In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
JEAUXBLEAUX
LSU Fan
Bayonne, NJ
Member since May 2006
45065 posts

In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


Not whether it should or not but will it? Looks like moving southward to Oklahoma maybe?

Can't see it in my lifetime.



This post was edited on 1/15 at 12:31 pm



Back to top
Share:
wickowick
LSU Fan
Head of Island
Member since Dec 2006
23141 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


quote:

Can't see it in my lifetime.


How old are you?






Back to top
JEAUXBLEAUX
LSU Fan
Bayonne, NJ
Member since May 2006
45065 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


58





Back to top
  Replies (0)
goldennugget
SMU Fan
Bias Monitor
Member since Jul 2013
6972 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


Yes, not by popular vote or Louisiana politicians enacting it but by the federal government or Supreme Court forcing it





Back to top
baytiger
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Dec 2007
43369 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


quote:


Can't see it in my lifetime.
yeah probably not. It'll require a lot of the older generation to die off first

eventually it will be legal, though.






Back to top
teke184
LSU Fan
Zachary, LA
Member since Jan 2007
8520 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


I don't see it passing by referendum or by act of legislature, only by judicial fiat like in Utah and Oklahoma.





Back to top
udtiger
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Nov 2006
24752 posts
 Online 

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


Only if a federal judge makes it.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
slackhouse
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2005
18007 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


I'm not really sure. It is such a polarizing issue that it can essentially handicap many Republican candidates. For this reason, it benefits Democrats to embrace it. But, it doesn't benefit them to make it legal. Then, it is no longer an issue that they can hammer Republicans on.

So, it really makes more sense politically for it never to be legalized. We shall see. If my above theory is untrue, it'll be legal in all fifty states within 10 years, maybe 5.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
JohnnyKilroy
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since Oct 2012
8393 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


What a fresh and interesting topic.





Back to top
CITWTT
LSU Fan
baton rouge
Member since Sep 2005
31765 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


Only byway of judicial fiat, the elections process has not worked out as intended by the homosexual crowd in almost every state where it was used.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
WildTchoupitoulas
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2010
14972 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


To be honest, I don't really care.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
3nOut
Texas A&M Fan
Central Texas, TX
Member since Jan 2013
4788 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


I just can't see Texas or most of the Southern states going there any time soon.

I think in about 10 years we'll have legal drugs and gay marriage in over 50% of the states.

Florida will be the first to go in the south. Mississippi will be last. I think they just ended slavery or Jim Crowe this last year.






Back to top
TigerRad
LSU Fan
Columbia, SC
Member since Jan 2007
4517 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


There is a wonderful trend over the years of increasing personal freedoms and social tolerance in this country. That trend will continue and reach La eventually.

Unfortunately the same can not be said for economic liberty, and the ever increasing trend of government pickpokcets and busybodies will also continue.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
lordguill
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Dec 2005
20343 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


quote:

I just can't see Texas or most of the Southern states going there any time soon.


You're assuming that they will have a say in the matter.






Back to top
3nOut
Texas A&M Fan
Central Texas, TX
Member since Jan 2013
4788 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


i think that they can't OUTLAW gay marriage currently with the recent SCOTUS ruling, but it doesn't mean that they have to make it a state-recognized union.

Nobody in Texas is even going to try that for the next 5 years. I'd imagine it to be the same in LA but I might be wrong.






Back to top
TN Bhoy
USA Fan
Sketty, Wales
Member since Apr 2010
42531 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


quote:

Yes, not by popular vote or Louisiana politicians enacting it but by the federal government or Supreme Court forcing it






Back to top
  Replies (0)
FalseProphet
LSU Fan
Funroe
Member since Dec 2011
6199 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


quote:

Can't see it in my lifetime.



Well considering there are at least two cases on the issue of whether states can prohibit it already at the U.S. Courts of Appeal, you may see it in the next couple of years (if the SCOTUS says states can't prohibit it).






Back to top
  Replies (0)
FalseProphet
LSU Fan
Funroe
Member since Dec 2011
6199 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


quote:

but it doesn't mean that they have to make it a state-recognized union.


Um, that's exactly what the rulings in Utah and Oklahoma say they have to do.






Back to top
constant cough
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Jun 2007
36572 posts

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


quote:

Can't see it in my lifetime.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
KCT
LSU Fan
Richardson, TX
Member since Feb 2010
3570 posts
 Online 

re: In your opinion, Will same sex marriage ever be legal in Louisiana?


The voters in Oklahoma passed a ban on same sex marriage by a 3to 1 margin.

But, it is now legal.

It can happen anywhere. The will of the people is now irrelevant on this matter.






Back to top


Back to top