Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning) | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
CBLSU316
LSU Fan
Far Right of Left
Member since Jun 2008
8861 posts

Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)



So I wanna ask the FDB if my rant is warranted before sending a strongly worded email.

I want to preface this with the fact that this is probably our favorite restaurant in town and we eat there frequently.

So we took the MIL to Bistro Byronz for Mother's Day. My wife called a week in advance to try and make reservations for 11:00am today and was told they were not doing reservations for Mother's Day that it was first come first serve.

So we arrive about 10:45 and the SIL an her SO had secured a spot in line........the doors open at 11:01 am and we make our way in to the hostess station. When we reached the hostess station we requested a seat outside if available and were informed that we would have to wait up to 45 minutes for any table because we didn't have a reservation. So we took a seat at the bar..........and eventually decided just to eat at the bar.

We asked for menus and were told it would be a few minutes as all of the menus were taken.........I don't know how this could be as half of the tables were still empty.

To my amazement throughout my meal I continued to look at multiple tables that had not been seated since the doors open. The bartender even asked me to save the seat next to me at the bar as someone was coming at 12:00pm for the seat........that's an hour after opening.

My only assumption is lots of ppl made reservations for 12:00pm so they just were not gonna sit those tables at all until noon.

So we spent our Mother's Day brunch sitting at the bar unable to converse and having ppl reach between us to order drinks and such all the while there are empty tables all over the restaurant. There was even a six seat table right behind me that was never seated thru the duration of my meal and we were a party of 5.



This post was edited on 5/12 at 4:42 pm



Back to top
Share:
ruzil
Southeastern LA Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2012
5079 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


Nice review. Please post on the dining board.





Back to top
REG861
Vanderbilt Fan
New Orleans
Member since Oct 2011
17004 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


very illuminating





Back to top
CBLSU316
LSU Fan
Far Right of Left
Member since Jun 2008
8861 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


Hit enter too soon





Back to top
Salmon
USA Fan
On the trails
Member since Feb 2008
28658 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


I would have asked for the manager as soon as they told you that you couldn't be seated due to not having reservations, when they told you earlier that they were not accepting reservations.





Back to top
CBLSU316
LSU Fan
Far Right of Left
Member since Jun 2008
8861 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


You're right......I was just astonished that with ppl sitting outside since 11:00 waiting on tables and there were plenty of tables inside that hasn't been seated the whole time I had been there.





Back to top
REG861
Vanderbilt Fan
New Orleans
Member since Oct 2011
17004 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


Yea, thats bull shite and I would be furious. Was the food good at least?





Back to top
  Replies (0)
FalseProphet
LSU Fan
Funroe
Member since Dec 2011
6516 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


It's dumb to eat out on Mother's Day.

Nonetheless, you should have asked for a manager. Bitching to them after the fact does nothing.

Also, did you ever think that the reason they weren't taking reservations is because they were full on reservations?

And, lastly, if they were holding tables for reservations, its absolutely common. Your just whining to whine if that's something you are mad at. I'm sure they didn't sit you at the bar to spite you.






Back to top
Jones
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Oct 2005
54877 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


quote:

My only assumption is lots of ppl made reservations for 12:00pm so they just were not gonna sit those tables at all until noon


Good assumption imo. They're not gonna sit walk ins when they have a bunch of reservations.

The only gripe I would have is being told it was first come first serve when they said you needed your own reservation. You didn't mention this?

Other than that, your unpleasant time sitting at the bar is really your own fault.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
CBLSU316
LSU Fan
Far Right of Left
Member since Jun 2008
8861 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


quote:

Also, did you ever think that the reason they weren't taking reservations is because they were full on reservations?
.

This was not the case.......we asked.

quote:

And, lastly, if they were holding tables for reservations, its absolutely common. Your just whining to whine if that's something you are mad at. I'm sure they didn't sit you at the bar to spite you.


I sat myself at the bar.

So you're telling me it's common to not seat tables for up to an hour when you have a restaurant full of ppl waiting to be seated?

If so that is a terrible practice.








Back to top
FalseProphet
LSU Fan
Funroe
Member since Dec 2011
6516 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


Absolutely. I'm not saying it was smart if they had a huge block of noon reservations, but those tables need to be available for those with reservations.

How long we're y'all there?






Back to top
yellowfin
Illinois Fan
Coastal Bar
Member since May 2006
71268 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


quote:

My wife called a week in advance to try and make reservations for 11:00am today and was told they were not doing reservations for Mother's Day that it was first come first serve.


Did they tell her they weren't taking reservations for Mother's Day or they weren't taking them anymore because they were full?






Back to top
CBLSU316
LSU Fan
Far Right of Left
Member since Jun 2008
8861 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


50 minutes with apps and drinks.







Back to top
CBLSU316
LSU Fan
Far Right of Left
Member since Jun 2008
8861 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


quote:

Did they tell her they weren't taking reservations for Mother's Day or they weren't taking them anymore because they were full?


They told her they weren't taking them at all. I was sitting right next to her when she called.







Back to top
AmosMosesAndTwins
New Orleans Saints Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Apr 2010
12563 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


quote:

party of 5.


Movie/TV Board






Back to top
  Replies (0)
yellowfin
Illinois Fan
Coastal Bar
Member since May 2006
71268 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


I'd bet she misunderstood or the 16 year old hostess misspoke





Back to top
ProudLSUMom
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2007
2424 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


quote:

Also, did you ever think that the reason they weren't taking reservations is because they were full on reservations?
.

This was not the case.......we asked.




I am on their email list. I got an email a couple of weeks ago reminding me to make reservations for Mother's Day. When I remembered to call 2 days later the lady who answered the phone said they were no longer taking reservations for Mother's Day.

I knew if we went without a reservation, we would have a long wait because we went there 2 years ago without a reservation and........we had to wait!!!

No surprise for Mother's Day!



This post was edited on 5/12 at 5:02 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
FalseProphet
LSU Fan
Funroe
Member since Dec 2011
6516 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


They were on speakerphone?

Otherwise, I never trust a woman when she relays something to me that someone else said.

And good for you not taking forever on Mother's Day to eat. But, alas, you are one of the few. You think you would have been as quick had you been enjoying your time at a table?






Back to top
CBLSU316
LSU Fan
Far Right of Left
Member since Jun 2008
8861 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


It was clear.......I'm telling you. My wife is all about making reservations..........I never want to make reservations.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
CBLSU316
LSU Fan
Far Right of Left
Member since Jun 2008
8861 posts

re: Bistro Byronz - MD Review (tl;dr warning)


Yes becAuse everyone had somewhere to go after the meal.

I'd say we'd have been an hour tops at a table.

The hostess did tell us today that they filled their reservations Thursday so that's why we couldn't make one............and we told her that we called a week ago.

The couple in front of us had the same problem as we did. He said he was told the same as us.



This post was edited on 5/12 at 5:04 pm


Back to top


Back to top