youth .243 rifle review... | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
j4lsu
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Aug 2006
2443 posts

youth .243 rifle review...


rossi (have read bad reviews);
remington 770;
savage .243 win;

what does the ob say? any reviews, suggestions, insight appreciated.







Back to top
Share:
DownshiftAndFloorIt
LSU Fan
The devil dreams on an idle horse
Member since Jan 2011
38096 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


Are you set on those three?

Savage for sure out of those






Back to top
VolsFan24
South Carolina Fan
Member since Jun 2011
2153 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


Easy, savage





Back to top
j4lsu
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Aug 2006
2443 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


no, not set on those 3... just 3 that i had looked at or had been mentioned to me...

any other ideas/suggestions welcome and appreciated.






Back to top
j4lsu
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Aug 2006
2443 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


i assume that the rossi, which is obviously cheaper than the others, is cheaper for a reason... i.e., doesn't hold a pattern, not durable, etc???





Back to top
FelicianaTigerfan
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2009
13642 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


Only thing I can offer is ive heard horrible things about the Rossi


ETA: What age child is this for? Boy or girl? height weight? I have a step son I want to get a gun for but he's kinda puney.



This post was edited on 9/4 at 4:33 pm


Back to top
DownshiftAndFloorIt
LSU Fan
The devil dreams on an idle horse
Member since Jan 2011
38096 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


Are you set on the caliber as well?

IMO, the ultimate kids rifle is a remington 700 with a youth stock in 7mm-08. Full sized stocks are a dime a dozen for when the kid outgrows the stock. They'll never outgrow the caliber.






Back to top
DownshiftAndFloorIt
LSU Fan
The devil dreams on an idle horse
Member since Jan 2011
38096 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


I had a rossi single shot before (.243 in fact). It didn't shoot worth a flying shite and the customer service was not very good. I don't recommend their products.


This post was edited on 9/4 at 4:33 pm


Back to top
Tigerpaw123
USA Fan
P'ville
Member since Mar 2007
8762 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


quote:

IMO, the ultimate kids rifle is a remington 700 with a youth stock in 7mm-08


Best advice in thread






Back to top
Me4Heisman
USA Fan
Landmass
Member since Aug 2004
4804 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


Get the Rem. Model Seven if they still make it.





Back to top
j4lsu
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Aug 2006
2443 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


... thanks, downshift. i appreciate the info/personal thoughts on the rossi. that one is likely off of the list.







Back to top
DownshiftAndFloorIt
LSU Fan
The devil dreams on an idle horse
Member since Jan 2011
38096 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


quote:

Rem. Model Seven if they still make it.


They do. It's more expensive though and the extra barrel length of the 700 helps with recoil and muzzle blast.






Back to top
DownshiftAndFloorIt
LSU Fan
The devil dreams on an idle horse
Member since Jan 2011
38096 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


If you want a single shot in that price range, get an H&R handi-rifle. Your chances of getting a lemon are much slimmer.

Rossi did not want to fix my rifle, which was definitely messed up from the factory. It went back twice (once to get re-crowned and once to get the chamber re-done) and the problem was never fixed. I insisted they re-barrel the rifle for me to no avail.



This post was edited on 9/4 at 4:37 pm


Back to top
Teyeger
LSU Fan
Smoke Grove
Member since Sep 2011
2252 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


Another vote for the Rem 700 Youth in 7mm-08. Not sure how big your youth is but the 7mm-08 is a much better round than the 243.

Also the Rossi is a single shot. Not easy for a kid to let that hammer back down. Could cause serious problems.






Back to top
choupiquesushi
LSU Fan
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
11883 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


quote:

quote:
IMO, the ultimate kids rifle is a remington 700 with a youth stock in 7mm-08


Best advice in thread




savage ain't bad either.






Back to top
DownshiftAndFloorIt
LSU Fan
The devil dreams on an idle horse
Member since Jan 2011
38096 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


quote:

savage ain't bad either.


Not at all.

I have not shot a poorly made bolt action rifle that was made in the past 10 years though. Pretty much everybody makes a rifle that will shoot minute of dead.






Back to top
j4lsu
LSU Fan
Pineville
Member since Aug 2006
2443 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


well, that's just it... we will have a string of about 3 (oldest turning 9, then one 6, then one 4) coming up through the family (not all mine); so the gun will be used for a while.

the remington 700 youth that has been mentioned, is that likely the remington 770 that had been mentioned to me, or totally different?






Back to top
angus1838
Alabama Fan
Southeast Alabama
Member since Jan 2012
754 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


Got my son the rossi combo (243,22, and 20 ga). It is an absolute piece of junk. I bought him the combo which came with a a 22 and 20ga. The open sights on the 22 won't even adjust enough to center a shot. I tried calling and email and after about 6 months still haven't heard anything from them. I would steer clear of them if I were you. Also they kick like a mule.





Back to top
Teyeger
LSU Fan
Smoke Grove
Member since Sep 2011
2252 posts

re: youth .243 rifle review...


Totally different. The 770 is a piece of crap. One of Remingtons cheaper models. Sounds like it is going to be used for many years to come. Go ahead and get the 700.





Back to top
wickowick
LSU Fan
Head of Island
Member since Dec 2006
20050 posts
 Online 

re: youth .243 rifle review...


quote:

770 that had been mentioned to me, or totally different?


My understanding is that it is junk compared to the 700.






Back to top



Back to top