CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
DeltaDoc
LSU Fan
The Delta
Member since Jan 2008
8719 posts

CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

(CNN) -- Before the October 1 rollout of Healthcare.gov, a key concern was whether the Affordable Care Act system would create a "death spiral" for insurers. That crisis could be precipitated by an unenthusiastic response from younger, healthier Americans. These are the people whose high premiums and low demand for services are necessary for the risk pools to assume the costs of covering pre-existing conditions at community-pricing rates, as well as buffering the premiums of older and needier Americans.

Instead, the emerging "death spiral" crisis is one of the credibility for the White House and the idea that big government-program interventions work better than the private sector those interventions seek to reform.



quote:

For the last several months, HHS and the White House assured everyone that the system development was on track for an October 1 launch. Democrats fought a pitched battle against Republicans over the last month to keep the GOP from forcing a delay of the rollout.

Now, suddenly, the idea of a delay has moved from the ramblings of "anarchists," as Harry Reid described Obamacare opponents, to mainstream Democratic thought. Sen. Richard Blumenthal, a Democrat from deep-blue Connecticut, told a panel on MSNBC on Thursday that the mandate needs to be delayed, depending on "how soon these glitches are going to be solved." That will depend, Blumenthal said, on "leveling with the American people."

That honesty has been in short supply. More than two weeks into the crisis, HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius told CNN's Sanjay Gupta that President Barack Obama had no inkling of the failure until he read about it in the papers, which follows a pattern of denials at the White House. Sebelius also implied that the failure took her by surprise too, even though the ACA was her agency's highest priority over the last 42 months, and the system failed a light-load test days before the launch.


quote:

Even former White House press secretary Robert Gibbs called the notion that the White House didn't know about the Healthcare.gove problems "unbelievable," while National Journal's Ron Fournier called it "either a lie ... or an unfathomable lack of oversight." It could also be both, which is the possibility that now has Democrats doing a 180 and suggesting or demanding delays in the rollout.


quote:

Rarely have we seen such a confluence of incompetence, irresponsibility, and prevarication all at the same time. The death spiral of White House credibility won't just damage Democrats in the short run, but it will damage the agenda of advocates of activist government for years.


LINK



This post was edited on 10/25 at 4:00 pm



Back to top
Share:
boosiebadazz
Member since Feb 2008
45284 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


Isn't CNN part of the MSM?

Aren't they in the tank for Obama? I'm confused.






Back to top
idlewatcher
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Jan 2012
8523 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


I hate to rain on anyone's parade, but what will the news be like post-November when it's (supposedly) up and running? Bitching about premiums?

Another poor planning job that falls on Barry's shoulders.






Back to top
austingator
Florida Fan
austin
Member since Jan 2009
5460 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

Rarely have we seen such a confluence of incompetence, irresponsibility, and prevarication all at the same time. The death spiral of White House credibility won't just damage Democrats in the short run, but it will damage the agenda of advocates of activist government for years.


Nice summary.
And we can only hope, but I'm not holding my breath.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
GEAUXmedic
LSU Fan
Premium Member
Member since Nov 2011
19160 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


I think most Democratic senators didn't know about the issues the ACA website had ahead of time.. they blindly supported this cause that's what their superiors said to do. The ones coming out against it now either have nothing to lose with their superiors in government, or have everything to lose with their unhappy constituents.





Back to top
Choctaw
Navy Fan
Pumpin' Sunshine
Member since Jul 2007
50164 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

Isn't CNN part of the MSM?

Aren't they in the tank for Obama? I'm confused.


so this is all you got out of that article....typical






Back to top
boosiebadazz
Member since Feb 2008
45284 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


That article didn't tell us anything that we don't already know





Back to top
Wild Thang
New Orleans Saints Fan
Who Dat Nation!!!! 438
Member since Jun 2009
21944 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


All of this was predicted to happen by any sane person.

I hope it just implodes itself and takes out everyone who voted for it.






Back to top
fontell
Auburn Fan
Montgomery
Member since Sep 2006
2465 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

That article didn't tell us anything that we don't already know


Well Barry has to get his news somewhere






Back to top
  Replies (0)
jcole4lsu
Virginia Fan
The Kwisatz Haderach
Member since Nov 2007
26887 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

Isn't CNN part of the MSM?

Aren't they in the tank for Obama? I'm confused.



it was an editorial. try to keep some intellectual integrity and not purposefully confuse an opinion piece with the general news slant.






Back to top
boosiebadazz
Member since Feb 2008
45284 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


editorials still are proofread and approved before they are run





Back to top
dewster
Maryland Fan
Tennessee
Member since Aug 2006
9047 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


It's been in a death spiral for a while to anyone who has paid attention despite CNN's best efforts.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
jcole4lsu
Virginia Fan
The Kwisatz Haderach
Member since Nov 2007
26887 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

editorials still are proofread and approved before they are run

so being proofread is now the same as the overall slant of news stories from an outlet? are you serious?

if the WSJ ran a pro obama editorial on a single policy position would you then be calling the WSJ a liberal rag?

i think you are smarter than this - act like it.






Back to top
boosiebadazz
Member since Feb 2008
45284 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


all i hear here is the MSM is unabashedly in the tank for Obama and then this article/editorial/whatever is calling his administration incomeptent as frick and something just isn't adding up





Back to top
CamdenTiger
Member since Aug 2009
27140 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

I hate to rain on anyone's parade, but what will the news be like post-November when it's (supposedly) up and running?


Bad!! Very Bad!!






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Bard
LA-Monroe Fan
BR
Member since Oct 2008
15972 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

All of this was predicted to happen by any sane person.


I guess it's okay to say it now. Funny how just a few weeks ago Ted Cruz was being called a terrorist for trying to keep this from happening.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
jcole4lsu
Virginia Fan
The Kwisatz Haderach
Member since Nov 2007
26887 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

all i hear here is the MSM is unabashedly in the tank for Obama and then this article/editorial/whatever is calling his administration incomeptent as frick and something just isn't adding up

then you are being willfully ignorant. have fun with that.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
CamdenTiger
Member since Aug 2009
27140 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

all i hear here is the MSM is unabashedly in the tank for Obama and then this article/editorial/whatever is calling his administration incomeptent as frick and something just isn't adding up


You can only lie to yourself so much, and there is too much empiric evidence, here. Oh, and they are preparing for much worse when people can actually log on...






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Hoyas
Georgetown Fan
Member since Sep 2013
2478 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

I think most Democratic senators didn't know about the issues the ACA website had ahead of time.. they blindly supported this cause that's what their superiors said to do. The ones coming out against it now either have nothing to lose with their superiors in government, or have everything to lose with their unhappy constituents.


This isn't about as much the website which is a short term problem (it's going to get fixed). The major problem is the "back end" of the system where the data is going. Reports generated are so off its unbelievable. It's going to take years to get all the kinks out.






Back to top
lsuroadie
LSU Fan
South LA
Member since Oct 2007
5376 posts

re: CNN Opinion: Credibility Death Spiral of the Whitehouse


quote:

all i hear here is the MSM is unabashedly in the tank for Obama and then this article/editorial/whatever is calling his administration incomeptent as frick and something just isn't adding up


if you haven't noticed they are in the tank, you are just playing ignorant.

just b/c the MSM reports spot journalism on the failures of this admin doesn't mean they still don't cover his tracks. the abortion that will befall the AHCA rollout will be a tidal wave they can not ignore.

Just imagine W in the WH the past 5 yrs...you think they would have given him a pass for all the shite that's flowed thru the WH?

I don't think so.






Back to top


Back to top