Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
CoachCJ40
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Mar 2006
131 posts

Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


As I have mentioned on previous occasions, I have been an LSU Basketball fan since the mid-1980’s. I have seen the glory days and those games that one could only shake their head in disgust. The Trent Johnson era was marred with head-shaking games. Many fans voiced their disapproval of my criticism of Trent Johnson’s job performance. Now, we are in the Johnny Jones era. The Tigers are 0-2 in SEC play, and many are anticipating my harsh criticism of these Tigers. These many people are quite wrong. When comparing these two coaches and their respective teams, it is comparing apples to oranges. The Trent Johnson-coached Tigers never saw any enthusiasm from their coach. Their offensive schemes were more of a one-on-one offensive street play. Defensively, they were flat-footed, slow, and unresponsive to dribble penetration. It was a total embarrassment to watch, in person or on TV.
Now, the Johnny Jones era is a tale of a different team. This coach, who knows the history of the program as he has been a part of the program’s history unlike Johnson, is working hard to restore the pride and passion of LSU Basketball. He has a clear goal of team and program success and wants to bring back the “Deaf Dome” to the Maravich Center. These Tigers are feisty defensively, with a press that caused much confusion to the #11 Florida Gators in the second half of Saturday’s game. Many people believe that a press is unsuccessful if it doesn’t result in a turnover. This is simply not true. If a press disrupts the offensive flow of an opponent, then it has been successful. A turnover is just some extra. While their press did result in some Gator layups due to break downs, it was better defense than has been seen in the previous years with Trent Johnson. Offensively, they are running plays with screen, cuts, and dribble penetration to the glass.
I am fully supportive of Johnny Jones and the job he and his staff are doing. The golden years are coming back. The Deaf Dome is coming back! Finally, we have a coach that loves LSU and is dedicated to its long-term success. Thumbs up, Coach Jones! Thumbs up!








Back to top
Share:
graychef
George Mason Fan
Broussard
Member since Jun 2008
17060 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


quote:

The Tigers are 0-2 in SEC play, and many are anticipating my harsh criticism of these Tigers.

Lol



Really, lol.






Back to top
Harry Caray
USA Fan
Astros 2016 AL West Champs
Member since Aug 2009
13528 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present




they'll be hella fun to watch next season, and won't be too bad this season, either.






Back to top
CoachCJ40
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Mar 2006
131 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


quote:

Really, lol.


Did you really read the entire post, gaychef? Really? lol







Back to top
  Replies (0)
CoachCJ40
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Mar 2006
131 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


Mr. Carey, I totally agree! I love watching these guys. Jones actually coaches from the sidelines and doesn't sit on his butt like Johnson. These Tigers are going to continue to get better.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
3xlsugrad
North Carolina Fan
Member since Feb 2012
11037 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


I am also a fan of Johnny Jones as HC and think he will do good things at LSU. However when were the "golden years"? Pete Maravich's years? Rudy Macklin's tenure? The under achieving Chris Jackson, Stanley Roberts and Slackille O'Neal teams?





Back to top
CoachCJ40
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Mar 2006
131 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


The Rudy Macklin era. The Ricky Blanton / Vernel Singleton / Wayne Sims era. And yes, even the Chris Jackson years had high levels of success except in tournament play. I think we all, as Tiger fans, want to see the high level of play that these eras provided.





Back to top
graychef
George Mason Fan
Broussard
Member since Jun 2008
17060 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


Yeah I read it. I don't think there were that many people waiting in your assessment.





Back to top
CoachCJ40
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Mar 2006
131 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


Graychef, what is your assessment of LSU Basketball, recent past and present? Johnson vs. Jones?





Back to top
  Replies (0)
tgr4ever
LSU Fan
Atlanta
Member since Jul 2011
10678 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


quote:

Pete Maravich's years?
We never made the tourney with Pistol...






Back to top
Tiger Ugly
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2008
4181 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


quote:

When comparing these two coaches and their respective teams, it is comparing apples to oranges.


I agree with that. Trent was a bad fit, clueless on how to recruite here and was at best an average bench coach. Johnny is an upgrade from Trent. I would imagine we could have hired any number of coaches who would have been for here, nonethelless CJJ is.

quote:

I am fully supportive of Johnny Jones


As am I. I was not in support of his hire, but when the deed was done, I got behind him and my team. I've been to all home games but one. I've been to several tip-off club functions, I've been to a practice and I went to T.J. Ribs for the first coaches show and welcomed him here and shot the shite with him.

quote:

Offensively, they are running plays with screen, cuts, and dribble penetration to the glass.
You're seeing a bit more sunshine and rainbows in our offensive sets than I am. When the competition has stepped up, the offensive has not. But he does take advantage of his biggest asset, Hickey...and tries at every opportunity for early offense tries to get him in the open court to do what he does best.

quote:

The golden years are coming back. The Deaf Dome is coming back!


Nobody wants to see that more than me.....nobody.
I've been going regularly to LSU games since 1973 and when I mean regularly, I mean through it all....Dale's last four terrible years, Brady's roller-coaster ride and Trent's strange visit.

And it's all this that tells me - forgive me if having lived through all that I wait till we actually accomplish something of consitent substance on the court before I pop the champagne. It will take more than an up tempo offense and one good recruiting class. Brady won tied for the SEC title and went to the Sweet 16 in his third year.

Not a knock on what CJJ has done to his point, just the sober reality of experience. The honeymoon is always nice but let's see what happens when the clothes come back on and real life starts.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
3xlsugrad
North Carolina Fan
Member since Feb 2012
11037 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


quote:

We never made the tourney with Pistol...
I realize this, yet Pete made LSU basketball exciting and brought attention to the program at a largely football school.

My question was really trying to sort out which era could be referred to as the "golden era". I have been an LSU BB fan for many years yet never considered the program to have such an era. IMO referring to any era of LSU Basketball as the "golden years" is tantamount to calling any period of Vanderbilt football as "golden years". I am hopeful that Johnny Jones can restore a winning program and establish a long period of Final Four competitive teams to establish a "golden era" at LSU.






Back to top
Tiger Ugly
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2008
4181 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


quote:

IMO referring to any era of LSU Basketball as the "golden years" is tantamount to calling any period of Vanderbilt football as "golden years".


I was with you to some extent up to this statement. LSU has made four final fours in basketball. Do you how many SEC teams have never made one final four?

From 1979-1993 LSU made the NCAA tournament 13 times make 2 Final Fours and 4 Elite 8's. And over the entirety of that period it wasn't as easy to make as it is now.

Now, yes in the 15 post-season appearances (two NIT's included) We lose in the first or second round 10 times....so no, we were never Kentucky, Duke, Kansas, UNC, Mich. St., UCONN or Indiana.

But that's a whoooooole hell of alot better than anything Vandy's ever did in one year of football much less 15.

quote:

I am hopeful that Johnny Jones can restore a winning program and establish a long period of Final Four competitive teams to establish a "golden era" at LSU.


Me too, let's just not credit him for it before he does it.



This post was edited on 1/13 at 5:56 pm


Back to top
Britgirl
LSU Fan
Ascension
Member since Jan 2013
719 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


All I know is that Trent would've been able to do NOTHING with this current group of kids at all. Nothing. He simply wouldn't have been able to coach them.
He knew he had little to work with.That's why he left.
We ended up with very little in terms of player talent/size.

Johnny Jones has inherited this sub par team, and is already doing more with them than I expected. JOB hung his head on the bench through most of last season. He smiles, holds his head up and looks you in the eye now. And what JJ and his staff have done with Andrew is truly amazing.
The kids are hustling and working hard for Johnny. The whole atmosphere around the team is more upbeat.
Give him credit for that, right now.

A change in philosophy and attitude that reaches out to us fans and invites us to take part in a metamorphosis of LSU basketball that may take 5 years or more.

Real fans will be in it for the long haul.







Back to top
  Replies (0)
Open Your Eyes
Member since Nov 2012
642 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


quote:

These Tigers are feisty defensively, with a press that caused much confusion to the #11 Florida Gators in the second half of Saturday’s game. Many people believe that a press is unsuccessful if it doesn’t result in a turnover. This is simply not true. If a press disrupts the offensive flow of an opponent, then it has been successful. A turnover is just some extra. While their press did result in some Gator layups due to break downs, it was better defense than has been seen in the previous years with Trent Johnson. Offensively, they are running plays with screen, cuts, and dribble penetration to the glass.


What exactly are people watching when they make claims like this? Jones allows, or rather encourages, the team to run on offense at any opportunity, and the press has been effective just about every time it has been implemented. Those two things are different from last year and obvious improvements.

But half court sets on both ends of the court are terrible. What screens, cuts, and dribble penetration? The half court offense still looks mostly like last year; teams packing the lane leading to lots of dribbling and passing around the perimeter, then jack up a 3. When the 3's are falling of course it looks great, and it does help to stretch out the defense. But when they're not falling, as has generally been the case in the games we've lost, the only consistent offense that gets generated comes in transition.

The half court defense is terrible, definitely worse than last year. A lot of that has to do with having no depth in the post when O'Bryant gets in foul trouble, but it is what it is. As bad and frustrating as the teams were the last few years, one thing that could never be questioned was their team defense. That is undoubtedly worse this year.

Lets give Jones credit for what he's done well so far: doing a great job both recruiting and building excitement around the program. Maybe as as the talent on the team improves in the next few years he offensive and defensive sets will as well. But right now they are nothing to be excited about or give him credit for improving.






Back to top
LSUsCRYSTALball
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2012
1702 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


coach JJ





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tom Bronco
LSU Fan
Austin, TX
Member since Jun 2011
1015 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


We didn't have to make the tourney with Pete. I look at basketball as entertainment. Sure I like to win but if we play well I can still enjoy it. The only thing I can't enjoy is the blowouts where we play awful.

Basketball has never been more entertaining then when Pete was out there. When was the last time you have heard terms like magic, showtime and amazing spoken in reference to a basketball game or player?






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tigerfan19
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2004
1153 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


I agree this is the worse defensive team we've had in years when the competition gets tougher. The offense in the half court is a mess when Hickey isn't in the game. The two/three zone Saturday put us in a drought we couldn't escape. That being said, I think JJ has this program in the right direction and with more depth and talent the whole scheme will look different. I believe we will be a pressing up tempo team the entire game which will hide some of his short comings as an offense set coach. Which is fine, play to your stengths I know it was exciting last week when we pressed, more exciting in a while at the Deaf Dome. He has my support, Geaux Tigers





Back to top
danfraz
LSU Fan
San Antonio TX
Member since Apr 2008
16840 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


I watched the UF game and of course was disappointed in the results



but for some reason I couldn't get past my belief that if TJ was coaching for that game LSU would have lost by 40








Back to top
  Replies (0)
LockdownDefense
Member since Aug 2008
4441 posts

re: Tiger Basketball Review - Recent Past vs. Present


The Golden Years for me were from Don Reddon's time until Action Jackson/Shaq/Vernel/Maurice

Those epic battles between LSU and Duke/UNLV/Loyola Marymount were some of the most exciting games ive ever watched in any sport.

College basketball was a lot easier to watch back then. Teams regularly sniffed 100 points, sometimes breaking 100 points in a game.






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top