Opinions on 9mm models for women? | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
homesicktiger
LSU Fan
High altitude hell
Member since Oct 2004
291 posts

Opinions on 9mm models for women?

Looking for a 9mm for the wife. I assumed she needs to look at single-stacks, but does anyone have experience with smaller double-stacks with decent ergonomics for smaller hands?


BarDTiger81
LSU Fan
nurfeast lowsyana
Member since Jul 2011
15639 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
Check the second stickied thread. Has links you need.


KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
58755 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
sig 938


bapple
LSU Fan
Capital City
Member since Oct 2010
7905 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
Double stack - Ruger SR9c, S&W M&P

Single Stack - M&P Shield, Kahr CM9, Springfield XDs


Interweb Cowboy
Alabama Fan
Member since Dec 2010
1872 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
My wife is pretty small and she love to shoot my Ruger LC9 single stack.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
TigerOnThe Hill
Springhill
Member since Sep 2008
2966 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
Homesick, I'm not familiar w/ a double stack 9mm particularly suited to women. The best I can recommend is to let her handle some of them.

Yeah, I think your best bet will be w/ a single stack 9. In addition to the ones already mentioned, I'll add some more, in no particular order:
Kahr PM9 (a more expensive version of the CM9)
Kahr CW9 (a no frills, slightly bigger version of the CM9)
Kahr MK9
Kel-Tec PF9
Diamondback DB9
Bersa BP9cc
Kimber Solo
Beretta Nano
Sig 290
Walther PPS
SCCY Industries CPX

ETA: It's very important that she handle the gun to be sure she can manipulate the slide. The smaller semi-autos usually have pretty stiff springs so that lots of women have difficulties working the slide.
This post was edited on 11/18 at 6:38 pm


jiffyjohnson
LSU Fan
'Merica
Member since Nov 2011
2259 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
quote:

M&P Shield


Saw a demo on one of these and really liked it.


dawg23
Mississippi St. Fan
Baton Rouge, La
Member since Jul 2011
2116 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
Over the years I have had a lot of women call and schedule a one-on-one defensive handgun lesson.

I always start them on a Glock 19 -- but with an Advantage Arms Conversion Kit that shoots .22LR. I start with this kit and then work up to light 9mm ammo, then work up to full 9mm loads.

I mention the foregoing because I have met exactly one female student who could not shoot the G19 well -- with .22LR and with 9mm. The one who couldn't shoot the G19 had very tiny hands. All the rest shot very well.

Racking the slide is mostly a matter of technique. It's usually far easier to rack the slide on a G19 than on a PM9 or some other mouse gun. And the recoil will usually be less with the G19 -- and the sights will be better, and the trigger will be better and it will hold more ammo.

Other than that, the guns will be comparable. Except for the fact that the women shoot the G19 a lot better than a J-frame revolver or a mousegun -- meaning accurate hits at a more rapid cadence.

The natural error that follows the lesson is when the knowledgeable husband or boyfriend decides to buy her a smaller Glock -- the G26. Now she has a gun with the same manual of arms, and the same trigger, same sights ----- BUT carries 30% less ammo and is much harder to control. But it is 1/2" SHORTER, AS IF THAT'S A MAJOR BLESSING.

Women who get training "get" Glocks. Ask any of the big name gurus who train thousands of people each year in their 2-day and 3-day classes. Very few of those mouseguns survive these classes without a malfunction. And if they do, the owner usually vows an immediate purchase of a Glock (like all the ones he watched fire flawlessly during the class).


El Josey Wales
LSU Fan
Greater Geismar
Member since Nov 2007
22710 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
Let the Glock bashing commence.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
bapple
LSU Fan
Capital City
Member since Oct 2010
7905 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
quote:

Women who get training "get" Glocks.


Sometimes women will forgo getting a Glock due to the tight clothes they like to wear. A single-stack is much easier to conceal than a G19. I don't think anyone is arguing that a full sized handgun recoils more than a small one - that's just physics.

I don't want you to think this means I don't respect your opinion. I know you've had more trigger time and training time than just about everyone here, so more power to you. A Glock just doesn't fit every single facet of everything, IMHO. Granted it is a great firearm, there are still some that do a specific job better than a Glock. But you know more than me so maybe I'm talking out of my ass.



EDIT: El Josey beat me to it before I even submitted this. I respect Glock I just don't like Glock hard-ons, that's all.
This post was edited on 11/18 at 10:27 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
homesicktiger
LSU Fan
High altitude hell
Member since Oct 2004
291 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
quote:

Check the second stickied thread. Has links you need.


I guess I didn't dig far enough.

Thanks for the replies. Yes, at some point, we just need to start shopping in person to see what "fits." I don't have any compacts for her to shoot. I'd thought about something like the LC9 as an affordable starter. Then, when she got proficient/comfortable with it, she could upgrade ... cause you can never have too many!



bapple
LSU Fan
Capital City
Member since Oct 2010
7905 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
quote:

I'd thought about something like the LC9 as an affordable starter.


How much experience does she have behind the trigger?


LouisianaChessie
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since May 2010
2442 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
I hope this thread continues. I wish there were a few women to comment. My girlfriend's arms are long and tiny. Unreal tiny. She limp wristed my M&P 9c with the extended mag an the x-grip adapter. Something I had previously thought impossible. There's not a chance she would be able to handle a snub nose .38 or a mouse gun.


NimbleCat
LSU Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Jan 2007
5802 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
On the Double Stack side: The Walther P99 or the Walther PPQ is also a gun worth taking a look at. It might fit a female's hands better than a Glock if that is an issue. It also has a decocker to reset the trigger to DA.

:glock:


homesicktiger
LSU Fan
High altitude hell
Member since Oct 2004
291 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
quote:

How much experience does she have behind the trigger?


Not a ton. Just a little plinking occasionally.


ArkBengal
LSU Fan
Benton, AR
Member since Aug 2004
1054 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
We have the Shield and love it. Wife & I both shoot it well, but they are hard to find right now


olgoi khorkhoi
Bucknell Fan
priapism survivor
Member since May 2011
3389 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
I find it funny that men and women tend to think that women need small pistols.

Then after shooting a tiny "feminine" gun they are turned off to shooting altogether.

There are a lot of ignorant husbands/boyfriends out there.


TigerOnThe Hill
Springhill
Member since Sep 2008
2966 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
quote:

Just a little plinking occasionally.


If she's a handgun newbie, you might want to consider FIRST starting her on a 22 LR, preferable w/ the same action of the defensive handugn you're considering. Nothing better to learn the basics of shooting than a 22 LR. Inexpensive, no recoil abd less muzzle blast. You can always move up to a bigger gun after she's demonstrated comfort and competence w/ the 22 LR.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Nodust
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2010
18961 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
I wouldn't get a tiny gun for learning to shoot. I would rather a bigger frame for practicing and getting proficient. Then later can get a small concealable.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
homesicktiger
LSU Fan
High altitude hell
Member since Oct 2004
291 posts

re: Opinions on 9mm models for women?
Never heard of this:

quote:

Then after shooting a tiny "feminine" gun they are turned off to shooting altogether.


I'm not advocating she shoot a 3~4" gun at nothing but 25 yard targets from the get-go.

She's the one that's mentioned my other handguns being "too big" (I wish there was a pun here ). Seems to me it'd be easier for someone to get discouraged with handguns they're already discounting, whether correctly or otherwise. I see no ignorance in her starting off with a smaller gun that won't intimidate her. Then, whenever she's comfortable, she can upgrade in size and/or caliber.


The .22's a good idea. Then it would always be around for the kids to learn on someday.




Page 1 of 2

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram