Should an OF umpire call an infield fly? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
CountryVolFan
Tennessee Fan
Knoxville, TN
Member since Dec 2008
2044 posts
 Online 

Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?



Seems counterintuitive to me.






Back to top
Share:
Supravol22
Tennessee Fan
Member since Jan 2011
9571 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


No



/thread






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Robot Santa
SMU Fan
TeamWalt
Member since Oct 2009
31234 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


No. He should call a suicide hotline. And they should hang up on him.





Back to top
Broseph Barksdale
George Washington Fan
Member since Sep 2010
5760 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


quote:

Should an OF umpire exist?







Back to top
SouljaBreauxTellEm
LSU Fan
Mizz
Member since Aug 2009
24897 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


Go Nats





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Lester Earl
LSU Fan
#buganation
Member since Nov 2003
187475 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


should he?

prob not


can an inf fly be called in shallow OF?

yes

so he surely has the freedom to do so.






Back to top
Woopigsooie20
Oklahoma Fan
Me Scusi
Member since Mar 2010
47466 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?








Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tigerfan7218
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Nov 2010
7565 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


The place where the catch is made on the field is completely irrelevant to this call, just so you know. Only thing in the rule is an infielder (aka positions 1-6) must make the catch.





Back to top
Lester Earl
LSU Fan
#buganation
Member since Nov 2003
187475 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


quote:

Only thing in the rule is an infielder (aka positions 1-6) must make the catch.


naw.

you dont know the rule. move on


quote:

The place where the catch is made on the field is completely irrelevant to this call, just so you know.


depends on how you look at it. Regardless, the right to make the call is not limited to just the infield umpires.






Back to top
Tigerfan7218
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Nov 2010
7565 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


I meant only thing as far as who or where the catch is made. Obviously the "ordinary effort" and "reasonable time" parts are there too. But yes, as far as who or where the catch is made, the only thing is that 1-6 must make that catch. If you want me to link you to the verbatim rule I can.





Back to top
Lester Earl
LSU Fan
#buganation
Member since Nov 2003
187475 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


quote:

But yes, as far as who or where the catch is made, the only thing is that 1-6 must make that catch. If you want me to link you to the verbatim rule I can.


please link it. Cause you are wrong






Back to top
1ranter1
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Dec 2008
8120 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


If it results in an Atlanta meltdown, yes





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tigerfan7218
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Nov 2010
7565 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


LINK

quote:

An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out. The pitcher, catcher and any outfielder who stations himself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule.



This post was edited on 10/5 at 8:31 pm


Back to top
Lester Earl
LSU Fan
#buganation
Member since Nov 2003
187475 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


so you interpret that positions 1-6 have to make the play?





Back to top
SouljaBreauxTellEm
LSU Fan
Mizz
Member since Aug 2009
24897 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


Yeah I heard that on MLB Network as well





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tigerfan7218
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Nov 2010
7565 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


Fine, call me on some BS, yes technically an OF stationed in the infield can catch an IFF ball. The point I was trying to make was that the positioning of the ball is irrelevant at least in the wording of the rule. Do you not agree to that?





Back to top
Lester Earl
LSU Fan
#buganation
Member since Nov 2003
187475 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


quote:

Rule 2.00 (Infield Fly) Comment: On the infield fly rule the umpire is to rule whether the ball could ordinarily have been handled by an infielder?not by some arbitrary limitation such as the grass, or the base lines. The umpire must rule also that a ball is an infield fly, even if handled by an outfielder, if, in the umpire?s judgment, the ball could have been as easily handled by an infielder. The infield fly is in no sense to be considered an appeal play. The umpire?s judgment must govern, and the decision should be made immediately.



had Matt Holliday field that ball, it would have still been infield fly. The call is made before the player catches the ball. It's not erased should an OF catch it (or drop it). The batter is still out. Ive seen the exact play before.



This post was edited on 10/5 at 8:34 pm


Back to top
Swoopin
Auburn Fan
Member since Jun 2011
16858 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


quote:

No. He should call a suicide hotline. And they should hang up on him.


Sig-quoted






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Tigerfan7218
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Nov 2010
7565 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


Fair enough, my point was that positioning on the field technically makes no impact on the play, obviously on field interpretation of the rule has to include positioning to some extent. But the people arguing that because of where the catch was going to be made that it shouldn't have been called just don't get it.





Back to top
Lester Earl
LSU Fan
#buganation
Member since Nov 2003
187475 posts

re: Should an OF umpire call an infield fly?


quote:

The point I was trying to make was that the positioning of the ball is irrelevant at least in the wording of the rule


It depends on what you mean by irrelevant


I think most umps will generally call infield fly just on where the ball is hit....usually a high pop in the vicinity of an infielder.

Tonight was a much more difficult call.






Back to top


Back to top