Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
34915 posts

Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm





Who: Northwestern State Demons (1-0) @ LSU Tigers (0-1)
When: Saturday, Nov 16th 7:00pm (ct)
Where: Pete Maravich Assembly Center (13,215, 47th largest D1)
How: 98.1FM, GeauxZone

After LSU’s opening season loss to UMASS, the Tiger’s look to bounce back in their home opener against instate Northwestern State. The Demons gave LSU a battle last season falling just short 95 to 102. LSU struggled to stop Northwestern’s post play with 6’7” DeQuan Hicks (returning) scoring 28 and 6’8” James Hublin (graduated) scoring 29. Anthony Hickey was able to score 21 but was notched out by Shavon Coleman who scored 22 points in the victory.



Northwestern St takes on Auburn Friday night before a quick turnaround playing the Tigers, however, similar to LSU they play enough people to keep fresh. In their first game of the season, the Demon’s played 10 players fourteen minutes or more. They also shot an astonishing 86% free throw percentage(30/35). However, a hole in their game seems evident as the Demon’s missed all 17 of their three point attempts.

Northwestern State plays fast. How fast? Well, they were 2nd fastest in the NCAA last season. They averaged only 14.8 seconds per possession. LSU averaged 17.3 seconds per possession. It will be important for LSU to recognize that and get back on defense. Whether it’s after a long rebound or after a made basket, Northwestern State will try and catch LSU out of position.

6’8” Marvin Frazier was able to protect the lane for the Demon’s similar to LSU’s Jordan Mickey with 9 rebounds and 7 blocks. It will be interesting to see if the Demon’s can beat the Auburn Tigers Friday night. Either way, Northwestern State will be a test for the Tigers.

Keys to the game:

Foul Trouble
Obvious? Sure. Important? Immensely. LSU committed 29 fouls in their first game. Northwestern St forced 27 themselves. Add on the fact that the Demon’s are a very good free throw shooting team, and this may be the way Northwestern State can pull the upset.

Win the Turnover Battle
In last season’s game, both teams committed 21 turnovers. LSU will need to protect the ball while figuring out how to take it away from Northwestern without fouling. Hickey and Malik Morgan both had 5 steals in last year’s contest.

Johnny O’Bryant
In last season’s contest, O’Bryant only played 19 minutes before fouling out. The pace forced him to make too many fouls. He will be LSU’s biggest advantage as long as he keeps his head in the game and hustles. No fouls around the perimeter JOB! It would also help if he could clean up some turnover issues he has displayed early this season.

Prediction:
LSU 99, Northwestern St 74







Back to top
Share:
tigers32
LSU Fan
University of LSU
Member since Mar 2012
1970 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


Good write-up as always South. I'm surprised Northwestern St. has to play at Auburn then turnaround and come to Baton Rouge the next night. Should be an advantage for LSU.

I hate that Martin probably won't play in this game. It would've been great for him to get some real game minutes against our next few opponents before heading to Orlando.






Back to top
MintBerry Crunch
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2010
1179 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


ForkEm Demons

Also, Geaux Tigers.

LSU 96 NSU 83



This post was edited on 11/15 at 10:10 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
oauron
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Sep 2011
9672 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


Would love to have Jarell for this game, but happy to be in the PMAC. JOB should have a huge game against their center.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
TDsngumbo
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2011
5728 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm








Back to top
  Replies (0)
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
34915 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


Martin will not play.

I am pretty confident we will see Malone though. Should be a fun game.






Back to top
Britgirl
LSU Fan
Ascension
Member since Jan 2013
719 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


Should be a fun game to watch. Fast paced. Hopefully this season we'll have the depth to keep fresh legs on the court at all times, making it possible to match or exceed the Demon's pace.

I've been pleasantly surprised by Shane Hammink's play so far. He might be an important sub for a few minutes.

Looking forward to seeing Darcy in action, but I worry about his lack of speed, whilst pretty good for a big man, he seems to tire easily. Gotta get used to the speed of the US college game. Great game to test him out.

Although I expect Tim to start at PG again, we definitely need Anthony's speed and ability to push the ball up the court. His role as 6th man currently, is set-up to provide a spark off the bench and I think he'll be in to finish the game.
After the UMass game, JJ might let Tim acclimatise to the college game a bit more slowly than he wanted.

Great pre-game write-up as usual SoS.

I don't usually make score predictions, since I seem to jinx the team, but I think LSU by 10.

Hope lots of fans come out for the season opener.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
T1gerWonder
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since May 2011
3346 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


I will be there





Back to top
  Replies (0)
tigers32
LSU Fan
University of LSU
Member since Mar 2012
1970 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


quote:

Martin will not play.

My bad...didn't see the other thread on his injury. Still, it's good news he might be back next week. As long as he doesn't rush his return.
quote:

I am pretty confident we will see Malone though.

Was going to ask about this. I didn't get to see the UMASS game so Saturday will be the first time I see the team. Seems like a good game to see live considering how each team plays.



This post was edited on 11/15 at 12:16 pm


Back to top
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
34915 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


Malone didn't play in the UMASS game due to an injury involving stitches. He will be available at least. Is expect to see him in a few quick spurts. I think he's fast down the court but as brittgirl brought up, he needs to improve his endurance.

But he is fast down the court when needed. I was impressed with him and Odos speed in the exhibition game.






Back to top
tigers32
LSU Fan
University of LSU
Member since Mar 2012
1970 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


To be honest, I thought the staff would red-shirt Malone. I'm glad they didn't because his game is intriguing. I know he has a shot, but is it true he can hit from behind the arc?





Back to top
  Replies (0)
oauron
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Sep 2011
9672 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


quote:

SouthOfSouth


You bringing back the SoS rating?






Back to top
nosaj
Northwestern St. Fan
Member since Sep 2010
1405 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


I'm so torn! lol


Fork Em Demons and Geaux Tigers!






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUzealot
New Orleans Saints Fan
Napoleon and Magazine
Member since Sep 2003
54519 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


I'm ready to see Mickey swat DeQuan's shite in the 3rd row. He won't make it to 20 tomorrow.





Back to top
Ignignot
LSU Fan
DooDoo Rooneys
Member since Mar 2009
11855 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


quote:

I'm ready to see Mickey swat DeQuan's shite in the 3rd row. He won't make it to 20 tomorrow.




I'll be up in 318 next to 2335, if he comes, jackass is thinking about going to the SELU game instead.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
tigers32
LSU Fan
University of LSU
Member since Mar 2012
1970 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


That block in the UMASS game was magical.





Back to top
oompaw
LSU Fan
In piney hill country...
Member since Dec 2007
6238 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


The way McConathy platoons his players and keeps them fresh, he can last the whole game which helps him to keep them close.

Should be a fun game to watch.






Back to top
nosaj
Northwestern St. Fan
Member since Sep 2010
1405 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


quote:

The way McConathy platoons his players and keeps them fresh, he can last the whole game which helps him to keep them close. Should be a fun game to watch.


I love his coaching philosophy. Keeps his players fresh the whole game and they're able to wear down teams late, even better teams. If they are allowed their tempo they can play wih a lot of teams. I'm shocked they didn't make a three last game though.






Back to top
Tom Bronco
LSU Fan
Austin, TX
Member since Jun 2011
1097 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


Agree about JOB. He always seems to have one ill advised foul out on the perimeter. Considering how valuable he is to our effort, he needs to be smarter on fouls. And yes, he still tries to dribble too much and loses the ball but he also is getting through those double teams more consistently and scoring.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
tigers32
LSU Fan
University of LSU
Member since Mar 2012
1970 posts

re: Preview: Northwestern State Demons @ LSU Hoops - Saturday 7:00pm


quote:

I'm shocked they didn't make a three last game though.

Was it just a really off night? That's pretty surprising.
quote:

he still tries to dribble too much and loses the ball

This. Also, it seems like he has a tendency to walk. Still, he'll be tough for anybody to stop.



This post was edited on 11/15 at 3:22 pm


Back to top


Back to top