Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
AJF
New Orleans Saints Fan
The gate is narrow.
Member since Jul 2008
75594 posts
 Online 

Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


CGM - 97/100
GameTrailers - 8.6/10
Gamespy - 4.5/5
Ditital Spy - 4/5
Vandal - 9/10
EGM - 10/10
EDGE - 8/10
Hardcore Gamer - 4/5
OPM - 9/10
GamereactorUK - 9/10
GameInformer - 9/10
Eurogamer - 10/10
GodisaGeek - 9/10
1UP - B-/A+
Gamesradar - 4.5/5
VideoGamer.com - 9/10
IBTimes - 7/10
Strategy Informer - 9/10
IGN - 9/10

ETA: Release date is December 4th. This is telling that a game that lets reviews go weeks before it actually hits shelves will be pretty damn solid.



This post was edited on 11/21 at 12:50 pm



Back to top
Share:
stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
113909 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


I hope this game is fun. It looks amazing and Far Cry 2 had so much potential. If the developers learned from the mistakes on it then I think 3 will be fun. I have been looking forward to this game more than any other this quarter.





Back to top
AJF
New Orleans Saints Fan
The gate is narrow.
Member since Jul 2008
75594 posts
 Online 

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


Yeah, I think I'm going to let this game be my Assassin's Creed III.





Back to top
sbr2
Member since Apr 2011
11497 posts
 Online 

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


I totally agree about Far Cry 2. If they fix the mistakes that plagued that game, then this will live up to the reviews IMO.





Back to top
stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
113909 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


My only question is should I get it on PC or Xbox? I am leaning PC. Depends on how cheap I find it for each I guess.





Back to top
LSU Coyote
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
12621 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


I could be wrong but I remember this selling for $29.99 on a Steam or Amazon Black Friday week sale.





Back to top
sbr2
Member since Apr 2011
11497 posts
 Online 

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


Far Cry/ Crysis are two games that should be played on PC if possible, they do an awesome job with the game engine. I don't imagine I'll get too deep into the multiplayer (main reason I'd use a console) so PC all the way.





Back to top
stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
113909 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


quote:

I could be wrong but I remember this selling for $29.99 on a Steam or Amazon Black Friday week sale.




I need to check and see. I haven't been paying attention to it. Just figured I could probably get it for $30 like I did Borderlands 2. Green Man Gaming usually has great deals on new releases.






Back to top
BottomlandBrew
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Aug 2010
10968 posts
 Online 

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


Far Cry 2 received pretty high scores from professional reviewers. Just sayin'. I hope 3 is a lot better.





Back to top
LSU Coyote
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
12621 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


quote:

Far Cry/ Crysis are two games that should be played on PC if possible, they do an awesome job with the game engine. I don't imagine I'll get too deep into the multiplayer (main reason I'd use a console) so PC all the way.

Agreed. mods mods modsssssss

TBH, I would love turning my HTPC into a full gaming rig. I play most of the games that aren't FPS/RPG with a controller already.






Back to top
AJF
New Orleans Saints Fan
The gate is narrow.
Member since Jul 2008
75594 posts
 Online 

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


That's true, but it looks like they are putting comparisons to FC2 in most reviews.





Back to top
LSU Coyote
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2007
12621 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


quote:

Far Cry 2 received pretty high scores from professional reviewers. Just sayin'. I hope 3 is a lot better.

I just thought it was terrible.

The time it took to travel and the more than normal repetitive nature.






Back to top
stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
113909 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


FC2 was fun for about 10 minutes.





Back to top
BottomlandBrew
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Aug 2010
10968 posts
 Online 

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


I bought FC2 on sale for $2.50 and felt like I got ripped off.





Back to top
jmarto1
LSU Fan
Houma, LA
Member since Mar 2008
12931 posts
 Online 

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


I'm at the point where I don't trust most of these scores anymore. I know it is all a matter of opinion but ME3 was a prime example of why I think some of these companies are in bed with these game companies.





Back to top
stout
Arizona Fan
Sportsman's Paradise
Member since Sep 2006
113909 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising








Back to top
TigerDik86
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2011
2792 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


What I'm hearing is "It's like Skyrim with Guns"

How true do you think this is?






Back to top
BottomlandBrew
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Aug 2010
10968 posts
 Online 

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


quote:

What I'm hearing is "It's like Skyrim with Guns"


So like Fallout?






Back to top
tom
Baton Rouge
Member since Jun 2007
2809 posts

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


quote:

I just thought it was terrible.

The time it took to travel and the more than normal repetitive nature.


Other than those two (obviously major) issues, it was a really good game. Multiplayer was surprisingly fun.






Back to top
sbr2
Member since Apr 2011
11497 posts
 Online 

re: Some Far Cry 3 reviews are rolling in...and they're surprising


Oh my god. Get over the ending, it was an excellent game except for that ending and I'd be willing to bet most "professional" reviewers take a clinical view of these games and don't worry so much about continuity.

As for Far Cry 2, the game looks great on the surface and from a review standpoint I can see where it could score highly but upon closer inspection by gamers who invested time into it, frick it was bad. Guns bursting apart in your hands after a certain amount use (lol), infinite respawning enemies at checkpoints, useless fast travel over a gigantic map, and my personal favorite the SUPER AGGRESSIVE ENEMIES. The game saddled you with a huge game world but it made every single enemy in the game hunt you down on sight, pass a Ford Pinto in the fricking desert? HE STOPS AND GETS OUT TO SHOOT YOU.






Back to top



Back to top