'12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball) | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
LSU=Champions
Boxtard Things
Member since Apr 2004
21761 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


Always great work SoS... Shame to see the season end by getting our bubble burst by the NIT. This basketball season was very unorthodox across the landscape of college basketball (widespread parody, NIT autobids, non-power confs getting in over power confs). But I love seeing the improvement in the sport here at LSU which is all I asked for and we got it tenfold.

I'll always be a baseball guy first, but basketball always has that special excitement about it that can strike at any fan of any sport or any school. Already looking forward to next season.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
Pilot Tiger
Georgetown Fan
Washington DC
Member since Nov 2005
63060 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


quote:

We stacked next season






Back to top
  Replies (0)
lsurulesall
LSU Fan
Dallas
Member since Mar 2010
162 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


As a graduating senior who has gone to as many games as I could over the last four years, this team was a sight for sore eyes. My dad always told me about how much fun the PMAC used to be back when he was in school. I could see glimpses of that this year with this team and Coach JJ's exciting, physical style of basketball. LSU Basketball has bright days ahead of it. And I will soon be putting in my order for a set of season tickets. Thank you SOS for the work this season, and above all else





Back to top
fightingtiger2335
Southeastern LA Fan
heh?
Member since Aug 2007
58444 posts
 Online 

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


There isnt a better deal in sports than the $100 season tix.row 1 of 321 behind lsu bench catacorner view of court for $5 a game.





Back to top
rzd30
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Dec 2008
1014 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


Great job all year SOS after Bubba left you kept it going. Only thing I disagree with is J.Martin not starting he will start somewhere hopefully the 3.





Back to top
thunderbird1100
LSU Fan
GSU Eagles fan
Member since Oct 2007
37378 posts
 Online 

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


Here's to next season's best team since he 2009 team





Back to top
fightingtiger2335
Southeastern LA Fan
heh?
Member since Aug 2007
58444 posts
 Online 

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


The aussie cant red shirt. We wont have a token white guy to cheer for





Back to top
Ignignot
LSU Fan
DooDoo Rooneys
Member since Mar 2009
11851 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)




looks like he has a pretty athletic body......if he and JOB are on the court at the same time we will frick peoples world up






Back to top
LSUROCKS52
USA Fan
Rest in Peace
Member since Oct 2003
53 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


quote:

There isnt a better deal in sports than the $100 season tix.row 1 of 321 behind lsu bench catacorner view of court for $5 a game.


there isn't a worse deal than being in row 2 and stuck behind that massive coconut of yours






Back to top
  Replies (0)
ProjectP2294
Penn Fan
St Louis County
Member since May 2007
32117 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


quote:

looks like he has a pretty athletic body


He got an offer from a pro Aussie football team, but wants to focus on basketball. Worst case scenario, he flames out on the court and we have a 7'1" punter.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
SouthOfSouth
LSU Fan
South of I-10 till I die
Member since Jun 2008
34838 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


quote:

Only thing I disagree with is J.Martin not starting he will start somewhere hopefully the 3.


I had Martin at 3 but I changed it. I've watched a lot of film on both and I think Martin is the better player, but he is a 4 or a 5 to me. Mickey is a three to me. I could see Martin starting at four and O'Bryant at five.

I think Martin gets minutes somehow, but I just don't know if it's gonna be at 3 as much. He will be a stud, but both Mickey and Martin are gonna be good here. And Mickey is more of a fit at 3 IMO.






Back to top
Walter White
LSU Fan
Lafayette/New Orleans
Member since Sep 2012
2515 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


Another great write-up. Thanks SoS. Ready for next season already





Back to top
  Replies (0)
oauron
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Sep 2011
9649 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


Thanks for the season wrapup. I RA'd for sticky.





Back to top
LSUGrad9295
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since May 2007
13787 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


The one main thing we have to do next year is root for the other SEC teams to do very well in the pre-conference schedule. I was guilty of not doing this this year. I thought is was humorous that Texas A&M lost to Southern at home, and that Mississippi State racked up losses to Alabama A&M, Troy, Illinois Chicago, and that Alabama lost to Mercer, etc. While funny at the time, what those losses ultimately did was ruin the conference's RPI and put it in the bind that it ended up in where only 6 teams combined got into the post season. The SEC was the 8th best league this year...right there with the Atlantic 10 and the Missouri Valley. Come November, root for your fellow league members to clean up against the non-conference foes.





Back to top
TigerBait2008
LSU Fan
Death Valley
Member since Jun 2008
17030 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


I'll be honest, I hated the Jones hire, but he outdid anything I had in mind, I was very surprised. Can't wait to see this team the next few years..





Back to top
  Replies (0)
mmcgrath
LSU Fan
New Jersey
Member since Feb 2010
6680 posts
 Online 

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


quote:

The one main thing we have to do next year is root for the other SEC teams to do very well in the pre-conference schedule.
I don't think you will have to worry about next year. From what I have seen a lot of SEC teams had strong recruiting classes.






Back to top
tigerbait2010
Michigan Fan
Member since May 2006
13439 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


quote:

I don't think you will have to worry about next year. From what I have seen a lot of SEC teams had strong recruiting classes.



This, and we're not the only team returning most of its starters. UT is getting all five back; Vandy was very young; Kentucky will probably have some key freshmen come back to go along with their ridiculous class; and florida will be great again.

Luckily they're all in the East.






Back to top
LSUGrad9295
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since May 2007
13787 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


quote:

Luckily they're all in the East.


Yeah, but UNluckily, SEC basketball doesn't do divisions anymore

Otherwise, point taken....






Back to top
  Replies (0)
TIGRLEE
LSU Fan
North Louisiana
Member since Nov 2009
22074 posts
 Online 

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


I saw improvemnt thoroughout the year.
I think Johnny has things headed in the right direction.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
WITNESS23
LSU Fan
Courtside
Member since Feb 2010
11602 posts

re: '12-'13 - Year in Review (Basketball)


Great write ups all season SoS







Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top