Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
BUCKMSTR7399
Auburn Fan
Tn
Member since Jul 2009
2217 posts

Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?



Thinking about purchasing one of these in a 26" for turkey hunting. Anyone shot/own one? Can buy one NIB, out the door for $1300. Yay or nay?






Back to top
Share:
KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
57134 posts
 Online 

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


Greenhead22....





Back to top
  Replies (0)
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
15014 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


Paging greenhead.

Thats expensive for one.

LINK



This post was edited on 2/16 at 7:29 pm


Back to top
TigerBait413
LSU Fan
CenLA
Member since Sep 2011
2544 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


My uncle has one and he seems to enjoy it.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
BUCKMSTR7399
Auburn Fan
Tn
Member since Jul 2009
2217 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


quote:

JAB528


Closest one to me is 80 miles, but if they have a 26" barrel in stock, it would be well worth the drive for sure. The one I priced was Mossy Oak camo, but it damn sure isn't worth $400 for a little camo on it. Thanks.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Choirboy
On your property
Member since Aug 2010
10709 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


Your avi is a buckmark and you are here asking about a jamington? OK, I got it.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
LouisianaChessie
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since May 2010
2362 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


I've heard good things about them from the people that have shot and used them but I'm a little skeptical. I guess for turkeys it doesn't matter all that much.





Back to top
BUCKMSTR7399
Auburn Fan
Tn
Member since Jul 2009
2217 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


quote:

I guess for turkeys it doesn't matter all that much.


This is why I'm torn. I travel to several states every year and turkey hunt, but my old 870 has killed a world of turkeys just as dead as any $1000 or $1500 would. It's more of a want, than a need, therefore I want the best "bang,bang,bang" for my buck.






Back to top
LouisianaChessie
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since May 2010
2362 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


I have a maxus and for soft recoil you can't beat em IMHO. I've also got a BPS 10 gauge that will probably look at a turkey this year.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
lv2bowhntAU
Auburn Fan
God's Country,a.k.a N. Alabama
Member since Jan 2011
2617 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


I went and shot a benefit skeet shoot today. One of the guys in my group had a versamax. By the fifth station his gun refused to eat the trap loads. He finished the day shooting my SBEII. For what its worth he has sent it back to Remington once already. Today was his first round of clays since having it back. I'm a huge fan of 1100's and the older Wingmasters,but Remington has steadily went to shite in the shotgun department


ETA: I did shoot it twice and it had very little recoil at all,but felt like I was swinging a board



This post was edited on 2/16 at 9:04 pm


Back to top
oleyeller
Tennessee Fan
Down South
Member since Oct 2012
10571 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


Have versamax and super vinci.... Vinci gets the knod





Back to top
BUCKMSTR7399
Auburn Fan
Tn
Member since Jul 2009
2217 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


Thanks guys, I have read similar stories on the Versa Max not ejecting properly. I'm thinking I may go SBE2 or Beretta A400, hell, I may just continue to shoot my old 870. I'll let the OB know if or when I purchase one.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
57134 posts
 Online 

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


I'd rather shoot an 870





Back to top
GREENHEAD22
LSU Fan
LafayettebywayofBush
Member since Nov 2009
8620 posts
 Online 

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


Get it, will be my next purchase when my current Rem gets retired.





Back to top
KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
57134 posts
 Online 

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


Slingshot with sand is better





Back to top
JAB528
LSU Fan
The Mexican Ocean
Member since Jun 2012
15014 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?








Back to top
  Replies (0)
Choirboy
On your property
Member since Aug 2010
10709 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


A thread full of negatives as well as the overall internet then here comes greenhead.





Back to top
KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
57134 posts
 Online 

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


He suck starts a versamax





Back to top
GREENHEAD22
LSU Fan
LafayettebywayofBush
Member since Nov 2009
8620 posts
 Online 

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


I will stick with what I have seen first hand over some here say BS on the internet.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Choirboy
On your property
Member since Aug 2010
10709 posts

re: Any opinions on the Remington Versa Max?


I was in the blind with a versamax one time this year. The owner stated he couldn't get the buttstock to completely tighten up after several attempts. Then later in the morning as he was shooting the action charging handle came flying out and fell in the water.





Back to top


Back to top