Review - Upperline Restaurant | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

Review - Upperline Restaurant


Me and 2 friends arrived at Upperline for our 8:30 pm ressies. We were greeted by the owner Joanne. She's a lovely lady and was just as sweet as can be. Walking into Upperline, the atmosphere feels like you're in someone's home with several small, quaint rooms. Upperline definitely fits into the romantic category.

We were seated at the bar while we waited for our table. The bartender was engaging and charming, and made small talk about his favorite items on the menu.

After a few minutes, we were brought to our table. I loved that the menu offers three courses for $40. This is really a great deal.

For our appetizers, we decided to just rotate plates so that we could all have three different items. We chose the Fried Green Tomatoes with Shrimp Remoulade, the Duck & Andouille Etouffee with Corn Bread & Louisiana Pepper Jelly, and Spicy Shrimp with Jalapeño Cornbread & Aioli. They were all AMAZING! I really couldn't pick a favorite.

For our entrees, 2 of us had the Slow Roasted Half Duckling with Ginger Peach Sauce, and the other had the Lamb Shank Braised in Red Wine, Osso Buco Style. I am a HUGE duck fan, but I gotta say, the Lamb was the clear winner of the night. It was really phenomenal. The duck was delicious, but just a tiny bit overcooked for my taste.

For dessert, we all ordered the crème brulee. It was very good, but not even close to the best I've ever had. I found that it just wasn't rich enough. Nothing wowed me about it. It was just a little too mellow.

We had a great time and really enjoyed the experience. Joanne even gave me a hug when I left. I would absolutely recommend Upperline.







Back to top
Share:
Fun Bunch
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since May 2008
24075 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


I hated my experience at Upperline.

But I went on a busy holiday and my waiter was rude, so that might have colored my experience.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Oenophile Brah
LSU Fan
The Edge of Sanity
Member since Jan 2013
4939 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


Big Saturday for you!

quote:

the Lamb was the clear winner of the night. It was really phenomenal.

This seems to be a recurring theme. No way I pass that up on the menu next time.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Woody
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2004
1985 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


Your experience sounds nearly identical to mine. I had a great meal there.

I love the duck and andouille etouffee. The cornbread and pepper jelly on the side is a unique addition that I really enjoyed.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Neauxla
New Orleans Saints Fan
New Orleans
Member since Feb 2008
29134 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


no pics?





Back to top
fightin tigers
Downtown Prairieville
Member since Mar 2008
21488 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


Please don't take food pics at a restaurat. My wife annoys the shite out of me when she does this.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


I know huh. I really need to get better about that because I'm a review writing fool. Just got added to the Yelp Elite Squad.

quote:

But I went on a busy holiday and my waiter was rude, so that might have colored my experience.


I hate when that happens. A rude server can really piss all over a dining experience. If you liked the food, maybe give it another shot.



This post was edited on 7/2 at 3:29 pm


Back to top
Neauxla
New Orleans Saints Fan
New Orleans
Member since Feb 2008
29134 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


quote:

I'm a review writing fool. Just got added to the Yelp Elite Squad.
they don't kick you out for failing to take pics?






Back to top
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


I just got in. They might if I keep failing to deliver on that front.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Layabout
UNO Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2011
6667 posts
 Online 

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


quote:

We were greeted by the owner Joanne. She's a lovely lady and was just as sweet as can be.

I've known Joanne for more than 40 years. She and her husband also started two bars in the Quarter, one of which, The Abbey, is still operating on Decatur Street. Her son Jason for a long time was the chef at Upperline.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Gris Gris
LSU Fan
GRIS GRIS MARIE, REST IN PEACE CIT!
Member since Feb 2008
24777 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


We tried to give hints to get the lamb.

Glad you had a good experience. I think it's a neat neighborhood gem.






Back to top
nikinik
LSU Fan
Mid City
Member since Jan 2009
5428 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


I know. I know.

We all shared though, so I got to eat both. I just wish the other person had gotten something different.






Back to top
Gris Gris
LSU Fan
GRIS GRIS MARIE, REST IN PEACE CIT!
Member since Feb 2008
24777 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


I love sharing. I love the artwork there, also.





Back to top
plawmac
Member since Dec 2007
3210 posts

re: Review - Upperline Restaurant


The Upperline is one of my favorite NO restaurants. I usually try to avoid places outside of the Bywater/Marigny/FQ due to my aversion to driving. But, I always make an exception for this place. Ms JoAnn is a true NO legend.


This post was edited on 7/2 at 6:43 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top