Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
SenseiBuddy
LSU Fan
InternetBadAssVille
Member since Oct 2005
3696 posts

Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


So you want to know what the OB thinks about the latest Aluminum boat you really found a good deal on huh? Well here is a comprehensive list of Boat manufactures that Ive seen either in person, or on the water.

Tips to remember:
>The more welds, the more risk.
>Welds are better than rivets.
>the thickness of the aluminum (gauge) is its true durability factor. the thinner the metal the easier it is to puncture.
>find the boat with your fav floor plan as it will most likely make you happy with your boat.


AlWeld Boat .100 on all models Good looking boat - lots of models to choose from
AlWeld




G3 Boats- .100 on all models - My Favorite boat based on its good looks and style.
G3 Boats



Xpress Boats - Some bass boat models have .125 gauge - I love the Xplorer Series comes in Camo paint and 20' length with a 115hp for $20.5K
Xpress




Sea Ark Boats - .125 and a good looking boat too.
Stealth 206 is 20'6" 83" beam max 175hp! they also make a tunnel hull boat thats not really a tunnel hull. :)
SeaArk



Alumaweld Boats - some have .160 bottoms and .100 sides. cheesy website IMO.Boat look very Al Linder type. :)
Alumaweld




Gator Trax Custom Boats - Made in Louisiana you choose the thickness .100 .125 or .195 - you choose the style, layout, configuration etc...
GatorTrax



Hankos Custom Boats - Made in Berwick Louisiana
Website is very vauge. Honda Outboard dealer
Hankos




Triton Aluminum Boats - .100 very fiberglass looking boat from its interior.
Triton



Lund - boats for yankees - lots of rivets and welds - no listing for hull thickness.
Lund




Lowes Boats - .100 They have a Stinger series that looks great - comes in a camo paint too. The Frontier Models are for just plain fishing, no frills type boat.
Lowes



Bass Tracker Boats Sold at BPS .100 hull thickness
Tracker



War Eagle Boats - .080 thru .125
website is clunky but i like the camo paint here too. Tomahawk Bass series looks sharp. hull thickness scares me! lol
War Eagle


So that about covers the boats that I researched last year prior to purchasing my boat. I took alot of factors in prior to making my decision. The top three factors for me were - Hull Construction ( I wanted a boat that would outlive me) Layout (How i wanted the storage and floor to exist) and Motor/Trailer options (I only wanted Yamaha or Honda and a galvanzied trailer).

Looking at all of these boats tells me one thing: they wouldnt be in business if they all made crappy leaky boats all the time. (sorta)
Pick the boat that fits your needs, covers your concerns and helps you fish or hunt more and better.

Good luck and happy boating ya cack handed deck apes.



This post was edited on 7/30 at 1:07 pm



Back to top
Share:
Whiskey Richard
LSU Fan
Member since May 2011
5738 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


I thought i clicked on craigslist


This post was edited on 6/20 at 10:43 am


Back to top
BarDTiger81
LSU Fan
nurfeast lowsyana
Member since Jul 2011
15639 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


Nice job

Need to page Flair Chops in your title so he can add to OB guide.






Back to top
SenseiBuddy
LSU Fan
InternetBadAssVille
Member since Oct 2005
3696 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


i dont get it whiskey.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
BayouBandit24
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Aug 2010
13254 posts
 Online 

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


We got a bass tracker last year. Its awesome and was an excellent purchase.





Back to top
SenseiBuddy
LSU Fan
InternetBadAssVille
Member since Oct 2005
3696 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


I forgot bass tracker...i will add it.
thx






Back to top
BayouBandit24
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Aug 2010
13254 posts
 Online 

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


Its a sweet little machine





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Who Me
LSU Fan
Ascension
Member since Aug 2011
5569 posts
 Online 

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


You left out the best ones:

Gaudets, American Aluminum, and Gravois.






Back to top
Flair Chops
Miami (FL) Fan
boone county mating call
Member since Nov 2010
33540 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


i knew as soon as i saw the OP that it would make the cut





Back to top
SenseiBuddy
LSU Fan
InternetBadAssVille
Member since Oct 2005
3696 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


Gaudet told me he only does commercial boats now. No fishing boats.

dont know much about American or Gravios....






Back to top
BarDTiger81
LSU Fan
nurfeast lowsyana
Member since Jul 2011
15639 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide








Back to top
  Replies (0)
Who Me
LSU Fan
Ascension
Member since Aug 2011
5569 posts
 Online 

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


Just joking with you. All three of those would be on another level completely than a production boat. I doubt anyone looking at any of the brands in the OP would be considering a top of the line custom made one running around 85-100K fully rigged.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
FelicianaTigerfan
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2009
14568 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


Compared all the 17' models just like I did before purchasing a boat and Xpress has the best package. Only thing close was the Triton VT19 but its at least $4k more





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Nascar Fan
LSU Fan
Columbia La.
Member since Jul 2011
15089 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


Nice job
I own 2 of them the AlWeld is my duck & yoyo boat
The G3 is my bass boat & love them both






Back to top
SenseiBuddy
LSU Fan
InternetBadAssVille
Member since Oct 2005
3696 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


Took me longer than expected to build this but I feel vindicated by Flair. :)





Back to top
  Replies (0)
tgrbaitn08
USA Fan
Member since Dec 2007
37982 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


quote:

Gaudets, American Aluminum, and Gravois.


also forgot Scullys






Back to top
tigerzballzdeep
LSU Fan
Rockwall, TX
Member since Jun 2007
2417 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


Here are some great aluminum boats we use in the Pacific Northwest. Much different layout than you would see in the South though.

Duckworth Boats
North River
Boulton Powerboats
Fish Rite Boats
Willie Boats
Weld Craft
Koffler Boats
Alumaweld Boats






Back to top
SenseiBuddy
LSU Fan
InternetBadAssVille
Member since Oct 2005
3696 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


Scullys was considered. However when i approached them for a custom built boat, they never replied.
And to add to that, the website only shows Pleasure, work and yachts made.







Back to top
tgrbaitn08
USA Fan
Member since Dec 2007
37982 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


quote:

Scullys was considered. However when i approached them for a custom built boat, they never replied.


not surprising..

quote:

And to add to that, the website only shows Pleasure, work and yachts made.




they do exactly the same work as Hanko



What did you end up going with?

FTR I have a 24' Hanko with a 250hp






Back to top
SenseiBuddy
LSU Fan
InternetBadAssVille
Member since Oct 2005
3696 posts

re: Aluminum Boat Review - The OB Guide


I have a 20' Big Water Edition Gator Trax Fishing boat with the hunt deck and outboard package.





Back to top


Back to top