I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers* | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
LSUSoulja08
LA-Monroe Fan
Member since Oct 2007
11869 posts

I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


Overall, I liked the movie. The story was okay and moved the movie along. I liked how they talked about Godzilla coming to restore order and all that.

Godzilla looked great I thought. Really felt like he was huuuuge and powerful.

hated they killed my boy Cranston

two questions:

1) Can someone explain to me the whole blue energy beam he shot out of his mouth? Where did this come from?

2) Are they planning on making more movies with this franchise? Or was this a stand alone project?

3.5/5 stars for me. What was everyone elses thoughts and if anyone could shed light on my questions I would love to hear it








Back to top
Share:
lsuguy84
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2009
733 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


Blue beam was his atomic breath


Yes they're making more. A sequel has already gotten the green light






Back to top
LSUSoulja08
LA-Monroe Fan
Member since Oct 2007
11869 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


atomic breath? What is the origin of this? Must admit I am not really versed in the Godzilla stories and where they come from other than knowing there were a bunch of older movies made back when and that POS with broderick in it in 2000





Back to top
Volvagia
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2006
40529 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:

Atomic Breath


Godzilla's signature weapon is his distinctive atomic breath. Godzilla's dorsal plates glow ominously, and then he lets loose with a concentrated blast of radiation from his mouth. This power is commonly mistaken for breathing literal fire.
Godzilla has been shown apparently being able to adjust the intensity of his ray, varying from a blast of superheated vapor, such as in the 1950s and 1960s, to a beam with explosive and kinetic properties, in the 1970s and onward. The ray is usually portrayed as being neon blue, though in Godzilla 2000: Millennium and Godzilla vs. Megaguirus, it is a reddish orange to signify an increased level of power.

In Godzilla 2000 and Godzilla vs. Megaguirus, Godzilla's atomic breath was shown as having incendiary properties and was strong enough to destroy a miniature black hole, while in Godzilla: Final Wars, it possessed incredible range, amazing power and pin-point accuracy, able to hit a target in outer space and kill most kaiju with a single shot. Also in Godzilla: Final Wars, Godzilla also demonstrated his ability to actually change the intensity of his atomic breath when fighting Keizer Ghidorah. With a quick turn, Godzilla's breath went from the iconic blue beam to the intensity of reddish orange which literally caused the monster Keizer Ghidorah to explode in the upper atmosphere.

A variation of the standard atomic ray in the Heisei series was the red "spiral ray" which he acquired as a result of absorbing the Rodan's life energy. This ray was so powerful that only a few blasts of it were sufficient to completely destroy MechaGodzilla and SpaceGodzilla, though Destoroyah was able to withstand several hits. In Godzilla, Mothra and King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack, a variant of his spiral ray was seen when King Ghidorah used his golden gravity beams on Godzilla. Godzilla was somehow able to draw strength from the gravity beams and used the absorbed energy to fire a blast of blue energy wrapped in a golden spiral that completely destroyed King Ghidorah. The spiral ray returned in Godzilla: Final Wars, where it was strong enough to push Keizer Ghidorah to the edge of space, destroying him in an explosion visible from the surface of the Earth.

Godzilla 2014 Atomic Breath
Godzilla fires his Atomic Breath in Godzilla
In Legendary Pictures' Godzilla, Godzilla's atomic breath was more of a focused, fiery shaped energy beam that Godzilla spews out. Godzilla only used it against the M.U.T.O.s after he had taken a severe beating and was already growing weaker, showing that Godzilla only uses it as a last resort against opponents he can't physically overpower on his own. Though it doesn't appear to have the same destructive properties as the versions prior, the blasts were strong enough to severely weaken, and eventually kill, the female M.U.T.O. While it may not have the destructive force of its predecessors, this version of Godzilla's atomic breath is still incredibly deadly in its own right. It is, however, entirely possible that Godzilla never used his atomic breath at its full power, seeing as how Godzilla was already extremely weak when he began using it, so whether or not it's capable of more is unknown at this point. The neon-blue glow on Godzilla's dorsal plates begins at the tail and goes all the way to the top of his neck in this film.
In the video game Godzilla: Save the Earth, Godzilla can also use a variation of his Atomic Breath called the Final Beam, a beam of energy that resembles his regular Atomic Breath except for the fact it is far more powerful and is purple in color. In Save the Earth he can also launch huge fireballs from his mouth as well.





This post was edited on 6/6 at 11:56 pm


Back to top
Orchid
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2013
334 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


Great special effects but story line was just meh.







Back to top
SG_Geaux
LSU Fan
Googolplexian Posts
Member since Aug 2004
50007 posts
 Online 

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:

Great special effects but story line was just meh.



In other words they hit it right on the money.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Displaced
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2011
15619 posts
 Online 

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:

Great special effects but story line was just meh


its godzilla.

the story line is "monsters invade city"






Back to top
drizztiger
Army Fan
Deal With it!
Member since Mar 2007
15122 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:

atomic breath? What is the origin of this?
Pretty sure this is Godzilla lore dating wayyyyy back.

The movie didn't explain it at all. They also didn't explain why they kept monsters that feed off of radiation so close to uranium sources, except the initial one that was used to such up the radiation he caused.

Luckily, the 1500+ "test" bombs the US has detonated were to kill Godzilla. So they decided 50 years later to nuke more monsters that they know use radiation as food. It makes perfect sense.






Back to top
LSUSoulja08
LA-Monroe Fan
Member since Oct 2007
11869 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


wow awesome, thanks





Back to top
  Replies (0)
SG_Geaux
LSU Fan
Googolplexian Posts
Member since Aug 2004
50007 posts
 Online 

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:

The movie didn't explain it at all


How were they supposed to explain it ? Everyone had just seen it for the first time.






Back to top
abellsujr
LSU Fan
Dallas, TX
Member since Apr 2014
5279 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


(no message)


This post was edited on 6/7 at 4:23 pm


Back to top
LSUSoulja08
LA-Monroe Fan
Member since Oct 2007
11869 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


it was very powerful

sorry to hear that man






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Orchid
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2013
334 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:

quote: Great special effects but story line was just meh its godzilla. the story line is "monsters invade city"


Point taken. It wasn't my movie of choice that night.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
drizztiger
Army Fan
Deal With it!
Member since Mar 2007
15122 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:

How were they supposed to explain it ? Everyone had just seen it for the first time.
What?!?

I'm pretty sure they tried to explain other stuff, not trying to explain why Godzilla fights melee the entire movie - then all of a sudden breathes atomic breathe - they might have wanted to touch on it perhaps.






Back to top
Cockopotamus
South Carolina Fan
Member since Jan 2013
7576 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:

I'm pretty sure they tried to explain other stuff, not trying to explain why Godzilla fights melee the entire movie - then all of a sudden breathes atomic breathe - they might have wanted to touch on it perhaps.



Why? Only Godzilla noobs would be left clueless.

And to answer the OPs question about a sequel the director Gareth Edwards is already signed on to do two more and the plan is to make it a trilogy.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
The Pirate King
Member since May 2014
890 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


I agree with your assessment. Movie really took a nose dive when Cranston died





Back to top
  Replies (0)
2close2Gainesville
Alabama Fan
Huge
Member since Sep 2008
3926 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:


2) Are they planning on making more movies with this franchise? Or was this a stand alone project?


Another Godzilla movie?






Back to top
Tiger Ryno
USA Fan
Member since Feb 2007
52144 posts
 Online 

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


I laughed I cried it was better than Cats!





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Duzz
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Feb 2008
5150 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


quote:

I liked how they talked about Godzilla coming to restore order and all that.


Bama fan?






Back to top
dawgfan24348
Georgia Fan
Cumming, Georgia
Member since Oct 2011
16425 posts

re: I saw Godzilla today. Review and some questions *Spoilers*


Are you seriously complaining about his atomic breath?





Back to top


Back to top