In the Miss St/UCLA game on now, why was the UCLA runner who collided with the Miss St first baseman not out due to interference? He was clearly outside the running lane and in fair territory. Can someone clarify?
quote: The lane down the first base line is really only relevant on a thrown ball. If a runner is outside the lane and hit by a thrown ball, he's out. Otherwise, it's OK for him to run outside of the lane.
Even if he interferes with the first baseman's attempt to catch the thrown ball??
junkfunky LSU Fan Member since Jan 2011 14853 posts
re: Rules question in game tonight.(Posted by junkfunky on 6/25/13 at 11:50 am to ianfson1)
I didn't watch the game but it reminds of a high school game where I had made it to first and the next batter was probably our best hitter. He popped up about 5 feet foul and 2/3 of the way down to first base. I'm standing on the bag watching the play unfold right in front of me and just before the first baseman catches the ball I see our batter charging right at the guy. He speared him about chest level and the dude went flying and dropped the ball. It was a complete moment but kinda funny looking back now.