Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32 | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
Judge Smails
LA-Monroe Fan
Native Son of NELA
Member since Mar 2008
4782 posts

Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32

I'm interested in fellow OBer's experiences with this setup. It's for my newly purchased M&P 15-22. Should I go with this one or a Nikon P-22 (which is currently on sale at Cabela's).

LINK


LSUmakemewanna
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Aug 2010
1253 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
I said my piece earlier on this particular scope. The elevation/windage turrets crapped out on me. I had it on my 15-22 as well. Maybe I just got a lemon.


Judge Smails
LA-Monroe Fan
Native Son of NELA
Member since Mar 2008
4782 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
That's one vote for the Nikon.


Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
Central, LA
Member since Jan 2013
6576 posts
Online

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
I think I'm gonna go P223 on my AR 3-9x40. Thought about the 3x32 but want the extra umph. I've been looking at that UTG also. They do have a lifetime warranty though.


Judge Smails
LA-Monroe Fan
Native Son of NELA
Member since Mar 2008
4782 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
quote:

P223 on my AR 3-9x40


I have that scope on my 5.56 and really like it


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bbvdd
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Jun 2009
9517 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
I have the UTG on my 15-22 and haven't had any issues at all. Really like the scope. I haven't put just a ton of rounds through it but have probably put 1000-1500, I guess. Scope has held up perfectly and has maintained it's zero.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Pepperidge
LSU Fan
Slidell
Member since Apr 2011
2294 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
I've got the Nikon on my 15-22...very accurate...

I have another that I took off my sons 15-22 as he is great with the factory open sights...

get the P series scope rings to go with it...you can get them off ebay for $35 shipped...


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
TigerOnThe Hill
Springhill
Member since Sep 2008
2951 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
I admit I have no personal experience w/ this scope as don't have a scope made by UTG. Nevertheless, I wouldn't recommend one. UTG appears to be made by Leapers. From what I've read Leapers doesn't have much of a reputation for reliability. On a lower recoiling gun like a 223 Rem or 22 LR, I imagine most of the scopes will be ok. Put them on a heavier recoiling gun and I bet one will begin to see problems. Your gun is a 22 so you'll probably be ok so risk it if you want. Since it's just a plinking gun, at least you won't have to worry about the scope failing during a big game hunt or a self defense situation. I'm reminded of the time I put a NcStar handgun scope on a T/C Contender handgun chambered in a round similar to the 308 Win. I'd read all kinds of great reviews from other handgun hunters. After,100 rounds my scope went belly up, resulting in a wounded deer that couldn't be recovered. I sent it back to the factory and they replaced it. I put the replacement on a 22 LR and it's been ok so far. I've not bought an NcStar since nor will I ever do so. If you choose to get it, be sure you've made an informed decision of what you may be getting in to.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
kengel2
LSU Fan
Team Gun
Member since Mar 2004
6047 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
Honestly, never used utg and never will unless I get into to airsoft.


Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
Central, LA
Member since Jan 2013
6576 posts
Online

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
quote:

Honestly, never used utg and never will unless I get into to airsoft.


IIRC you can use a rimfire or airsoft scope on a centerfire but can't use a centerfire on a rimfire/airsoft. Somebody could have just trying to get by cheaply.


Judge Smails
LA-Monroe Fan
Native Son of NELA
Member since Mar 2008
4782 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
Thanks to all who commented. Looks like I'm going with the Nikon, although I did see a bad arse Leupold last night.

Leupold


TigerOnThe Hill
Springhill
Member since Sep 2008
2951 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
I've had nothing but GOOD experience w/ both Nikon and Leupold scopes through the year. Don't see many low powered variables now days because there's so much emphasis on "more power." I think a low powered variable is highly underrated and very useful.


Judge Smails
LA-Monroe Fan
Native Son of NELA
Member since Mar 2008
4782 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
Thanks for the input TotH.


LSUmakemewanna
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Aug 2010
1253 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
Buddy of mine has a 3-9 Nikon rimfire on his 10/22. Shooting @ 50 yds is very very clear.....and fun.


Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
Central, LA
Member since Jan 2013
6576 posts
Online

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
quote:

LSUmakemewanna


wasted 1k post on this....

Need NSFW or Gun porn


LSUmakemewanna
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Aug 2010
1253 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
And at 1K, I still feel like an underachiever.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
kengel2
LSU Fan
Team Gun
Member since Mar 2004
6047 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
quote:

IIRC you can use a rimfire or airsoft scope on a centerfire but can't use a centerfire on a rimfire/airsoft.


You got that backwards. A centerfire rifle would destroy a rimfire/airsoft scope.

quote:

Somebody could have just trying to get by cheaply.


Still can with the Nikon.


Judge Smails
LA-Monroe Fan
Native Son of NELA
Member since Mar 2008
4782 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
Guys I took a chance on the Vortex Strikefire at PSA for $99.99 - it comes with an extra high set of rings so I can cowitness with my Magpul MBUS sights.

PSA


Hu_Flung_Pu
USA Fan
Central, LA
Member since Jan 2013
6576 posts
Online

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
quote:

Vortex Strikefire at PSA for $99.99


you went from magnified to non-magnified?


Judge Smails
LA-Monroe Fan
Native Son of NELA
Member since Mar 2008
4782 posts

re: Reviews from OB: UTG Bug Buster 3-9X32
It includes a 2x magnifier. I think that should be plenty for a plinking fun gun. I could be wrong, but it will cost me $100 to find out.


Page 1 of 2

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings
Follow us on social media and get the latest updates.

FacebookTwitterInstagram