Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated) | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
007mag
LSU Fan
Death Valley, Sec. 408
Member since Dec 2011
1850 posts

Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


LINK
quote:

House Bill 470 by state Rep. Thomas Willmott generated graphic testimony about tethered dogs hanging themselves after leaping from truck beds on interstates.


But IIRC it's safe for children to ride in the back of trucks. Must be because they're not tethered around the neck.



This post was edited on 4/23 at 12:25 pm



Back to top
Share:
Croacka
UNLV Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Dec 2008
50295 posts
 Online 

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


i wish my dog would stay in the back without being crated


i don't like the idea of tethering them in the bed though






Back to top
onelochevy
LSU Fan
Slidell, LA
Member since Jan 2011
6046 posts
 Online 

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


Dont like them tethered in truck beds. If you do, its gotta be short enough that they cant reach the bed sides.


This post was edited on 4/17 at 8:15 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
007mag
LSU Fan
Death Valley, Sec. 408
Member since Dec 2011
1850 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


Most reponsible dog owners either crate them or tie them off short where they can't jump over rail. I just find it ironic that the legislature would address dogs but not human passengers. If those same passengers are in the back seat of that same pickup they'd have to wear seat belts, go figure.





Back to top
DownshiftAndFloorIt
LSU Fan
The devil dreams on an idle horse
Member since Jan 2011
39970 posts
 Online 

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


This is gay. Very gay.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
DonChowder
LSU Fan
Caulifornea
Member since Dec 2012
4614 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


...waiting for Cootkilla to weigh in on this one.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
14725 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


This is dumb as frick.





Back to top
Sgt_Hulka
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2013
206 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


I was driving through Little Rock, AR a few years ago and the truck in front of me had a huge chocolate lab in the back. Dog sees something in the car next to it and leaps for it.

"Dumb as frick" or not, if you ever see the explosion of a big lab getting hit by an 18 wheeler at 60 mph, you'll think differently about securing your pets in the back of the truck.

What was truly dumb as frick -- the driver had no clue it happened. I finally got his attention and he pulled over. His response, "He's never jumped out before." Now that, is "dumb as frick".






Back to top
hardhead
LSU Fan
stinky bayou
Member since Jun 2009
4252 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


ban dogs





Back to top
  Replies (0)
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
14725 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


I don't need johnny law tellin me how to keep my dog while I'm taking it somewhere. I've kept dogs in the bed of my truck all my life, and guess what, none of my dogs have got exploded by a semi. Maybe its just because my dogs are trained, but then again that probably has nothing to do with it.

Enjoy the man telling you how to live your life.



This post was edited on 4/17 at 10:18 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
34venture
LSU Fan
Buffer Zone
Member since Mar 2010
8636 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


Who in the frick ties their dog up in the back of their truck anyways? Put it in a box.


This post was edited on 4/17 at 10:25 am


Back to top
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
14725 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


My dogs just lay in the bed of my truck, you'd never know they were even there.





Back to top
34venture
LSU Fan
Buffer Zone
Member since Mar 2010
8636 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


I don't care how well my dog is trained, under no circumstances would I even risk putting her back there not in a box. That is just me though.

Oh and the bed of your "truck" is completed covered, remember.






Back to top
hardhead
LSU Fan
stinky bayou
Member since Jun 2009
4252 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


My beagle used to ride on the toolbox in the back of my truck.


One of the most fun things about having a dog is training it not to jump out of the back of the truck.

Just drive down a dirt road slowly (about 20)and wait. the dog will probably try and jump out. When it does, it will roll a little and never do it again.

The suspense of waiting for the dog to jump out is the best part. "here it goes....wait for it... nope... here she goes... here she goes...



BOOM! yelp yelp

cured






Back to top
NimbleCat
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Jan 2007
5802 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


This bill will not pass in TX for people, especially with all the Hi-Spanics that ride in the back of pick-up trucks. My personal favorite is the Yard Crews that are sitting on their mowers on a trailer...being pulled down the Interstate.

I don't understand why a person ties in their dog or transports them without a crate? A rope is going to break their neck in an accident, and a non-crated dog is going to SuperDog down the road.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
Popcorn
Member since Jun 2012
3297 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


Whenever I've had to transport my dogs they're either in the cab with me or crated in the bed since I have more than 1. When I've only had 1 dog, I attached a bracket to the center of the bed wall that is flush with the cab and tethered the dog to the point that he could stand up and "look out the bed" if he so desired, but that's it. Nothing more. He usually just stood right behind the cab though.





Back to top
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


quote:

Oh and the bed of your "truck" is completed covered, remember.


No shite.

They ain't bustin out the van.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Nodust
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2010
18579 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


So my dog riding surfer style on my tool box is illegal? There will be no more fun in the world anymore.





Back to top
El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


I'm ready for Choirboy to chime in on this.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
TulaneUVA
USA Fan
Member since Jun 2005
20436 posts

re: Dog Crate Bill OB opinion(Updated)


quote:

tethered the dog to the point that he could stand up and "look out the bed" if he so desired, but that's it


I did the same. I made a cable with hooks for easy attachment.

I disagree that there needs to be legislation for this in the same way I don't think we need to legislate seat belts, but this is lower on my priority list of 'shits given'. I'm picking my battles, and this is not one of them.






Back to top


Back to top