Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place? | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
GFunk
LSU Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Feb 2011
9328 posts

Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?

This isn't a thread about their restaurant. There have been several folks recommend it to me on the F&D board when looking for a good meal.

What I'm wondering is have any of you been out there for a weekend getaway, or a wedding ceremony or reception, tour of the grounds, etc.

If so, what's your opinion? Love it? Hate it? Too far of a drive from the BR Area?


Ioncehitta Longball
LA-Lafayette Fan
LAFFY
Member since Aug 2011
881 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
It's so awesome you should ask twice.


Chad504boy
New Orleans Saints Fan
Five Oh Four
Member since Feb 2005
86418 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
a great place to go grab a meal.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
TigerRad
LSU Fan
Columbia, SC
Member since Jan 2007
4732 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
Had my rehearsal dinner there years ago. Chartered a couple of buses to bring everybody over the river. Worked out awesome, loved and remembered by all as a good time.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
jojothetireguy
New Orleans Saints Fan
Live out in Coconut Grove
Member since Jan 2009
9334 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
i grew up in White Castle, basically the only really nice thing out there besides some of the people is Nottoway.
Very nice place, the drive isn't to bad going through addis, brusly, plaquemine or you go through St. Gabriel and take the ferry.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
lsuhunt555
Oral Roberts Fan
Teakwood Village Breh
Member since Nov 2008
23152 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
We looked into getting married there, wound up getting married at another plantation, but its a very nice place. Actually going to a wedding there in July and sleeping on the grounds.


Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19469 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
The place is great and has gotten a lot nicer. I'm looking to getting married out there soon and have been working with their wedding planner. One of them is a younger girl named Kaitlyn (I think that's how she spells it)and she has made this whole cluster frick of planning a wedding much nicer. She very nice and seems to know her shite. We had a tasting a while back and the restaurant food was very good. You can do a ceremony in several different places like under the oaks, on the front lawn, in the white ballroom and a few others but I cant remember what they are. We picked to have it out there as opposed to other places because it was fairly cheap, great food, plenty of room for my 400 guests that will be coming and it is a beautiful place.

I know 400 guests sounds crazy but I don't have much choice. My family is huge.


crimsonsaint
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2009
33135 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
quote:

We picked to have it out there as opposed to other places because it was fairly cheap


quote:

400 guests


I doubt that.


GFunk
LSU Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Feb 2011
9328 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
quote:



I doubt that.


I was thinking our 75 person guest list was gonna set us back. 400 people? LOL! Might as well take a 2nd mortgage HELOC out!


jojothetireguy
New Orleans Saints Fan
Live out in Coconut Grove
Member since Jan 2009
9334 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
we thought about doing it, but our 150 people guess list was to high for me to be ok with for a one night party.


crimsonsaint
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2009
33135 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
I can only imagine how much a 400 guest wedding would cost. Any idea how much you're gonna spend on the entire wedding? Dinners, reception, church, etc.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
White Shadeaux
LSU Fan
In the nicest parts of hell
Member since Jan 2006
23924 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
quote:

quote:


400 guests




I doubt that.



He meant it comparatively.

:reading comprehension:


el Gaucho
Lamar Fan
bawcomville
Member since Dec 2010
20964 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
in my opinion, when the slaves were building it, they'd take the boards with knots and throw them away, and say "knotaway!" which is how Nottoway Plantation got its name


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19469 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
Cheap in relation to other places.

Its gonna be expensive as shite but that's what happens when you have a monsterous fricking family and are one of the youngest of the 40 cousins, meaning the others already have husbands and wives. Oh well I guess.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bigwheel
LSU Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Feb 2008
2942 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
Loove the wake-up sweet potato biscuits and coffee, then go down for eggs benedict


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19469 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
Hunt, where did you all decide on and why there over Nottoway?


lsuhunt555
Oral Roberts Fan
Teakwood Village Breh
Member since Nov 2008
23152 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
quote:

Hunt, where did you all decide on and why there over Nottoway?



We ended up getting married at San Fransico in Garyville. Couple of reasons why, we didn't want anything later than early April and Nottoway was booked until end of May and San Francisco was a little cheaper due to the fact that you could hire an outside caterer. I believe you had to Cater through Nottoway and they weren't cheap.


geauxscott
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2007
728 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
I'm getting married there in May - place is very nice - its pricy but alot of stuff comes with it that you would normally have to rent at other places (table,chairs, staff, etc). Also, you don't have to go overboard decorating as its nice as is.


Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19469 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
Yeah that's what I liked about it. Are you dealing with Kaitlyn or the other coordinators?


Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19469 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?
Got you.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Page 1 of 2

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings
Follow us on social media and get the latest updates.

FacebookTwitterInstagram