What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist? | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
lsutiger2011
LSU Fan
Georgia
Member since Jan 2009
697 posts

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


Just watched this movie about a week ago. It was a great movie. I plan on watching again.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
38583 posts

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


You're better off not having watched Armageddon. shite movie

I'm gonna rent Illusionist. It was a very well-done movie






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Carson123987
LSU Fan
Middle Court at the Rec
Member since Jul 2011
38583 posts

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


quote:

:lol

Not even close


Must be pretty close considering several in this thread preferred Illusionist and the 2 are separated by only 2 percentage points on RottenTomatoes






Back to top
smash williams
LSU Fan
San Diego via Marksville
Member since Apr 2009
6899 posts

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


I also thought the score by Philip Glass was amazing. The music enhances almost every significant scene.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
davesdawgs
Georgia Fan
Georgia - Class of '75
Member since Oct 2008
17770 posts

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


quote:

I really enjoyed this movie, perhaps even more than The Prestige.


Likewise. One of our family's favorite re-watchable movies.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
TulaneTigerFan
Tulane Fan
Seattle
Member since Sep 2005
35856 posts

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


The Illusionist is a contrived love story with a predictable twist and inferior writing. Seems like mainly chicks and uneducated movie viewers would prefer it





Back to top
  Replies (0)
19
LSU Fan
Katy, Tx
Member since Nov 2007
2957 posts

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


Whichever one had Tesla in it, I liked the other one better, but they are both well recommendable.

I need to watch both over again, only seen each once. Good call mentioning this, OP.






Back to top
CollegeFBRules
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2008
19697 posts

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


quote:

Whichever one had Tesla in it, I liked the other one better, but they are both well recommendable.


Tesla was in The Prestige.






Back to top
Tiger n Miami AU83
Auburn Fan
Miami
Member since Oct 2007
35782 posts

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


Like the Illusionist. Preferred it to The Prestige.

Spoiler (Prestige)....

















The way the guy performed the trick in the Prestige was easy to figure out. After seeing the other guy a few times, I figured out pretty quickly it was a twin brother situation. Because I thought the Prestige was grounded in reality (hence it HAD to be a twin brother) I didn't like the cloning machine angle. Either the movie is grounded in reality where you don't have to suspend belief or it isn't. I like sci-fy so I wouldn't mind the Tesla angle and cloning machine. But one guy is playing by the rules of reality and the other is operating in fantasyland. That part I didn't like, kinda a double standard where one illusion is real (and pretty easily figured out early on) and I kept thinking the other was going to be grounded in reality as well.

Still like the Prestige. Just had an issue with what I just laid out.




This post was edited on 2/17 at 6:52 pm


Back to top
THRILLHO
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans, LA
Member since Apr 2006
35397 posts
 Online 

re: What is this boards opinion on The Illusionist?


quote:

Like the Illusionist. Preferred it to The Prestige.



Says all you need to know about which is the better film. The Illusionist was a solid way to spend an hour and a half. I enjoyed it and forgot about it within a few weeks. The Prestige is a top 5 film of the 2000's.

quote:

I figured out pretty quickly it was a twin brother situation.





quote:

the Prestige was grounded in reality (hence it HAD to be a twin brother) I didn't like the cloning machine angle.


"It was grounded in reality except for the ~1890's electric cloning machine."






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top