Draft Picks Review | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
bonethug0108
New Orleans Saints Fan
Avondale
Member since Mar 2013
4830 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Imo Jenkins is going to be no more than a role player his first two years as the run stuffing NT. If he can develop some better interior rush he could be a starter (or if Ryan gets the boot/leaves).





Back to top
blueslover
New Orleans Saints Fan
soon to be south of zero
Member since Sep 2007
20902 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


a friggin mountain, not too many Saints have worn a jersey as large as his. An absolute mamoth









Back to top
bonethug0108
New Orleans Saints Fan
Avondale
Member since Mar 2013
4830 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


I totally agree, but I don't see him as a three down ready NT. He can be beast against the run which is definitely something we need.

Don't get me wrong I think he'll see plenty of time, and maybe this lets Hicks develop more as an end, but I think Bunkley sees the most snaps at NT.






Back to top
LooseCannon22282
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since May 2008
15847 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Imo Jenkins is going to be no more than a role player his first two years as the run stuffing NT. If he can develop some better interior rush he could be a starter


yeah, I kind of agree. He seems like a 2 down player at best. Nothing very positive in the scouting reports about his pass rushing ability

but for a guy his size, he has good latreal movement.






Back to top
Maximus
Idaho Fan
Member since Feb 2004
71467 posts
 Online 

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

It's pretty clear SP isn't interested in head cases or slackers no matter how talented they are. His track record speaks for itself.



which of these is Jarvis Jones?






Back to top
bonethug0108
New Orleans Saints Fan
Avondale
Member since Mar 2013
4830 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Slacker. And he seems to be done with injured players also based on his comments.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Brettesaurus Rex
New Orleans Saints Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2009
24516 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Nothing very positive in the scouting reports about his pass rushing ability

I'm trying not to be a smart ass, but what NT is known for there pass rushing ability?

I see Bunkley/Jenkins spelling each other on most 1st and 2nd downs. Hicks moving inside at NT on passing downs would give us a great look






Back to top
bonethug0108
New Orleans Saints Fan
Avondale
Member since Mar 2013
4830 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Ratliff





Back to top
Brettesaurus Rex
New Orleans Saints Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2009
24516 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Really? Just checked his stats and he's only had 5.5 sacks in the last 3 years





Back to top
landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
1384 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

It's pretty clear SP isn't interested in head cases or slackers no matter how talented they are


Head case? Didn't hear anything about that. His issue was he's not a workout guy, and his neck. By all accounts, he has a crazy, nonstop motor in games.

quote:

His track record speaks for itself


It sure does. And what it says is he was the best pass rusher in college football over the last 2 years, and a guy nearly everyone had as the best overall player in the draft before the stuff about his neck came up. Oh, and he is compared to Von Miller. That's what his track record says.






Back to top
LooseCannon22282
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since May 2008
15847 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

I'm trying not to be a smart ass, but what NT is known for there pass rushing ability?


true. there have only been a select few over the years.

I guess I was just adding on to the thought he won't be more than a 2 down player. He should help a lot on goal line defense though and short yardage situations.






Back to top
goatmilker
LSU Fan
2014 drunkin Bobby award winner!
Member since Feb 2009
17927 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


I see the guy as a possible three down except in 3rd and long.
Who else you want on 3rd and two






Back to top
landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
1384 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Imo Jenkins is going to be no more than a role player his first two years as the run stuffing NT


You just described just about every NT in the NFL lol. That's all you need from your NT. Guys who can also put pressure on the qb are very rare.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
1384 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

I totally agree, but I don't see him as a three down ready NT


Do you even understand what a NT is and what a NT does?

quote:

but I think Bunkley sees the most snaps at NT.


You are not making any sense. Bunkley doesn't do anything more than what you are criticizing Jenkins for. Bunkley is a horrible interior pass rusher.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
1384 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Ratliff


Not a traditional NT. Dude is like 290. You are completely changing the history of what a NT is based on one guy.

quote:

I'm trying not to be a smart ass, but what NT is known for there pass rushing ability?


Exactly.



This post was edited on 4/28 at 3:09 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)
LooseCannon22282
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since May 2008
15847 posts

re: Draft Picks Review








Back to top
  Replies (0)
Sho Nuff
New Orleans Saints Fan
Hawaii
Member since Feb 2009
5336 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

And what it says is he was the best pass rusher in college football over the last 2 years, and a guy nearly everyone had as the best overall player in the draft before the stuff about his neck came up.

Nah, don't you know he sucks now






Back to top
landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
1384 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Nah, don't you know he sucks now


I always enjoy when people completely change the narrative to fit their argument. Not sure where this head case stuff came from.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
bonethug0108
New Orleans Saints Fan
Avondale
Member since Mar 2013
4830 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Pressures tell a much better story.





Back to top
landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
1384 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

I guess I was just adding on to the thought he won't be more than a 2 down player


But again, that's what a NT does and is. 99% of those guys are 2 down players and come out in passing situations.






Back to top


Back to top