Need opinions on career to go in to.. | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
tigerforever7
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2012
174 posts

Need opinions on career to go in to..



I have always thought about becoming an attorney. A reason I would not want to go into law is because it brings no new business into the local economy. I have always strides to make Baton Rouge a better and more progressive city. Any thoughts on paths I should take? Thanks






Back to top
Share:
CQQ
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Feb 2006
11977 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


quote:

Any thoughts on paths I should take?


Not really

Go be an operator






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Vols&Shaft83
Georgia Tech Fan
Member since Dec 2012
18445 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


Porn Director





Back to top
wegotdatwood
Arkansas Fan
Member since Aug 2009
17094 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


Do porn directors sleep with their pornstars?





Back to top
Vols&Shaft83
Georgia Tech Fan
Member since Dec 2012
18445 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


quote:

Do porn directors sleep with their pornstars?



The really good ones do, I assume.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
jimbeam
USA Fan
University of LSU
Member since Oct 2011
33599 posts
 Online 

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


Mud engineer





Back to top
Vols&Shaft83
Georgia Tech Fan
Member since Dec 2012
18445 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


quote:

Mud engineer









Back to top
jimbeam
USA Fan
University of LSU
Member since Oct 2011
33599 posts
 Online 

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..








Back to top
  Replies (0)
LSUcam
LSU Fan
Destin FL
Member since Dec 2011
381 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


quote:

tigerforever7


What do you like to do? How far into school are you?






Back to top
  Replies (0)
NaturalBeam
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
13120 posts
 Online 

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


What are you other options?





Back to top
Vols&Shaft83
Georgia Tech Fan
Member since Dec 2012
18445 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


quote:

LSUcam


quote:

NaturalBeam


Had to frick this up by being serious, didn't you?






Back to top
rmc
LSU Fan
Zachary, LA
Member since Sep 2004
22608 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


quote:

Any thoughts on paths I should take?


I don't think many practicing attorneys, especially recent grads could tell you to look into law with a straight face.

Someone mentioned being an operator -- not a bad idea. I got a cousin working a turnaround and will have worked a few months doing 7-12's every week. Those are nice paychecks. Without knowing exactly what an operators day is like at a plant, I have to think you don't bring the work home with you like you would as a lawyer.






Back to top
LSUcam
LSU Fan
Destin FL
Member since Dec 2011
381 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


Fun is fun and games are games. But this kid's asking a question in regards to his future, so I'm going to give him the best advice I can, as a fellow LSU fan should.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
NaturalBeam
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
13120 posts
 Online 

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


quote:

I don't think many practicing attorneys, especially recent grads could tell you to look into law with a straight face.
Agreed. It's nice to think you'll go into law school and come out and change the world, but it doesn't work like that for the majority of us - in all likelihood, you'll take whatever job you can get, and be overworked and underpaid for the first several years, all without any sense of making even the slightest bit of difference in the world. But, as in most fields, there is money to be made out there if you can find it.

quote:

I have to think you don't bring the work home with you like you would as a lawyer.
This is also important. You will never really "leave" work again.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
GaryMyMan
USA Fan
Lower Garden District
Member since May 2007
10868 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


quote:

I have always thought about becoming an attorney.

I burst out laughing.
quote:

A reason I would not want to go into law is because it brings no new business into the local economy. I have always strides to make Baton Rouge a better and more progressive city.

Are you rich? Like "never-have-to-work-again" rich? If so, go for it. You're going to pull your hair out though. If you want to make Baton Rouge more progressive, spend all your time replacing the incumbents on the city counsel. And do it every 4 years.

As an attorney, what could you do to make Baton Rouge better? Defend the poor? They don't have any money to pay you. Prosecute? Your hard work will be for naught when a judge gives a bull shite suspended sentence to a violent criminal. In all likelihood you'll be doing personal injury because Sallie Mae doesn't give a shite about changing the world.






Back to top
rmc
LSU Fan
Zachary, LA
Member since Sep 2004
22608 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


quote:

As an attorney, what could you do to make Baton Rouge better? Defend the poor? They don't have any money to pay you. Prosecute? Your hard work will be for naught when a judge gives a bull shite suspended sentence to a violent criminal. In all likelihood you'll be doing personal injury because Sallie Mae doesn't give a shite about changing the world.


That's pretty good and spot on.

Also, for progression of BR you can join one of those social clubs for free (or nominal fee). Forum 35 or whatever types. Lot less than a law degree.

Or, you can just move to the outlying BR areas that are nice and stop trying to change the world.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
b-rab2
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Dec 2005
10034 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


Cab company.. the one in BR now sucks





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Beerinthepocket
LSU Fan
Dallas
Member since May 2011
597 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


Bring an "Uber" franchise to Baton Rouge. It's an iPhone app car service that gets used by everyone I know in Dallas on the regular.





Back to top
wpsnickers
SMU Fan
Member since May 2004
2579 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


Über is the shite. Would totally help reduce drunk driving in br.





Back to top
AutoYes_Clown
Alabama Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Oct 2012
2083 posts

re: Need opinions on career to go in to..


Change this city, start a roadway construction company and bid the contracts.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top