U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
OaklandFire
Bucknell Fan
Member since Oct 2008
173 posts

U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments, moves he made without Senate confirmation.

Breaking on CNN.com

Indaresding...







Back to top
Share:
Holden Caulfield
LSU Fan
Hanging with J.D.
Member since May 2008
6216 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


Wonder how the wise latina will rule.





Back to top
CajunAngele
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2012
11168 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


LINK





Back to top
  Replies (0)
prplhze2000
LSU Fan
Parts Unknown
Member since Jan 2007
31237 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


I see a 7-1 or 8-0 decision here.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
davesdawgs
Georgia Fan
Georgia
Member since Oct 2008
16776 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


quote:

U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments



As well they should.






Back to top
udtiger
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Nov 2006
24463 posts
 Online 

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


If they side with him, we are truly done as a nation.





Back to top
FalseProphet
LSU Fan
Funroe
Member since Dec 2011
5989 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


quote:

If they side with him, we are truly done as a nation


Okay, I can't tell if you are truly ignorant of the issues in the case or just don't understand them.

This case is literally about an uppercase "R," where there is literally no prior legal precedent. If you have any precedential reason why they can't side with the current administration's interpretation, I'd love to hear it. So would the Supreme Court.

If you buy the fact that any future recess appointment can or should be nullified by simply holding pretend meetings (and dont give me the they were actual meetings argument, because thats just disingenious) are you happy or okay with other portions of the constitution being nullified by pro forma acts?

I have my own reason for thinking that the government should lose, but I can actually, and honestly, see how a ruling in favor of the government might actually protect the intent of the constitution, as written.

Eta: in case I'm off and asked to explain my reasons, there is a simple alternative, and a legal alternative. First, how about the senate actually, you know, conduct some business and be able to fully provide advice and consent on the presidents nominations. How about not extending the session indefinitely simply to thwart a constitutional power when you aren't doing a damn thing.

I'm too lazy to go into my legal theories right now.



This post was edited on 6/24 at 9:20 pm


Back to top
conservativewifeymom
Maryland
Member since Oct 2012
616 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


They're going to punt on this one just like they did on the affirmative action one. They are nothing but a bunch of weaklings!





Back to top
  Replies (0)
udtiger
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Nov 2006
24463 posts
 Online 

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


So, I need to find a precedent for the Court to NOT find that a president can unilaterally declare Congress in "recess" for the purpose of a recess appointment?

You are a tyrant's wet dream.






Back to top
FalseProphet
LSU Fan
Funroe
Member since Dec 2011
5989 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


quote:

So, I need to find a precedent for the Court to NOT find that a president can unilaterally declare Congress in "recess" for the purpose of a recess appointment? You are a tyrant's wet dream.


The president didn't declare a recess. He merely determined that they were in recess for purposes of his appointment power. If he was wrong, he was wrong. But, given the fact that what "the Recess" means has never been interpreted, I think you are standing on less than solid ground. Tell me, do you know what the Recess means, in fact?

I'm more worried about your ability to find an effective pretend way to thwart a constitutionally granted power.






Back to top
FalseProphet
LSU Fan
Funroe
Member since Dec 2011
5989 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


Again, all of this is moot if the Senate actually conducts business when it says its conducting business.





Back to top
MississippiLSUfan
LSU Fan
Brookhaven
Member since Oct 2005
10414 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


The executive office very clearly has sidestepped the founder's intent with recess appointments. Many admitstrations have done this and it's past time that it was addressed.

The current administration has abused this supposed 'power' to appoint people who would NEVER be affirmed by a sitting legislative branch.

I've never agreed with this no matter which party was in control of the administrative branch.

Time for the judicial branch to step to the plate and put a stop to it...or require other standards that agree with the intent.

You know....the intent. I'm pretty sure that this has been dealt with by the SC before...



This post was edited on 6/24 at 10:58 pm


Back to top
Vegas Bengal
Member since Feb 2008
24604 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


Where did these founders you speak of say the advise and consent of the Senate requires 60 votes and that one Senator can hold up appointments?







Back to top
MississippiLSUfan
LSU Fan
Brookhaven
Member since Oct 2005
10414 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


Where did these founders approve of abortion on demand?





Back to top
  Replies (0)
MississippiLSUfan
LSU Fan
Brookhaven
Member since Oct 2005
10414 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


That was weak on my part. First thing that came to mind while having a few beers.

To answer your question, they left it open to interpretation. And if you really approve of ANY administration doing this then please STFU when the other side pulls this same bull shite.

It's wrong. You KNOW it's wrong.


Stop it. You are not stupid.






Back to top
Vegas Bengal
Member since Feb 2008
24604 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


I think it's all bull shite.
Recess appointments.
Cloture.
One senator holding up appointments.

I read an article how both parties are having a hell of a time finding good candidates to run for senator because of the mood right now, the partisanship, nothing getting done.

Term limits would also help.






Back to top
MississippiLSUfan
LSU Fan
Brookhaven
Member since Oct 2005
10414 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


Agree with every single word.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Wild Thang
New Orleans Saints Fan
Who Dat Nation!!!! 438
Member since Jun 2009
21944 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


quote:

Wonder how the wise latina will rule.










Back to top
  Replies (0)
Wild Thang
New Orleans Saints Fan
Who Dat Nation!!!! 438
Member since Jun 2009
21944 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


quote:

Again, all of this is moot if the Senate actually conducts business when it says its conducting business.



Write Harry Reid, and let him know.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
FalseProphet
LSU Fan
Funroe
Member since Dec 2011
5989 posts

re: U.S. Supreme Court to review President Obama's recess appointments


On Ipad, so bear with me -

--
The executive office very clearly has sidestepped the founder's intent with recess appointments. Many admitstrations have done this and it's past time that it was addressed.
--
I agree.
--
The current administration has abused this supposed 'power' to appoint people who would NEVER be affirmed by a sitting legislative branch.
--
I disagree. I can't speak to any appointments made well beyond my time, so I can't confirm that a rogue appointee wasn't made in the early 20th century (or even earlier). I think it probably did, but I can't confirm.

--
I've never agreed with this no matter which party was in control of the administrative branch.
-- I agree
--

Time for the judicial branch to step to the plate and put a stop to it...or require other standards that agree with the intent.

--
I agree and disagree. It's time for them to stop it, but in a way that makes sense. I hate this interpretation the recess business. Someone needs to decide when the Senate is actually doing something, and if they pretend the Senate wants to do it, actually do some business. Otherwise, someone else has to make a judgment call.
--

You know....the intent. I'm pretty sure that this has been dealt with by the SC before...
--
Oh, it has. This isn't truly an intent case.






Back to top


Back to top