Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
LouisianaLady
USA Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Mar 2009
58908 posts

Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC



I did a search and saw Coquette's lunch and dinner talked about plenty, but I couldn't find much about brunch other than they apparently stopped doing it for a while and have started again.

I've never been to Coquette, but I made reservations for brunch this Sunday. The website seems to have a $30/person brunch menu.

Anyone had brunch there lately and could give a review..? I doubt it will disappoint, but just wanted some other opinions :)



This post was edited on 10/8 at 1:52 pm



Back to top
Share:
Fun Bunch
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
27655 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


The 3 course 20 dollar lunch is great.

My gf loves brunch but for some reason we've just never gone to Coquette for it. And we love the place.

I'm very interested to hear what others think.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Burt Reynolds
Florida State Fan
L.A.
Member since Jul 2008
19442 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC








Back to top
  Replies (0)
Rohan2Reed
Grambling Fan
T'uela me la pela
Member since Nov 2003
72021 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


Don't like brunch, so I've never been. Sorry.





Back to top
LSUAfro
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2005
10502 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


Haven't done brunch, nor did I know they even did it. Their prix fixe are usually good deals though.

Don't expect to see what's on their webpage on their menu though. He keeps a couple of staples on it, but for the most part it's frequently changing.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Pork Que
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jun 2010
586 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


It was one of my favorite brunches before they discontinued it. I prefer it to their dinner. I'll be hittin' it up again Sunday too.







Back to top
Rohan2Reed
Grambling Fan
T'uela me la pela
Member since Nov 2003
72021 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


quote:

It was one of my favorite brunches before they discontinued it.


quote:

I'll be hittin' it up again Sunday too.


huh?






Back to top
Pork Que
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jun 2010
586 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


quote:

Rohan2Reed


They stopped serving Sunday brunch for about a year. This summer, they started offering it again. I'll be going Sunday.






Back to top
LouisianaLady
USA Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Mar 2009
58908 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


This is pretty much the responses I expected. When I searched, no one had recently done brunch there. Oh well... I'll find out Sunday. I chose the place because I've seen rave dinner and lunch reviews lately.





Back to top
Burt Reynolds
Florida State Fan
L.A.
Member since Jul 2008
19442 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


quote:

This is pretty much the responses I expected. When I searched, no one had recently done brunch there. Oh well... I'll find out Sunday. I chose the place because I've seen rave dinner and lunch reviews lately.


or you could walk two blocks down the street and eat a superior brunch at commanders palace






Back to top
LouisianaLady
USA Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Mar 2009
58908 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


I'm not rich enough for that haha. 21 year old eyeing that $30/person at coquette





Back to top
LSUAfro
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2005
10502 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


quote:

or you could walk two blocks down the street and eat a superior brunch at commanders palace

I'll take Coquette for lunch or dinner over Commanders all day every day, but Commanders does do a damn fine Sunday brunch.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LouisianaLady
USA Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Mar 2009
58908 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


Brunch was great.

It was very packed in the main dining area downstairs, and we were told by the host that they have a table for us upstairs, but there is a large bachelorette party going on and they are drunk/loud. The old couple who walked in before us opted for a corner table downstairs instead. We, on the other hand, told the host we'd love to join the loud bachelorette party room

The first cocktail I ordered had been sold out for the day, which was disappointing because it sounded awesome. I got another one instead that had won all kinds of awards. Didn't finish it. It was definitely interesting, but tasted like black licorice. Not my kind of drink. I can see where awesome talent went into it though. The waiter misunderstood me at one point and brought out a bottle of Pinot Grigio that I didn't order. Since it was already open, he went ahead and gave me a glass.

The food was outstanding. We got the King Salmon Tartare to start. So delicious. It had grilled carrots and peppers, which made each bite even better.

Jones got the duck, which he snapped a pic of with his phone.


It had grilled garlic and sweet peppers with a jalapeno puree.

I got the Pork Confit which came with a crispy pig ear and sweet corn. Wasn't able to manage a photo, but it was the best pork in any form I've ever had. Every bite was like butter. No chewing, no cutting.. just butter-textured pork.

I was too full for dessert (we were pretty hungover so it was a small meal), but everything was awesome. I loved the upstairs room. I'll have to keep it in mind when special events happen in life ;)

Side note: Had Vincent's at a rehearsal dinner for the first time this weekend, and was pretty impressed.






Back to top
BlackenedOut
The Big Sleazy
Member since Feb 2011
3384 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


Went to dinner at Coquette Saturday nigh. Am hesitant to ever say a restaurant in New Orleans is my favorite, but goddamn is Coquette fantastic right now. Full report coming in a few days.





Back to top
Fun Bunch
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
27655 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


I think Coquette is my favorite right now. I love the place.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Pork Que
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Jun 2010
586 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


Had a great brunch yesterday as well. Also sat upstairs (before the bachelorette party arrived).

John was our waiter. Excellent service. He opened the front window where we were sitting to let some of that cool fresh air in. Great playlist on the iPod.

Ordered a bottle of rose'. Hot, fresh sour dough bread and sweet butter quickly followed.

Started with the blood sausage served in a shallow pool of onion broth with cubes of apple and white cheddar. Very nice start.

For entree's, my wife had the pork confit. Fantastic!




I had the butternut squash cavatelli with fried chicken, brussels sprouts and shitake mushrooms.
Crazy good.



A truly outstanding meal. Highly recommend.







Back to top
thedice20
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since May 1926
Member since Aug 2008
7550 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


surely surely you were still hungry after that meal?


I woulda stopped and picked up a Mcrib or two on the way home after that.






Back to top
Fun Bunch
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
27655 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


I've never left Coquette hungry, but I usually do the 3 course lunch. Never done the brunch.

But I don't go to eat at places like that to "get full", generally. The food is fantastic and unless you're a fatass, its generally enough food.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Jones
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Oct 2005
55779 posts
 Online 

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


quote:

surely surely you were still hungry after that meal?


All the portions looked just fine to me. I was facing the big bachelorette so I basically got to see all the entrees. Splitting an app and entree had me at full on the way out but it wasnt that full where you feel bad.

Like he said before me you dont go to a place like this and gorge yourself like some fat slob






Back to top
  Replies (0)
LouisianaLady
USA Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Mar 2009
58908 posts

re: Coquette Brunch Reviews/Recs?- UPDATE WITH REVIEW/PIC


YAY you posted my pork!!

I'm jealous you got the butternut squash cavatelli. It was my first choice, but sold out.

Honestly, though, I'm glad I got the pork confit. Seriously the best pork I've ever had.



This post was edited on 10/8 at 5:09 pm


Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top