Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place? | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
GFunk
LSU Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Feb 2011
8712 posts

Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?



This isn't a thread about their restaurant. There have been several folks recommend it to me on the F&D board when looking for a good meal.

What I'm wondering is have any of you been out there for a weekend getaway, or a wedding ceremony or reception, tour of the grounds, etc.

If so, what's your opinion? Love it? Hate it? Too far of a drive from the BR Area?







Back to top
Share:
Ioncehitta Longball
LA-Lafayette Fan
LAFFY
Member since Aug 2011
881 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


It's so awesome you should ask twice.





Back to top
Chad504boy
New Orleans Saints Fan
Five Oh Four
Member since Feb 2005
82876 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


a great place to go grab a meal.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
TigerRad
LSU Fan
Columbia, SC
Member since Jan 2007
4584 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


Had my rehearsal dinner there years ago. Chartered a couple of buses to bring everybody over the river. Worked out awesome, loved and remembered by all as a good time.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
jojothetireguy
New Orleans Saints Fan
Live out in Coconut Grove
Member since Jan 2009
9260 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


i grew up in White Castle, basically the only really nice thing out there besides some of the people is Nottoway.
Very nice place, the drive isn't to bad going through addis, brusly, plaquemine or you go through St. Gabriel and take the ferry.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
lsuhunt555
Oral Roberts Fan
Member since Nov 2008
21899 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


We looked into getting married there, wound up getting married at another plantation, but its a very nice place. Actually going to a wedding there in July and sleeping on the grounds.





Back to top
Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19205 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


The place is great and has gotten a lot nicer. I'm looking to getting married out there soon and have been working with their wedding planner. One of them is a younger girl named Kaitlyn (I think that's how she spells it)and she has made this whole cluster frick of planning a wedding much nicer. She very nice and seems to know her shite. We had a tasting a while back and the restaurant food was very good. You can do a ceremony in several different places like under the oaks, on the front lawn, in the white ballroom and a few others but I cant remember what they are. We picked to have it out there as opposed to other places because it was fairly cheap, great food, plenty of room for my 400 guests that will be coming and it is a beautiful place.

I know 400 guests sounds crazy but I don't have much choice. My family is huge.






Back to top
crimsonsaint
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2009
32435 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


quote:

We picked to have it out there as opposed to other places because it was fairly cheap


quote:

400 guests


I doubt that.






Back to top
GFunk
LSU Fan
Denham Springs
Member since Feb 2011
8712 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


quote:



I doubt that.


I was thinking our 75 person guest list was gonna set us back. 400 people? LOL! Might as well take a 2nd mortgage HELOC out!






Back to top
jojothetireguy
New Orleans Saints Fan
Live out in Coconut Grove
Member since Jan 2009
9260 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


we thought about doing it, but our 150 people guess list was to high for me to be ok with for a one night party.





Back to top
crimsonsaint
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2009
32435 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


I can only imagine how much a 400 guest wedding would cost. Any idea how much you're gonna spend on the entire wedding? Dinners, reception, church, etc.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
White Shadeaux
LSU Fan
In the nicest parts of hell
Member since Jan 2006
23687 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


quote:

quote:


400 guests




I doubt that.



He meant it comparatively.

:reading comprehension:






Back to top
el Gaucho
Lamar Fan
bawcomville
Member since Dec 2010
20460 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


in my opinion, when the slaves were building it, they'd take the boards with knots and throw them away, and say "knotaway!" which is how Nottoway Plantation got its name






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19205 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


Cheap in relation to other places.

Its gonna be expensive as shite but that's what happens when you have a monsterous fricking family and are one of the youngest of the 40 cousins, meaning the others already have husbands and wives. Oh well I guess.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
bigwheel
LSU Fan
Lake Charles
Member since Feb 2008
2895 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


Loove the wake-up sweet potato biscuits and coffee, then go down for eggs benedict





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19205 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


Hunt, where did you all decide on and why there over Nottoway?





Back to top
lsuhunt555
Oral Roberts Fan
Member since Nov 2008
21899 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


quote:

Hunt, where did you all decide on and why there over Nottoway?



We ended up getting married at San Fransico in Garyville. Couple of reasons why, we didn't want anything later than early April and Nottoway was booked until end of May and San Francisco was a little cheaper due to the fact that you could hire an outside caterer. I believe you had to Cater through Nottoway and they weren't cheap.






Back to top
geauxscott
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2007
688 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


I'm getting married there in May - place is very nice - its pricy but alot of stuff comes with it that you would normally have to rent at other places (table,chairs, staff, etc). Also, you don't have to go overboard decorating as its nice as is.





Back to top
Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19205 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


Yeah that's what I liked about it. Are you dealing with Kaitlyn or the other coordinators?





Back to top
Drew Orleans
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
19205 posts

re: Nottoway Plantation...What is the OT's opinion on this place?


Got you.





Back to top
  Replies (0)


Back to top