Peche, A Very Basic Review | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
OTIS2
LSU Fan
NoLA
Member since Jul 2008
27719 posts
 Online 

Peche, A Very Basic Review



It's a very nice restaurant . Highly recommend it.

7:30 reservation and the place was packed. Very comfortable atmosphere, great staff, and excellent service.


Started with oysters and the tuna crudo.Two dozen from La. and Alabama , respectively, and half a dozen from Massachusetts . Excellent quality , which should be the case this time of year. Served with a traditional cocktail and Mignonette The Mignonette was awesome...best I've ever tasted, by far.

The crudo was excellent, too. Served with mushrooms and dressed with two contrasting sauces, it should be on anyone's order.

Had an order of the catfish and picked greens (collards), with onion and garlic. Very nice dish.

Runt had a bowl of crawfish bisque. No stuffed head, but the consistency and flavor were spot on. Served with a small dollup of whipped cream.

Cobia belly was split by both of us. A generous portion, it was seasoned well , dressed with pickled onions and fresh mint, and very succulent. Perfectly cooked with awesome flavor.

Dessert was a pineapple rum cake with a house made ice cream and a flourless Madagascar chocolate cake, both good but the rum cake was the best of the two.

This place was casual, comfortable and well worth the effort. Will do again.

The cobia belly




The crudo






This post was edited on 3/7 at 7:55 am



Back to top
Share:
Caplewood
Penn Fan
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Jun 2010
18766 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


I've had king snake belly but never cobra





Back to top
BRgetthenet
LSU Fan
Golf Board Smash Lab™ CEO
Member since Oct 2011
64716 posts
 Online 

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


Sounds good.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
John McClane
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Apr 2010
25625 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


GDCK?!





Back to top
  Replies (0)
OTIS2
LSU Fan
NoLA
Member since Jul 2008
27719 posts
 Online 

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


quote:

I've had king snake belly but never cobra
. Expand your palate.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
urinetrouble
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2007
15976 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


quote:

I've had king snake belly but never cobra



I like copperhead when it's in season.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Winkface
New Orleans Saints Fan
Irony
Member since Jul 2010
30337 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review








Back to top
  Replies (0)
TigerWise
USA Fan
70115
Member since Sep 2010
22306 posts
 Online 

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


I'm so glad you include pics. They have the best food porn.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Oenophile Brah
LSU Fan
The Edge of Sanity
Member since Jan 2013
5510 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


Welcome to the fan club





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Gris Gris
LSU Fan
OTIS!OTIS!OTIS!OTIS!NO BAY LEAVES!
Member since Feb 2008
26405 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


Nice. What's minuet sauce?





Back to top
Degas
21874693 posts
Member since Jul 2010
6908 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


Sounds like you started the same way I did...











Back to top
  Replies (0)
Degas
21874693 posts
Member since Jul 2010
6908 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


quote:

What's minuet sauce?
Not sure if you're kidding because it was grossly misspelled, but it's just to the left of the cocktail sauce in my pic, and here's a recipe of Mignonette sauce. I generally don't use any condiments with my oysters.






Back to top
Coater
LSU Fan
Madison, MS
Member since Jun 2005
18194 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


Looks good. I'll have to add it to the list





Back to top
  Replies (0)
OTIS2
LSU Fan
NoLA
Member since Jul 2008
27719 posts
 Online 

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


not kidding, and didn't google. Even if I'd known how to spell it, I'd have screwed that up.I'll fix it.

I rarely sauce an oyster, but their Mignonette was special. Had a great red wine vinegar base. The cocktail, I ate with crackers, as I usually do.

I see two of those vile Left Coast oysters on your tray. I've never tasted a West Coast oyster worth the space on my fork, much less the price I've paid.



This post was edited on 3/7 at 8:01 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
Gris Gris
LSU Fan
OTIS!OTIS!OTIS!OTIS!NO BAY LEAVES!
Member since Feb 2008
26405 posts

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


I was picking on Otis. I knew what it was. I figured his phone screwed up the spelling, but he's admitted to otherwise.





Back to top
OTIS2
LSU Fan
NoLA
Member since Jul 2008
27719 posts
 Online 

re: Peche, A Very Basic Review


I pay people to spell for me...because I can't spell worth a damn and this crappy "auto correct" is usually automatically wrong.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top