Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980 | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
Hugo Stiglitz
USA Fan
Bitch, I'm From Louisiana
Member since Oct 2010
57233 posts

Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

Most Americans in 2010 paid far less in total taxes — federal, state and local — than they would have paid 30 years ago. According to an analysis by The New York Times, the combination of all income taxes, sales taxes and property taxes took a smaller share of their income than it took from households with the same inflation-adjusted income in 1980.

Households earning more than $200,000 benefited from the largest percentage declines in total taxation as a share of income. Middle-income households benefited, too. More than 85 percent of households with earnings above $25,000 paid less in total taxes than comparable households in 1980.

Lower-income households, however, saved little or nothing. Many pay no federal income taxes, but they do pay a range of other levies, like federal payroll taxes, state sales taxes and local property taxes. Only about half of taxpaying households with incomes below $25,000 paid less in 2010.

The uneven decline is a result of two trends. Congress cut federal taxation at every income level over the last 30 years. State and local taxes, meanwhile, increased for most Americans. Those taxes generally take a larger share of income from those who make less, so the increases offset more and more of the federal savings at lower levels of income.

In a half-dozen states, including Connecticut, Florida and New Jersey, the increases were large enough to offset the federal savings for most households, not just the poorer ones.

Now an era of tax cuts may be reaching its end. The federal government depends increasingly on borrowed money to pay its bills, and many state and local governments are similarly confronting the reality that they are spending more money than they collect. In Washington, debates about tax cuts have yielded to debates about who should pay more.


LINK







Back to top
Share:
Lsupimp
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2003
30178 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


All taxes remain scandalously low.
As The State begins new projects like addressing the medical costs of our cross-border population and universal child care and expanding means-tested Housing to The Working Class, it will be imperative that The Business Class quits hoarding all The People's Money.
The needs of The People WILL be met.
We are asking nicely now.
Forward !






Back to top
  Replies (0)
ironsides
LSU Fan
Nashville, TN
Member since May 2006
6046 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


Maybe we should go back to Carter's economic policies! HOORAY!!!!!!

I wouldn't read the NY Times - they are basically state propaganda at this point.






Back to top
constant cough
LSU Fan
Lafayette
Member since Jun 2007
36552 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


Things have never been this good!


Forward!








Back to top
  Replies (0)
lsu13lsu
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2008
1923 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


I wonder why all the other taxes, fees, etc. were left off especially but not limited to Corporate taxes that are passed on to consumers.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
NC_Tigah
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2003
51674 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

Households earning more than $200,000 benefited from the largest percentage declines in total taxation as a share of income. Middle-income households benefited, too. More than 85 percent of households with earnings above $25,000 paid less in total taxes than comparable households in 1980.
No



ETA data thru 2010



High Income Households Paying a Larger Share of Income Taxes








This post was edited on 11/30 at 12:19 pm


Back to top
DEANintheYAY
USA Fan
LEFT COAST
Member since Jan 2008
30985 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


The article is talking about TOTAL taxes not just income.





Back to top
LSU Patrick
LSU Fan
Kansas
Member since Jan 2009
11608 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

Most Americans in 2010 paid far less in total taxes — federal, state and local — than they would have paid 30 years ago.


So, there are more people paying no taxes. Well, that's terrific! Now, can we make this the same for all "free" citizens of this country, not just the parasitic hord the left has created in order to retain its power?






Back to top
  Replies (0)
NC_Tigah
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2003
51674 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

The article is talking about TOTAL taxes not just income.
Pardon me for doubting that the state and local 1980-2012 differential would make up a 5% difference in the 40% vs the top 40%, or the top 1%.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
BigBoyTiger
LSU Fan
Chicago
Member since Aug 2005
8751 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


I agree with you. The rates are much lower. But check this out...the receipts are near all time highs.

The country has a SPENDING PROBLEM, not an income problem. Before the Bush tax cuts were implemented in 2002, tax receipts were $1.853 trillion.

Tax receipts
2005 - $2.153 trillion
2006 - $2.407 trillion
2007 - $2.568 trillion
2008 - $2.524 trillion
2009 - $2.105 trillion
2010 - $2.162 trillion
2011 - $2.304 trillion
2012 (est) - $2,469 trillion






Back to top
DEANintheYAY
USA Fan
LEFT COAST
Member since Jan 2008
30985 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


As I said in the other thread.

That would be fine if the population was the same as it was in 2005 and if the age breakdown of the population was similar to 2005.








Back to top
BigBoyTiger
LSU Fan
Chicago
Member since Aug 2005
8751 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


Those aren't that dramatic of changes, to be honest. You can't tell me that's a dramatic change.

The country has a SPENDING problem. Not an INCOME problem.






Back to top
mmcgrath
LSU Fan
New Jersey
Member since Feb 2010
4667 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

I agree with you. The rates are much lower. But check this out...the receipts are near all time highs.


That's because the comparisons in the study were done with inflation adjusted numbers. The $75K salary back then might be $110K today (just an example, not actual numbers).

The point of the article is that nearly everyone is paying less in federal taxes. Its just that services have been cut or the costs have been pushed down to the state and municipalities.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
DEANintheYAY
USA Fan
LEFT COAST
Member since Jan 2008
30985 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

Those aren't that dramatic of changes, to be honest. You can't tell me that's a dramatic change.



I would say that is a dramatic change in the population 65+ and that is where a ton of our cost is coming from. The boomers are trying to kill America.






Back to top
Duke
USA Fan
Gonzales, La
Member since Jan 2008
18939 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

I would say that is a dramatic change in the population 65+ and that is where a ton of our cost is coming from.


What if we start taking in more Mexicans? More younger people to absorb the shock of the aging boomers.






Back to top
DEANintheYAY
USA Fan
LEFT COAST
Member since Jan 2008
30985 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

What if we start taking in more Mexicans? More younger people to absorb the shock of the aging boomers.



I think the deferred action kids will be productive members of society and contribute to the country's well being. Americans are just too lazy now a days and that cuts across racial/ethnic groups.






Back to top
Duke
USA Fan
Gonzales, La
Member since Jan 2008
18939 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

I think the deferred action kids will be productive members of society and contribute to the country's well being.


The majority of them would be. You still have the problem of them being poor, but they want to climb the ladder like anyone else. SS/Medicare aren't going anywhere, and we have to pay for it somehow.

This is a revenue problem, but the problem isn't taxes. Unleash the innovation monster that is the rise of computing and the internet.









Back to top
  Replies (0)
lsu13lsu
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2008
1923 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

The article is talking about TOTAL taxes not just income.


No it isn't. Do you even know every dollar paid to all the governments?






Back to top
DEANintheYAY
USA Fan
LEFT COAST
Member since Jan 2008
30985 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


quote:

The article is talking about TOTAL taxes not just income.


No it isn't. Do you even know every dollar paid to all the governments?



quote:

But in fact, most Americans in 2010 paid far less in total taxes — federal, state and local — than they would have paid 30 years ago. According to an analysis by The New York Times, the combination of all income taxes, sales taxes and property taxes took a smaller share of their income than it took from households with the same inflation-adjusted income in 1980.






Back to top
lsu13lsu
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2008
1923 posts

re: Complaints Aside, Most Americans Face Lower Tax Burden Than in 1980


Corporate taxes passed on to individuals. You are missing that one. Licenses, registrations, fines, fees, inspection stickers, tolls, airtravel taxes etc. So many payments go to the government.





Back to top


Back to top