Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1) | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
32983 posts

Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


LSU enters the Old Spice Classic on a 3 game winnings streak. After a 92-90 loss at now 6-0 UMASS, LSU has looked good in their last 3 games winning by an average margin of 21.3 points per game. In their most recent game, LSU returned freshman star Jarell Martin after he sustained an injury just seconds into the first game.

Martin's absence was less noticeable with the emergence in 6'9" freshman Jordan Mickey. Mickey has emerged as LSU's shot blocking, rebound taking, dunk producing phenom who seems to always have an exciting play to motivate the team. Alongside the freshman, Johnny O'Bryant has continued where he left off last season with double doubles in 3 of the 4 games averaging 17.8 points and 11.5 rebounds per contest. However, LSU's leading scorer is senior guard Andre Stringer, averaging 18.3 points per game.

Now, LSU gets to play 3 games in four days against some stout competition. The Old Spice Classic has one of the best groups of teams of the early season tournaments.




For the tournament LSU's projected starting lineup looks like this:







Old Spice Classic Rankings (KenPom.com):

Oklahoma St (5-0): 1
Memphis (2-1): 20
LSU (3-1): 51
St. Joseph's (2-1): 64
Butler (4-0): 66
Purdue (5-0): 71
Washington St (2-2): 157
Siena (2-4): 253


Some Opponent Notes:

St. Joesph's (1st rd opponent)

*Has beat Vermont and Marist. Lost to Creighton by 4.

*Average 19 seconds per offensive possession 310th in NCAA.

*Shoot 42.9% from three pt range.

*Sr Guard Langston Galloway is from Baton Rouge. Leads team with 18.3PPG.

*Projected Starters:
#24 Chris Wilson (6'3" 210 Jr)
#10 Langston Galloway (6'2" 202 Sr)
#43 DeAndre Bembry (6'6" 200 Fr)
#13 Ronald Roberts (6'8" 225 Sr)
#45 Halil Kanacevic (6'8" 255 Sr)




Memphis (Likely 2nd rd opponent)

*Lost to Oklahoma St by 21, but beat Austin Peay and Nicholls St.

*Average 12.6 seconds per offensive possession, 2nd fastest in nation.

*Average 12 steals per game.

*Play 10 players over 10 minutes per game.

*Projected Starters:
#55 Geron Johnson (6'3" 197 Sr)
#11 Michael Dixon (6'1" 200 Sr)
#1 Joe Jackson (6'1" 174 Sr)
#4 Austin Nichols (6'8" 212 Fr)
#2 Shaq Goodwin (6'9" 242 So)





The Rest of the Field:

*Oklahoma St has been dominant and have scored over 90 points in all 5 of their games.

*Oklahoma St PG Marcus Smart will be a top 5 pick in next years NBA Draft.

*Butler shoots free throws under 60% as a team.

*Butler starts 2 Sr's, 2 Jr's and 1 So.

*Purdue's AJ Hammons averages 4.5 blocks per game, right behind Jordan Mickeys 4.8 per game.

*Washington St lost to TCU so you know they are terrible.



Prediction:

LSU goes 2-1 with win's over Saint Joseph's and Memphis. Lose to Oklahoma State in championship game.



This post was edited on 11/27 at 5:49 pm



Back to top
Share:
Britgirl
LSU Fan
Ascension
Member since Jan 2013
719 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


Thanks for this South.
I agree with your prediction 2-1, lose in final.
Just hope we don't have any lapses, for long stretches.
Last season it seemed like so often we were ahead, got behind, and had to fight for our lives in the last 5 minutes.
We've done a bit of that this year. Mostly because we haven't quite gelled yet, with all the new guys. Hope they've got it together for this tournament.
When we press (not IF), I'd like to see Shavon out there again.
Our press could be devastating, especially with our ball hawk Hickey (3rd in nation for steals, SEVEN steals last game).
Excited to see what product we put on the floor!






Back to top
Brbengal
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2004
717 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


Thanks South.

Here's a St. Joe write up for the game:

LINK



This post was edited on 11/27 at 10:39 am


Back to top
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
32983 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


Interesting to note that both Saint Joseph's and Memphis are senior heavy. Hoping our young guys can deal with the 3 games in 4 days situation and play smart.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
32983 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


For Saint Joseph's Im really interested to see Halil Kanacevic. Anyone who can average over 9 rebounds and over 7 assists per game is intriguing to me... He plays post but is a passer. Will be interesting to see how LSU guards him.





Back to top
BigEdLSU
Southern Fan
All around the South
Member since Sep 2010
11757 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


So ready to see this team in the spotlight at full strength





Back to top
bbap
Indiana Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
80901 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


Whoa what a-hole used the retired toonces head?





Back to top
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
32983 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


quote:

Whoa what a-hole used the retired toonces head?





Just noticed that. Terrible.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Alt26
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
3379 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


FYI: A good performance by LSU against St. Joes could definitely get them some national pub. Joe Lunardi (of ESPN bracketology fame) is SJU's radio color analyst





Back to top
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
32983 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


quote:

FYI: A good performance by LSU against St. Joes could definitely get them some national pub. Joe Lunardi (of ESPN bracketology fame) is SJU's radio color analyst


I noticed that also. Need to kick some arse Thursday.






Back to top
LSUzealot
New Orleans Saints Fan
Napoleon and Magazine
Member since Sep 2003
52579 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)




STICKY REQ






Back to top
Ignignot
LSU Fan
DooDoo Rooneys
Member since Mar 2009
11601 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


Thanks for the preview SOS......

Oh and we winning this bitch






Back to top
  Replies (0)
guttata
LSU Fan
prairieville
Member since Feb 2006
20053 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


I would imagine Langston Galloway has been looking foward to this for a long time.





Back to top
LSUzealot
New Orleans Saints Fan
Napoleon and Magazine
Member since Sep 2003
52579 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


quote:

I would imagine Langston Galloway has been looking foward to this for a long time.


sorta like Hickey playing out of his mind vs Kentucky.

can't believe Trent didn't even recruit LG that hard






Back to top
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
32983 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


From what I've read on Langston, he had family up that way. I know LSU had offered. But still, I'd wanna play lights out if I was him.

He has had a very impressive start of the season. I expect it to continue.



Anyone else notice there aren't very many sub 6' players in this tournament? Looking at rosters I only saw a couple in the entire field.



This post was edited on 11/27 at 12:33 pm


Back to top
Tiger Nation 84
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2011
14818 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


Thanks S.O.S. good stuff as usual

I will try to take care of the in game thread tomorrow if I'm back from familys in time, but friday I will be out of town.



This post was edited on 11/27 at 12:48 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
joeytiger
LSU Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Jul 2012
3351 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


My prediction is LSU destroys everybody, then coach drops a deuce at half court before exiting the arena.





Back to top
Ignignot
LSU Fan
DooDoo Rooneys
Member since Mar 2009
11601 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


quote:

My prediction is LSU destroys everybody, then coach drops a deuce at half court before exiting the arena.
this






Back to top
  Replies (0)
junkfunky
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2011
14063 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)








Back to top
  Replies (0)
S
Mercer Fan
Quintercepted #DBU
Member since Jan 2007
58963 posts

re: Hoops Preview: Old Spice Classic (11/28-12/1)


yea his uncle wa son their staff in some capacity. we can look back and kick ourselves for not offering markel brown though. williams is a good player but we've got better on this squad.





Back to top


Back to top