Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
SouthOfSouth
USA Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
31082 posts

Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports




Who: New Orleans Privateers (colors: blue and white)
Where: Pete Maravich Assembly Center (13,215, 47th largest NCAA)
When: Tuesday 11/19/13, 7pm (ct)
How:
...TV: CST
...Radio: 98.1FM

Promo: Tickets are available starting at $6 for adults and children under three are free of charge. LSU Students are admitted to the student section free at the upstairs student gate. There will be free giveaways for students sitting in the Roar Zone.


LSU plays host to the UNO Privateers at 7pm Tuesday night. LSU is coming off a home win against Northwestern St, while UNO won their only game of the season against Div III foe Millsaps 81-45. LSU currently is #1 in College basketball in team rebounds with 53.5 per game and offensive rebounds with 21.5 per game.

UNO will start five players over 6 feet tall. While they aren't big in the post with players ranging from 6'7" - 6'8", UNO brings good length on the perimeter with 6'4" and 6'5" off-guards.



UNO will have their hands full with LSU's post duo of Jordan Mickey and Johnny O'Bryant. Both have two straight double double's and Jordan Mickey was named SEC Freshman of the week for his two performances. Anthony Hickey has given LSU an impressive boost off the bench as well averaging 13.5 points per game, 6.5 assists per game, and 3 steals per game.

For the third straight game, LSU plays a team who will use speed and depth to run with the ball. UNO played 12 players more than 7 minutes in their first game and 15 total. Only 1 player for UNO is under 6 foot tall.

In their first game, UNO shot 39% from three point land (7/18), 47% from two point range (21/45) and 49% from the charity stripe (18/37). They committed 23 fouls and had 16 turnovers. They had a +4 rebound margin.

LSU has shot 32% from three point land, 48% from inside the arc, and 61% from the free throw line. Against Northwestern St, LSU only committed 14 fouls but had trouble protecting the ball turning it over 22 times.

Keys to the Game:

LSU shouldn't have trouble winning this game, but they need to work on protecting the ball. Turnovers have been an issue, especially in the post.

LSU needs to improve shooting percentages. That means getting to the basket. With LSU's athleticism, they should not settle for jump shots as much.

Free throw shooting MUST improve. 61% needs to become 70%+. It will be necessary later on this season.

Predictions:

Score: LSU 88, UNO 67

Stringer 20+ pts

Hickey 7+ assists

JOB & Mickey Double Doubles (Mickey comes a few blocks short of triple double)

Shortess (walkon) knocks down a trey.

JOB throws down a "Shaq Dunk" with his knees into a players chest.



Week 1 Highlights:

Video Link







Back to top
Share:
Fratastic423
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2007
5033 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


Frustrated that I have had to miss the first two home games of the season.





Back to top
Pilot Tiger
Georgetown Fan
Washington DC
Member since Nov 2005
60088 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


quote:

Score: LSU 88, UNO 67
that's it?






Back to top
SouthOfSouth
USA Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
31082 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


quote:

that's it?


At some point LSU has a 30+ point lead, but take their foot off the pedal. I think the walkons get extended minutes as well as most of the backups.






Back to top
Elleshoe
Southeastern LA Fan
Founder of the Boxtard Nation
Member since Jun 2004
121663 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


South, would you agree that Eddlestone is somewhat of a Big Baby Davis/Jaime Lloreda hybrid? Capable of stepping out and hitting some jumpers but also a real windex man down low?

I'll hang up and listen

#diaperdandy






Back to top
S
Mercer Fan
Summer of Quin
Member since Jan 2007
57987 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


he has the make up of a real PTP, prime time player. he's going to take advantage of these cream puff delights, baby. he'll be drilling reggie's when they need pete roses, he's an isolation man, he's awesome baby, awesome with a capital AAAAAA





Back to top
SouthOfSouth
USA Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
31082 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


quote:

South, would you agree that Eddlestone is somewhat of a Big Baby Davis/Jaime Lloreda hybrid? Capable of stepping out and hitting some jumpers but also a real windex man down low?

I'll hang up and listen

#diaperdandy


To me, Eddlestone is more of a Taz Mitchell meets Eddie Ludwig. Has the moves and the fundamentals.






Back to top
Ignignot
LSU Fan
DooDoo Rooneys
Member since Mar 2009
11215 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


Tigers 92
Privateers 67






Back to top
lsu2006
USA Fan
BR
Member since Feb 2004
14003 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


Damn, UNO goes 6-5, 6-7 and 6-7 on the front line. Mickey may have 30 blocks.





Back to top
SouthOfSouth
USA Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
31082 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


Yea. They have 1 player who is 6'8" but that's their tallest guy. However they only have 1 player shorter than 6'1".





Back to top
tigers32
LSU Fan
University of LSU
Member since Mar 2012
1441 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports








Back to top
lsu2006
USA Fan
BR
Member since Feb 2004
14003 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


quote:

However they only have 1 player shorter than 6'1".


I guess this is reason to give Quarterman a lot of minutes at the point, because we'll need that against better teams with long guards. Not that he wouldn't get a good bit of minutes anyway, I'm guessing we're giving everyone a lot of minutes in this one.






Back to top
joeytiger
LSU Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Jul 2012
3282 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


I got two tickets in the Legends Club. I have only been to a couple games last year, where are these seats at, and are they good?





Back to top
tigers32
LSU Fan
University of LSU
Member since Mar 2012
1441 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


quote:

Quarterman a lot of minutes at the point

I like how Coach Jones is handling the Quarterman-Hickey situation. Quarterman's struggling, but at least it's against Northwestern St., UNO, etc. I think it gives Quarterman a chance to ease into the college game. Hickey's a proven commodity IMO.






Back to top
ToulatownTiger
Southeastern LA Fan
Louisiana
Member since Oct 2012
2879 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


You mean Matt Derenbecker isnt starting!!!





Back to top
lsu2006
USA Fan
BR
Member since Feb 2004
14003 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


quote:

You mean Matt Derenbecker isnt starting!!!

Ineligible






Back to top
Bottom9
LSU Fan
In Jarvis Landry we trust!
Member since Jul 2010
5144 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


quote:

I think the walkons get extended minutes


Henry Shortess Pain Train







Back to top
oauron
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Sep 2011
8713 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


Hoping that LSU can finally have some success with putbacks and alley oops.





Back to top
SouthOfSouth
USA Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
31082 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


Shortess knocks down a couple threes tonight.





Back to top
Walter White
LSU Fan
Stay out of my territory
Member since Sep 2012
2395 posts

re: Preview: UNO @ LSU - Tonight - 7pm - CoxSports


quote:

Shortess knocks down a couple threes tonight.








Back to top


Back to top




//