Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question | TigerDroppings.com

Posted byMessage
Maximus
Idaho Fan
Member since Feb 2004
70618 posts

Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


I have a big crack on my windshield but its not in the line of sight for the driver. I've been cleared for stickers with it for like 3 years now but i remember hearing a bunch of talk that LA was now gonna fail anybody with a crack of a certain size no matter where it is on the windshield. Anybody know the real deal?






Back to top
Share:
tigerdup07
LA-Lafayette Fan
Member since Dec 2007
18530 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


don't inspect it. mine has been out of date for five years. so faded now, they can't even tell.








Back to top
TigahRag
Texas A&M Fan
Sorting Out OT BS Since 2005
Member since May 2005
128519 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


shit, max .. i bought a vehicle in 2002 with an '03 sticker on it .. windshield got cracked in '03 ... i never had the fricking thing inspected until 2008 when i had to change the windshield .. saved myself over $100 ... inspection stickers are the biggest fricking scam around ...

but, if you have to have one .. the crack is all about your "realistic line of sight" ... if it is not running in the middle of your windshield right in front of you, you're OK ... go to benny's car wash on coursey blvd. to get it inspected .. they are fairly lenient over there, especially if you go early sunday morning ..






Back to top
yellowfin
Illinois Fan
Coastal Bar
Member since May 2006
64252 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


My inspection sticker and registration both are expired since 2006 and I don't even live in Louisiana anymore.





Back to top
tigerdup07
LA-Lafayette Fan
Member since Dec 2007
18530 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

the crack is all about your "realistic line of sight"



or if it is "wall to wall". if it starts on the bottom and goes all the way to the top, or side to side "all the way" then it is illegal as they feel that the windshield is vulnerable.








Back to top
CorkSoaker
LSU Fan
Biloxi, MS
Member since Oct 2008
1846 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


I bought my car in 2004 in LA and they didn't put a sticker on it since they knew I lived in MS. I have never had one, been pulled over 3 times, and no ticket.

*knock on wood*






Back to top
Maximus
Idaho Fan
Member since Feb 2004
70618 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


yeah i always go to bennys on perkins and they've passed it over and over. i just remember a bunch of people on here saying that now there was some new law where if the crack was over 8 inches or some shite anywhere on the thing it would get rejected.

and yeah, i've ridden a long time without a valid one too but i dont want to give cops any reason to claim they validly pulled me over.






Back to top
yellowfin
Illinois Fan
Coastal Bar
Member since May 2006
64252 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

tigerdup07

you talk to my father in law lately?






Back to top
tigerdup07
LA-Lafayette Fan
Member since Dec 2007
18530 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

you talk to my father in law lately?


last time i talked to him, he was living in alaska.








Back to top
TigahRag
Texas A&M Fan
Sorting Out OT BS Since 2005
Member since May 2005
128519 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

or if it is "wall to wall". if it starts on the bottom and goes all the way to the top, or side to side "all the way" then it is illegal as they feel that the windshield is vulnerable.


if it goes side to side it is a safety issue at that point .. the whole thing could collapse on your while you're driving ..






Back to top
yellowfin
Illinois Fan
Coastal Bar
Member since May 2006
64252 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

last time i talked to him, he was living in alaska

It's been a while then, he's getting married........again.






Back to top
tigerdup07
LA-Lafayette Fan
Member since Dec 2007
18530 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

It's been a while then, he's getting married........again.



someone from v.p.?

also, your grandpa in law owes me about a carton of cigarettes. didn't want mrs. virginia to catch him.








Back to top
TigahRag
Texas A&M Fan
Sorting Out OT BS Since 2005
Member since May 2005
128519 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

and yeah, i've ridden a long time without a valid one too but i dont want to give cops any reason to claim they validly pulled me over.


yeah .. it does become a pain in the arse at times to keep the cops from getting a straight on view of your inspection sticker .. i did have one pull me over in 2006 and told him some shite like "funny you pulled me over because i was just on my way to get it inspected" ... dude believed me and let me go ...

i'm not completely familiar with any new regulations on the windshield, but it wouldn't shock me if some places would give you shite about it, then conveniently try to sell you a $300 windshield ... is the crack too big to go to a crack repair joint ? i've had one fixed before .. it was about 10 inches and it worked .. if not, benny's will let you sail through ..






Back to top
PortCityTiger24
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Dec 2006
62654 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


ron can tell where to get that shite fixed





Back to top
TigahRag
Texas A&M Fan
Sorting Out OT BS Since 2005
Member since May 2005
128519 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


ron seems to be the OT master of short cuts in life ..





Back to top
1stdownolemiss
New Orleans Saints Fan
Oxford,Ms
Member since Dec 2008
183 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

I bought my car in 2004 in LA and they didn't put a sticker on it since they knew I lived in MS. I have never had one, been pulled over 3 times, and no ticket.



Inspection stickers only cost $5 why would you chance getting a $120 ticket?






Back to top
Stevo
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2004
5395 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


let me know what you find out. I've got the same deal on passenger side of windshield.





Back to top
tigerdup07
LA-Lafayette Fan
Member since Dec 2007
18530 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

Inspection stickers only cost $5


10 dollars. and if you get a ticket, it is a non-moving violation. 60 dollar fine. and if you can get away with it for 6 yrs, you're even.







Back to top
1stdownolemiss
New Orleans Saints Fan
Oxford,Ms
Member since Dec 2008
183 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

10 dollars. and if you get a ticket, it is a non-moving violation. 60 dollar fine. and if you can get away with it for 6 yrs, you're even.


Theyre $5 in Miss






Back to top
Stevo
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2004
5395 posts

re: Cracked Windshield Inspection Sticker question


quote:

but i dont want to give cops any reason to claim they validly pulled me over.


they'll just sprinkle crack cocaine in your car just in case you did nothing wrong.






Back to top



Back to top