Draft Picks Review | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
blueslover
New Orleans Saints Fan
soon to be south of zero
Member since Sep 2007
20873 posts

Draft Picks Review


Hello, my name is blues and I am a draftaholic. Part of a successful recovery to get to next post season is closure by reviewing the picks. Bear with me.

Kenny Vacarro- I've tried but I can't get my grade on this pick better than a C. As far as need it is a A to B. Any safety at #15 needs to not be just a starter but a high impact playmaker... Earl Thomas was a #14, Troy Polamalu #16. If Vacarro turns into that then all will be good and forgotten. If his production is closer to #14 overall pick Malcolm Jenkins I'll have extreme buyers remorse. There's no avoiding that I graded Jones as a much higher value and impact as a playmaker. I'll be following these two for the next few years to assess my own opinion. Hoping I was wrong. We'll see.

Terron Armstead- This is higher than an A+ pick for me. The first time I came across this guy post season my immediate thought was this is a Saints kinda player. Thought the same thing about Hicks last year predraft. His upside is unlimited to be a very good starting LT in the NFL. I dunno if he can win the starting job this year but I'm excited about him manning the position going forward

John Jenkins- this is another AA+++ selection. The guy was pushing a 1st Rd grade. When they decide to trade up to get a guy it is cuz the value reaches a can't-let-this-guy-get-by level. For those who thought RR used only smaller NT meet Mr. 360+ LB monster. He can be better than Shaun Rogers was in his best years. We have an legit anchor at NT for years to come.

Kenny Stills- grade A for straight value if nothing else. He was widely graded a round or two higher. A good all around WR that will provide legit competition for a spot on the 53.

Rufus Johnson- I laughed when I saw the name. Not even so much the name but the school. It's no longer surprising to see Tarleton added to the rolls of Hofstra, Bloomsburg, Wingate, Towson, Samford, Regina, etc as small schools that the Saints mine for gems from. For a 6th, making the PS will be a win.

Overall, I go A- to B+. Anytime you might have three impactful starters out of 5 picks (with no 2nd Rder) you have done it right. I'll have an asterisk linking Vacarro and Jones for a few years to determine which one was the better decision at #15.

Include the UDFAs and I bump the grade higher. Thomas and Reddick were very draftable players. Both will seriously vy for roster spots.








Back to top
Share:
bountyhunter
New Orleans Saints Fan
Red Stick
Member since Mar 2012
1415 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Any safety at #15 needs to not be just a starter but a high impact playmaker... Earl Thomas was a #14, Troy Polamalu #16. If Vacarro turns into that then all will be good and forgotten. If his production is closer to #14 overall pick Malcolm Jenkins I'll have extreme buyers remorse.


Exactly my sentiment. I agree that I thought Jarvis Jones addressed our biggest need on defense, but, like you I hope I am wrong.

Only thing I disagree (slightly) with you about is that Armstead not starting next year. None of our existing tackles from last year (Brown / Strief) are reliable or healthy. I am still hoping that they bring in a veteran at RT since it's cheaper than a veteran at LT. If nothing is done though I think at some point next year he will have start due to injury to Brown / Strief.



This post was edited on 4/28 at 1:04 pm


Back to top
Patrick O Rly
New Orleans Saints Fan
y u do dis?
Member since Aug 2011
36775 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


I wanted Jones too, but what Vacarro gives us is filling the massive hole in coverage on 3rd down, and any down that Harper is on the field.





Back to top
Rickety Cricket
Navy Fan
Premium Member
Member since Aug 2007
33509 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Earl Thomas was a #14, Troy Polamalu #16. If Vacarro turns into that then all will be good and forgotten. If his production is closer to #14 overall pick Malcolm Jenkins I'll have extreme buyers remorse.

So if he turns out to be a great player, it's a good pick, if not then it wasn't. Brilliant!






Back to top
blueslover
New Orleans Saints Fan
soon to be south of zero
Member since Sep 2007
20873 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Only thing I disagree (slightly) with you about is that Armstead not starting next year.

I think it will be a straight forward competition. Armstead has the raw skills but Arkansas Pine Bluff experience and competition is a long ways from the NFL. He might be that good or he might need a year to get some sea legs. Smith and Brown do have health and reliability issues. Still, one was graded high enough to be a #2 overall pick and the other was a #64. May the best man win... and stay healthy. I don't expect any significant UDFA add here anymore.






Back to top
TigerinATL
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
Member since Feb 2005
32564 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

There's no avoiding that I graded Jones as a much higher value and impact as a playmaker. I'll be following these two for the next few years to assess my own opinion. Hoping I was wrong. We'll see.


If he wasn't taken for the personality/work ethic red flags I don't think you can make that comparison. The Saints have built their winning culture by getting a bunch of team first high character players. Despite Payton's my way or the highway and I'll cut you if you wear the wrong cleats demeanor, I'm not sure they're good at making a bad character guy conform. I just give the Steelers more credit for being able to do that, so If character issues were the reason I can see Jones being more likely to succeed with the Steelers than the Saints.

Is it a coaching deficiency if they can't make a player like that work? Sure, many here thought Haynesworth was the piece that could have brought another SuperBowl, but now we'll never know. It's not a missed pick if they know it wouldn't work ahead of time.






Back to top
Brettesaurus Rex
New Orleans Saints Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2009
21904 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Yes, because Nicks, Hargrove, and Shockey were all high character guys.

Not saying I completely disagree with you, but that's a pretty big blanket statement to make.






Back to top
goatmilker
New Orleans Saints Fan
2014 drunkin Bobby award winner!
Member since Feb 2009
14984 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

I'll have an asterisk linking Vacarro and Jones for a few years to determine which one was the better decision at #15.


We all will

Armstead A+
Reddick B+
Thomas A
Jenkins A+
Stills B+
Sweeting B
Vaccarro B
I have no idea where to put Rufus
But name A+

Now get to work on 2014 Blu






Back to top
kclsufan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Show Me
Member since Jun 2008
11145 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Exactly my sentiment. I agree that I thought Jarvis Jones addressed our biggest need on defense, but, like you I hope I am wrong.

It's pretty clear SP isn't interested in head cases or slackers no matter how talented they are. His track record speaks for itself.






Back to top
bountyhunter
New Orleans Saints Fan
Red Stick
Member since Mar 2012
1415 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Rickety Cricket




Since you're a premium member, I gave you a gold tooth.



This post was edited on 4/28 at 1:51 pm


Back to top
kclsufan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Show Me
Member since Jun 2008
11145 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

There's no avoiding that I graded Jones as a much higher value and impact as a playmaker. I'll be following these two for the next few years to assess my own opinion. Hoping I was wrong. We'll see.

Apples and oranges. Jones being successful in Pittsburgh is no guarantee he would be successful in NO. The Steelers are overall a much better D so Jones will have talent around him there.






Back to top
Fox Mulder
Tulane Fan
Austin, TX
Member since Dec 2010
22061 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


The vaccaro defense has been predetermined





Back to top
blueslover
New Orleans Saints Fan
soon to be south of zero
Member since Sep 2007
20873 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


Who knows if the Saints had a red X next to Jones for intangibles or it might have been the spinal stenosis? Simply for me he was a much higher player value at #15. I like Vacarro and think he will be an improvement. What I'm not sure of is if he can live up to #15 status. As said, if he turns out more similar to Thomas or Polamalu then well done. #15 equates to high impact not just position filler to me.

As far as character guys, the Saints have taken on plenty with issues. Vacarro and Stills both had police run-ins while in school.






Back to top
goatmilker
New Orleans Saints Fan
2014 drunkin Bobby award winner!
Member since Feb 2009
14984 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

The vaccaro defense has been predetermined


I think we can all agree we will see it on the field over the next 2-3 years who's right or wrong.

Saints are over due to be oh so very very right for once.






Back to top
Patrick O Rly
New Orleans Saints Fan
y u do dis?
Member since Aug 2011
36775 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


I think what get's lost is, as bad as our linebackers were last season, our safety play was even worse.

Jenkins had, what, like one good year at safety? Maybe a year and a half. He played pretty well in 10'. We really missed him in the Seattle loss. Then he looks up and down in 11 and horrible last year. Harper played very well in 10, shat the bed in the playoffs, and was has been continually exposed ever since.

I wasn't happy about the pick at the time, but when you look at it, safety was our biggest weakness.






Back to top
blueslover
New Orleans Saints Fan
soon to be south of zero
Member since Sep 2007
20873 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

Now get to work on 2014 Blu


don't pimp me okay...

#24 New Orleans Saints: Louis Nix, NT, Notre Dame
The Saints plan on starting Brodrick Bunkley at nose tackle this season. This is a new position for Bunkley, so New Orleans may have to look for a new nose tackle if he doesn't work out.
walter 2014 mock

21. New Orleans Saints Stephon Tuitt DE, Notre Dame
Analysis: Tuitt burst onto the scene in 2012 racking up 12 sacks and constantly reaking havoc for the Fighting Irish. Tuitt would be a perfect fit for the Saints new look 3-4.
LINK

15 New Orleans Saints – Anthony Johnson, DT, LSU
LINK

23. New Orleans Saints
Will Sutton, DE, Arizona State
Sutton lives in the backfield, totaling 23.5 tackles for loss and notching 13 sacks as a junior. With some refinement in technique, Sutton is going to get some Jared Allen comparisons.
LINK






Back to top
Patrick O Rly
New Orleans Saints Fan
y u do dis?
Member since Aug 2011
36775 posts

re: Draft Picks Review








Back to top
goatmilker
New Orleans Saints Fan
2014 drunkin Bobby award winner!
Member since Feb 2009
14984 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


You da man Blu





Back to top
blueslover
New Orleans Saints Fan
soon to be south of zero
Member since Sep 2007
20873 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

when you look at it, safety was our biggest weakness.

nothing about that,
quote:

As far as need it is a A to B

I'm not down on him at all. Just the value aspect. Perhaps most simply, I have greater confidence that Jones will be a consistent double digit sacker than Vacarro becoming a Polamalu-Ed Reed playmaker. Hoping I'm wrong fo sho.






Back to top
LooseCannon22282
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since May 2008
14093 posts

re: Draft Picks Review


quote:

John Jenkins


was the most intrigued by this pick. You couldn't help but notice him during Senior Bowl week here

seriously, he's f#*king huge.

he seemed to be hot and cold(few good plays, didn't really try on others; looked gassed) during those practices. I guess that can be typical for a big guy like that though. Of all the things that drove me crazy with our defense last year, the inability to stop the run was at the top of the list. He should help shore that area of our defense.



This post was edited on 4/28 at 2:25 pm


Back to top


Back to top




//