Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
SouthOfSouth
USA Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
31099 posts
 Online 

Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU




Who: LSU Tigers vs Arkansas Razorbacks
When: Saturday, February 1 - 4:00pm
Where: Pete Maravich Assembly Center (13,215 - 46 NCAA)
How: TV:ESPNU, Radio:98.1FM, Stream:ESPN3.com

After LSU's most impressive win of the season, it looks like they are back in the hunt for the NCAA Tournament. WooHoo! ESPN had them as the first 4 to miss the tournament which means they are in striking distance. Saturday, they have a formidable opponent come in to the Assembly Center for an afternoon bubble battle.

Arkansas dons some impressive victories this year. They have 4 top 50 wins and gave Florida their toughest SEC test losing by 2 in overtime. However, they have struggled on the road. Under Mike Anderson they only have 3 wins away from home in this his third year with the Razorbacks. The way they win is obvious; turnovers.

On offense, they lead the SEC turning it over on only 15.5% of their possessions. On defense, they lead the SEC in forcing turnovers forcing 22.4% of opponent possession to end in a turnover. That's a 5 turnover gap per game (12 vs 17). They force these turnovers with a full court press and a ton of depth. They will consistently go 10-11 deep and throw out a "40 minutes of hell" press to keep opponents out of rhythm.

LSU has played relatively well against presses, however, turnovers have been an issue for the Tigers. They currently average turning it over on 18.4% of possessions in SEC play (9th out of 14 SEC teams). Most of that comes from LSU's post players. Anthony Hickey leads the SEC in Assist to Turnover ratio with an impressive 3.32 ratio. No SEC player has ended a season better than 3.14 in the past 12 years. Andre Stringer sits at a 2.4 A:TO which is good enough for 3rd in the SEC. Those two will be important in beating Arkansas' press.

LSU has also been very good at getting steals and blocks. They lead the SEC in both categories in SEC games. They block 18.1% of two point attempts (2.1% better than 2nd place) and steal 13.4% of opponent possessions (0.9% better than 2nd place). While Arkansas' turnover % is better, LSU's steal % leads to more fast breaks and easy scoring opportunities.

Keys to the Game:

Turnovers: I've already covered this pretty thoroughly, but to reiterate the point, LSU cannot allow Arkansas to force LSU out of too many opportunities. LSU could really use some easy baskets in transition after steals and blocks.

Deep Shooting: Arkansas shoots three's at a 36.5% mark. They have 6 players shooting 40% or better in Madden (34/72), Clarke (10/23), Gulley (15/36), Kingsley (1/2), Haydar (20/40), and Wade (6/15). LSU only has 3 players shooting over 40% in Johnny O'Bryant (1/1), Andre Stringer (39/96), and Darcy Malone (2/5).

Rebounding: LSU has been their best when being a good rebounding team. It has to be a team effort in grabbing boards for LSU to play their best basketball.

LSU getting the ball inside: The Tigers cannot settle for three's this game. They have an obvious advantage inside and they need to take advantage.

Prediction:

LSU could run away with this one if they are able to beat the press. LSU has the athleticism to finish around the rim as well as a couple really good shooters in transition. LSU cannot settle for jumpers in their offensive sets.

LSU 88, Arkansas 75







Back to top
Share:
harry coleman beast
LSU Fan
Left Field
Member since Aug 2008
40335 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


Cant wait







Back to top
massiveattack
North Carolina Fan
Chapel Chill/The QC
Member since Oct 2010
6919 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


Winning streak: engaged.





Back to top
lsu2006
USA Fan
BR
Member since Feb 2004
14005 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


I'm excited. As you stated, this is one we could run away with if we can take care of the ball and pound JOB relentlessly. Could be a big statement game for us.





Back to top
TheBigHurt
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Feb 2010
586 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU




MUST WIN!






Back to top
lsu2006
USA Fan
BR
Member since Feb 2004
14005 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


quote:

MUST WIN!

Just about every home game is a must-win from here on out IMO.






Back to top
massiveattack
North Carolina Fan
Chapel Chill/The QC
Member since Oct 2010
6919 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


Agreed.





Back to top
ell_13
USA Fan
Alex Box
Member since Apr 2013
20702 posts

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


What the hell are you picking LSU for?!?!





Back to top
BEATS2GEAUX
Arizona Fan
In the zone....
Member since Dec 2013
448 posts

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


quote:

LSU cannot settle for jumpers in their offensive sets.


quote:

LSU getting the ball inside: The Tigers cannot settle for three's this game. They have an obvious advantage inside and they need to take advantage.








Back to top
Emiliooo
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2013
3575 posts

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


Keep up the momentum, let's do it!





Back to top
BEATS2GEAUX
Arizona Fan
In the zone....
Member since Dec 2013
448 posts

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


quote:

MUST WIN!


No question, if the team wants to stay in the tournament hunt.






Back to top
SouthOfSouth
USA Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
31099 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


quote:

What the hell are you picking LSU for?!?!





I know right? Well I am just hoping that the fan support rivals Tuesday night. I know that's a tall task to ask of but I think alot of people are excited right now.






Back to top
bigberg2000
LSU Fan
houston, from chalmette
Member since Sep 2005
46783 posts

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


Seems like a random pic.







Back to top
SouthOfSouth
USA Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
31099 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


quote:

Seems like a random pic.


Most of my pictures were on photobucket but I ran out of space and they made them all disappear... haha.

I'll get some new pictures to use this weekend.






Back to top
Hugo Stiglitz
USA Fan
Bitch, I'm From Louisiana
Member since Oct 2010
56692 posts

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


Must win!







Back to top
Ignignot
LSU Fan
DooDoo Rooneys
Member since Mar 2009
11223 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


I envision a shite ton of alley oops in this game.

BONER ALERT [ON] OFF



This post was edited on 1/31 at 10:30 am


Back to top
S
Mercer Fan
Summer of Quin
Member since Jan 2007
57992 posts

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


this is the kind of game where hickey can thrive. got to get this win and get the ball rolling on a little streak, try and make a run while we have this momentum.





Back to top
ItsThatDude12
LSU Fan
Giving out Mercy Knees
Member since Apr 2009
7873 posts

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


I'll be in the house. Still pissed I wasn't able to get to the PMAC from Lafayette Tuesday.





Back to top
SouthOfSouth
USA Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
31099 posts
 Online 

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


quote:

I envision a shite ton of alley oops in this game.

BONER ALERT [ON] OFF


Agree. When you beat the press, you have chances. Basketball Boner will be harder than throwing up a shot on Jordan Mickey.

quote:

this is the kind of game where hickey can thrive. got to get this win and get the ball rolling on a little streak, try and make a run while we have this momentum.


If Hikcye plays within himself like against UK I agree. He has to make good decisions on when to stay fast and when to slow down.



This post was edited on 1/31 at 10:38 am


Back to top
lsugrad35
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2007
337 posts

re: Preview: Arkansas (13-7,2-5) @ LSU (13-6,4-3) - Sat 4pm - ESPNU


I'll be there!





Back to top


Back to top




//