OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk? | Page 2 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
NameWithheld
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Feb 2011
2043 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


quote:

He shouldn't have entered the intersection, but you still have to yield, obviously. You always have to yield to pedestrians, even if they are jaywalking.


Obviously... I went around him at that point, although I did so with attitude, but had I not had time to stop when I started turning and he stepped into the intersection it would not have been good for either of us!






Back to top
NameWithheld
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Feb 2011
2043 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


quote:

If you jay walk, and the driver is obeying all traffic laws, any collision should be the fault of the pedestrian.


That was kind of my point, because as I mentioned, I had already started to turn when he stepped into the intersection.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LC412000
LSU Fan
Any location where a plane flies
Member since Mar 2004
7049 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


You are in the wrong for not running over his arse and again wrong for not rolling back over him





Back to top
Geaux-2-L-O-Miss
LSU Fan
Between Your Ears
Member since Aug 2005
1962 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


Car wins every time but you might get sued and lose in the long run.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
shutterspeed
LSU Fan
My new Texas adventure
Member since May 2007
35353 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


Looks like you did the ol' "speed up and almost hit the car that darted in front of you to teach him/her a lesson." Only, this time it was aimed at a defenseless pedestrian. And you almost killed him.





Back to top
NameWithheld
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Feb 2011
2043 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


quote:

Looks like you did the ol' "speed up and almost hit the car that darted in front of you to teach him/her a lesson." Only, this time it was aimed at a defenseless pedestrian. And you almost killed him.


What did I say that gave you that impression? Not it at all... As I mentioned, he walked into the intersection after I had begun my turn.






Back to top
shutterspeed
LSU Fan
My new Texas adventure
Member since May 2007
35353 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


I dunno. Just wanted to use that reference mainly.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Fat and Happy
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2013
3011 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


You were in the right. He has the right away when he has the light to walk across. It's just like bicycles also. He can't restrict the flow of traffic especially when you have the green light. If you had the green he also would have had a do not walk signal for him





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Zed
Alabama Fan
Member since Feb 2010
8008 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


quote:

OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?
Get out of my way.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
foshizzle
LSU Fan
Washington DC metro
Member since Mar 2008
30517 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


quote:

Curious as to what the members of the OT think...


Legally the pedestrian was wrong but both of you could have done better here. Right of way doesn't keep you out of the hospital.

A buddy of mine was in a similar situation to yours in Arlington (Virginia, not Texas) and ran over a pedestrian who stepped in front like that.
He was very fortunate that a cop happened to be right behind him watching the whole thing. Not only did the pedestrian spend time in the hospital, but also got the ticket. True story.

The ped should have made sure you saw him before stepping into the street, no matter what the sign showed. If you are about to cross a street (on foot, on a bike, whatever) always make sure drivers see you, especially when you are doing so in front of a car driven by someone looking in the other direction.

Similarly, if you are that driver look to the right before you make that turn instead of after you start moving. If you are not fully aware of your surroundings you are dangerous to others (and potentially yourself) no matter who has the right of way. Sure, you have to check to the left to make sure it's clear - but check to the right also next time.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Ba Ba Boooey
LSU Fan
NOLA
Member since May 2010
2911 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


I drive thru them on Poydras once the light is green and they no longer have the right away. F 'em





Back to top
RealityTiger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Jan 2010
11374 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


Pedestrians in New Orleans very rarely pay attention to the walk sign anyway. They just cross when there's no cars coming.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Siderophore
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2010
3335 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


Your problem is that you seem to think that the warning counter is the same as "Don't Walk"

You stated repeatedly that he didn't have a walk signal when in fact, he did.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
Powerman
LSU Fan
Corpus Christi, TX
Member since Jan 2004
120865 posts
 Online 

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


quote:


If you jay walk, and the driver is obeying all traffic laws, any collision should be the fault of the pedestrian.

If you do dumb shite and get yourself killed, your estate should pay to have the drivers car detailed.


I agree with this






Back to top
  Replies (0)
guedeaux
LSU Fan
Houston
Member since Jan 2008
10812 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


quote:

pedestrians shouldn't be entering the intersection after the walk signal is no longer lit up.


this is true, but you have to yield to pedestrians on a right turn unless they have a solid "Don't Walk" and you have a green light.

You were the dick, bro






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Jim Rockford
LSU Fan
Member since May 2011
36707 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


HTIOOC





Back to top
  Replies (0)
GregMaddux
LSU Fan
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Jun 2011
12965 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


quote:

NameWithheld



I can't even fathom how you could possibly think you were not in the wrong.






Back to top
nobodytooimportant
Member since Oct 2012
657 posts

re: OT opinions on pedestrians versus cars when the signal is NOT on walk?


It doesn't even matter what kind of signal the pedestrian has because if you are turning right on red, in order for you to legally be able to do that you must make sure that the way is clear.

Further, while the pedestrian may have been able to be ticketed for entering the crosswalk with a flashing don't walk sign, pedestrians still have the right of way IN the crosswalk as the don't walk sign was not fully lit.






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top