this weekend, could seal the deal.
user avatar
LSU-MNCBABY18 months
Regular season award. I love burrow as much as anyone but mvp should be Mahomes in a landslide
user avatar
SomeLSUguy18 months
What I will never understand is how someone can win MVP, but not be OPOY or DPOY... Not that they would ever let a defensive player win MVP.
user avatar
X Carter Is Fast18 months
its a pretty simple concept to understand.
user avatar
Cwils222218 months
Explain it X Carter
user avatar
bignic2618 months
For real. It's like, "Okay you're the most valuable player in the league period. You are the absolute best...except for this other dude."
user avatar
GoldenAge18 months
For me:
MVP - Burrow (Biased, I know)
DPOY - Parsons or Bosa
OPOY - Hurts or Jets
OROY - Wilson
DROY - Sauce
Comeback Player - Geno
Coach - Pederson or Campbell
Asst. Coach - Steichen
user avatar
OSTiger7718 months
How is Bengals coach not nominated for COY. Winning there is so hard. They adapt and are playing great D.
user avatar
RileyTime18 months
He has arguably one of the most talented rosters in the league. He better be winning.
user avatar
castorinho18 months
Lol if you read the Rant, he's a bad coach being carried by BDJ
user avatar
Russianblue18 months
This will probably come down to who makes it furthest in the playoffs. Poor JJ. Tough competition with the QBs there. Allen winning over JB would be criminal.
user avatar
sportjunkie6918 months
The voting is over and doesn't include the playoffs. Mahomes will win simply because he's the top qb combined with also being the flashiest QB with the most Sports Center Top Ten throws.

Hopefully Burrow wins the SuperBowl.
user avatar
jbird718 months
If Mahomes or Allen get MVP then this award is truly rigged.
user avatar
HangmanPage118 months
Dan Campbell should have gotten a nomination for Coach of the Year.
user avatar
Spelt it rong18 months
They should just give it to him outright. He's turned that dreadful franchise around in a little over 1 season.
user avatar
Spelt it rong18 months
Purdy over Olave for Rookie OPOY? No Burrow for OPOY? AP is dumb.
user avatar
Pepe Lepew18 months
^^^ this
user avatar
castorinho18 months
Dude, Wilson is going to win it, not Purdy.
Popular Stories
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.