Becker CPA Review | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
BilJ
LSU Fan
Shady's
Member since Sep 2003
118255 posts

Becker CPA Review



If you purchased Becker, what type of course did you select? Live? Online? Self study?

pros and cons of the method you chose?

thanks







Back to top
Share:
Broke
LSU Fan
AKA Buttercup
Member since Sep 2006
57287 posts
 Online 

re: Becker CPA Review


Are you and Bnap gonna open up practice together?





Back to top
  Replies (0)
jclem11
TCU Fan
Houston, Texas
Member since Nov 2011
2952 posts
 Online 

re: Becker CPA Review


I used Online and self study. I didn't really follow the online course, just used it when I had downtime at work since I had it downloaded on my personal computer.

I use the flashcards as well. I never really used flash cards in college but the flash cards are good for quick review and they cover all the important info.

I've passed FAR and BEC. Taking AUD on January 6th.






Back to top
Poodlebrain
LSU Fan
Way Right of Rex
Member since Jan 2004
15773 posts
 Online 

re: Becker CPA Review


The accounting curriculoum at LSU is designed to prepare students of the CPA exam. Rather than paying Becker to help you prepare why not put your LSU education to use? The AICPA tells you what will be the focus of the exam every year if you bother to look. Study those areas before you sit for the exam, and you should be good to go. FYI LINK





Back to top
jclem11
TCU Fan
Houston, Texas
Member since Nov 2011
2952 posts
 Online 

re: Becker CPA Review


I work at a Big 4. They pay for Becker. Why not take it if it's free?





Back to top
  Replies (0)
BilJ
LSU Fan
Shady's
Member since Sep 2003
118255 posts

re: Becker CPA Review


yeah I'm getting my becker paid for so I'm not really too concerned with cutting the costs





Back to top
  Replies (0)
mcgriff
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2012
216 posts

re: Becker CPA Review


Yeah, best of luck to anyone trying to pass without a review course.

I'd like to see the passing rates for those who take review courses vs. those who take it using solely books/education from a university.

These courses are specifically designed to get you into a rhythm of answering the questions that are on the exam. It's wise IMO to make the investment in a course and take advantage of it. If your employer pays for it, even better.

FWIW I did self study Becker and passed all 4 with no problem, and in my experience with co-workers, this is the norm. Invest the time and effort into study questions and you can pass.



This post was edited on 12/27 at 11:35 pm


Back to top
mcgriff
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2012
216 posts

re: Becker CPA Review


quote:

I've passed FAR and BEC. Taking AUD on January 6th.
Best of luck. AUD was toughest for me.

I didn't use flash cards or online, just the self study CDs. It was hard at times to make myself study but once you pass, you are set.






Back to top
jclem11
TCU Fan
Houston, Texas
Member since Nov 2011
2952 posts
 Online 

re: Becker CPA Review


Thanks dude. I'm doing better on the review questions my second round through. My biggest problem is I work too quick and don't read the whole question. That will be my biggest problem.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Drive4show
Ole Miss Fan
University, MS
Member since Aug 2009
324 posts

re: Becker CPA Review


I don't see the live course being helpful unless you have the time to take the exams in line with the course. Ole Miss offers this as a 3 hour course but it seemed like most took the tests at their own pace. The live course basically showed me what to underline which is also done in the self study.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
DumpsterFire
Arkansas Fan
Member since Sep 2012
1042 posts

re: Becker CPA Review


quote:

I'd like to see the passing rates for those who take review courses vs. those who take it using solely books/education from a university.


I think the passing rate for Becker students is 2X more than it is for students who don't take a review course. I could be wrong though.

I'll prolly do the self study Becker this spring/summer. I have enough trouble paying attention in class, so I don't think I could pay attention to somebody lecturing me on CPA problems.






Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top