Posted byMessage
TigerPimpNationTrank
LSU Fan
NOLA Raised / Northshore Livin'
Member since Nov 2005
2164 posts

H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


So I grabbed a pack of these last week when I was going through the local Academy store. I already owned some Vudu Shrimp, DOA Shrimp and Gulp Shrimp of course, but something about the Mojo Shrimp intrigued me.

They look like Vudu shrimp except much larger plastic and much larger hook and with a pronounced lead piece near the head.

I dropped one 18" under a popping cork, and held on. From the first cast to the last cast, it outperformed live shrimp, market shrimp, Gulp shrimp. Trout and reds were all over it and never ripped the bait all day.

Something else happened to me that has never happened...after popping the cork a few times after a bad cast, I started reeling it in to recast. About three feet from the boat (and I wasn't even looking), my buddy said he watched a 28" red chase the shrimp and hit it.

I am sold on these and would definitely buy them again.

MOJO







Back to top
Share:
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
12989 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


Sparkle beetle tipped with dead shrimp is all I need.





Back to top
TigerPimpNationTrank
LSU Fan
NOLA Raised / Northshore Livin'
Member since Nov 2005
2164 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


I hear ya...I've used em all too and good ol chartreuse beetle is tough to beat....

But as they continue to improve the shrimp in looks and materials, it's interesting to see the performance of all of the new gimmicks.







Back to top
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
12989 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


I'm really kidding. Although when they are biting I'm not sure it makes a huge difference.

I do think Gulps can help a lot on slower days. But they can be a pain and certainly aren't cheap. I'll pick up a pack of these and probably the voodoo to see if they hold up.






Back to top
jsmoke222000
LSU Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Oct 2007
4063 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


I know the owner of Egret Baits (Vudu Shrimp) & I can confirm that there is a larger version of the Vudu shrimp coming out soon....





Back to top
meauxjeaux2
Boise State Fan
watson
Member since Oct 2007
44822 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


glad you like my bait.





Back to top
stoms
Mississippi St. Fan
Starkville
Member since May 2012
893 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


I won't buy the mojo b/c it looks like the big boy (Academy/H2o) stole his (egret/vudu) idea. Not only that but they're probably manufactured in China. I'll support the local guy and keep buying vudu. Just want to note that I tried to explain myself without going poli board


This post was edited on 10/24 at 9:19 am


Back to top
jimbeam
USA Fan
University of LSU
Member since Oct 2011
27013 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


You ever use the vudu?





Back to top
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
12989 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


quote:

it looks like the big boy (Academy/H2o) stole his (egret/vudu) idea


Idea being a fake shrimp? Yeah...vudu was the first one with that idea.

I'm fine with the rest of your reasoning though.



This post was edited on 10/24 at 9:22 am


Back to top
stoms
Mississippi St. Fan
Starkville
Member since May 2012
893 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


Specifically, it looks like they ripped off the tail. Vudu blew up and is 1 of the hottest artificials on the gulf coast. I think Academy basically copied his design named it something very close as well. Like I said, I'll support local





Back to top
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
12989 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


quote:

Like I said, I'll support local


Again, I understand and appreciate that. Can anyone confirm where the Egret baits are made though? I'm thinking oversees.






Back to top
TigerPimpNationTrank
LSU Fan
NOLA Raised / Northshore Livin'
Member since Nov 2005
2164 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


I don't know anything about the Egret baits.







Back to top
stoms
Mississippi St. Fan
Starkville
Member since May 2012
893 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


I can't confirm but I was told they were made in LA. Not by anyone affiliated with Egret though.





Back to top
weisertiger
LSU Fan
Lake Charles, LA
Member since Sep 2007
1639 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


Egret is based out of Many, LA but I am not positive that is where the bait is actually manufactured





Back to top
PTBob
Southern Miss Fan
Ocean Springs, MS
Member since Nov 2010
3196 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


Vudu is manufactured in China according to the guy I purchase from. He was out one day and he said shipment is incoming from China. Shipped from Chine to San Diego and distributed from there. This is all according to him but he IS the owner and makes the orders so I guess I trust him.





Back to top
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
12989 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


quote:

Vudu is manufactured in China according to the guy I purchase from. He was out one day and he said shipment is incoming from China. Shipped from Chine to San Diego and distributed from there. This is all according to him but he IS the owner and makes the orders so I guess I trust him.


That was my thought when I went to the website and it said "awaiting shipment." I figured they didn't mean from the warehouse behind the office.






Back to top
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
14705 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


Vudu skrimps are indeed a by product of china, so go ahead and support the Commies and VC allies.





Back to top
stoms
Mississippi St. Fan
Starkville
Member since May 2012
893 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale








Back to top
pooponsaban
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2008
12989 posts

re: H2O Xpress Mojo Shrimp review - Hopedale


Still appears to be Louisiana owned. If price and quality is similar I'll give them the nod.





Back to top



Back to top