Posted byMessage
treble hook
Member since Nov 2011
2310 posts

Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


Anyone have any experience with this gun?

I'm thinking about getting a new Beretta but don't really want to drop the money for a A400.



This post was edited on 3/4 at 2:38 pm



Back to top
Share:
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2564 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


Can't help ya with the A300, but I just traded a Browning X-Bolt SS Stalker for a Beretta AL391 Urika and a Browning A-Bolt .270 that the guy had put a "custom" paint job on. I'd been looking for a shotgun for the gf to shoot and duck hunt with. I've never liked a Beretta due to the fact they feel like crap in my hands. Never had one shoulder well and they feel like I am swinging a 2x4. With all that being said we shot skeet Sunday and I could not miss with that stupid Beretta. I still love my SBEII, but I will definitely be taking that Beretta on some hunts when she doesn't go with me. Damn fine gun





Back to top
hawkster
Member since Aug 2010
4931 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


quote:

With all that being said we shot skeet Sunday and I could not miss with that stupid Beretta.


Sounds familiar. I have Vinci that I love to shoot. But I also ended up with a Beretta A400 as well. I don't especially like the looks or feel of the Beretta on my shoulder, but it shoots like a dream and now I have a dilemma on which of the two should be my primary shotgun.






Back to top
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2564 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


Tell me about it. I could taste all the fricking crow I was gonna have to eat every time I busted a skeet with that dang gun. It feels a lil better than a lot of Berettas I have held but still not great by any means. But the stupid thing won't miss





Back to top
nelatf
Louisiana Tech Fan
NELA
Member since Jan 2011
801 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


quote:

New Beretta but don't really want to drop the money for a A400.


Drop the money and get a 400 model. Best decision I have made related to shotguns.

I have used mine during duck season and it performs like a world class gun. Have shot skeet and it is a fine weapon for that.

I can't wait for doves with this thing.






Back to top
treble hook
Member since Nov 2011
2310 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


quote:

Drop the money and get a 400 model.


Not what I wanted to hear

Know anyone with the A300 Outlander? I've read that it uses alot of the components of the A400 (gas system) and some from the A391's.






Back to top
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2564 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


What's the differences tween the two?





Back to top
treble hook
Member since Nov 2011
2310 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


A300 Outlander Review

Looks like the gas system of the A391. Not sure where I heard it was similar to the A400's.

Difference?

That I see... Only shoots 3 inch and about $1000






Back to top
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2564 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


Simple answer to me then. You shoot geese often? If not then I'd go A300 and never look back. Use the cash you save to buy more shells. I don't buy into the 3-1/2" hype except for goose hunting. 3" kills ducks as well as anything and sure is a lot easier on your shoulder. Heck the only 3-1/2's my SBEII has seen was during breaking it in and I've killed plenty of ducks with it





Back to top
treble hook
Member since Nov 2011
2310 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


quote:

You shoot geese often? If not then I'd go A300 and never look back.


That's the kind of response I was looking for

I don't really see the need for 3.5 inch and I was just trying to see if anyone had any negative experiences with the gun being that it just came out.






Back to top
GaryMyMan
USA Fan
Lower Garden District
Member since May 2007
10245 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


Shop around. Dicks has them for $699 but Academy sells it for $649. As far as I can tell, Bass Pro has no interest in carrying the A300.

I was torn between the A300 and a Stoeger O/U. I went with the Stoeger because I don't go duck hunting - only dove and skeet.

And it's not a stripper A400 or AL-391: they took components from each to make the A300. All the reviews I've read/watched have held it in high praise. One thing I didn't like about it was the hard plastic fore stock. The A400 and old Extrema 2 have hard rubber inlays that make it nice to grip, but the A300 is just straight up cheap plastic. Hardly a reason to spend an extra grand, though.



This post was edited on 3/5 at 12:01 pm


Back to top
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2564 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


quote:

That's the kind of response I was looking for

I don't really see the need for 3.5 inch and I was just trying to see if anyone had any negative experiences with the gun being that it just came

Beretta is just like Benelli and Browning. They aren't in the business of putting out junk guns. I know any gun can have issues,but you can bet that any of the "B" companies are gonna give a new model a very thorough going over before releasing it






Back to top
nelatf
Louisiana Tech Fan
NELA
Member since Jan 2011
801 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


If you want 3 inch only get the A400 unico explor light.

You can get that close to 1200 brand new and it is a fine gun.







Back to top
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2564 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


quote:

A400 unico explor light

Nice gun, but I'd never take it hunting in the places I hunt. It'd look like chit after a handful of hunts. I never did understood people buying that nice of a finish on a gun just to put it through the mud and wet of duck hunting






Back to top
treble hook
Member since Nov 2011
2310 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


quote:

You can get that close to 1200 brand new and it is a fine gun.


But I can get the A300 Outlander for about $800. Is it worth it to spend the extra money?






Back to top
hardhead
LSU Fan
stinky bayou
Member since Jun 2009
3855 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


get it.

its an extrema that doesn't shoot 3 1/2 inch shells.

that gun is a workhorse






Back to top
treble hook
Member since Nov 2011
2310 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


quote:

its an extrema that doesn't shoot 3 1/2 inch shells.







Back to top
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2564 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


Sounds like you've found ya a new shotgun my friend





Back to top
nelatf
Louisiana Tech Fan
NELA
Member since Jan 2011
801 posts

re: Beretta A300 Outlander opinions/reviews


quote:

But I can get the A300 Outlander for about $800. Is it worth it to spend the extra money?


To me....yes. Spend the extra cash and have a gun of a lifetime that you will be proud of....the 300 is something that ya throw on a wheeler rack and don't ever worry about...

.....both are nice and if you are going to drag it through a swamp two months out if the year, get the outlander.






Back to top



Back to top