menu
Posted by
Message
TJG210
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Aug 2006
23331 posts

Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??

Someone told me that at lunch....true? Never heard of this.
This post was edited on 1/14 at 2:03 pm



fishfighter
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Apr 2008
21423 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
La state law, Yes! But I never got one in over 35 years and never was asked when stoped.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
ForeverLSU02
Penn Fan
Albany
Member since Jun 2007
33815 posts
Online

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
Yeah, it's been discussed on here before. Good luck searching for it though


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Fishhead
LSU Fan
Purvis, MS
Member since Jan 2008
6215 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
Yes, just like any other trailer.


choupiquesushi
LSU Fan
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
13798 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
This is what got a good friend of mine in a heap big trouble coming back from venice...

he was pulling trailer/boat.. with his son in his truck everyone else (of the 4 other they were hunting with ) were in another vehicle..

got pulled over... searched boat.... right number of birds for 6 people.. not for 2... got ticketed... by federal green jeans.. this was in early 90s..


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Teyeger
LSU Fan
Smoke Grove
Member since Sep 2011
2392 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
Yes it is La. law that hasnt been really enforced that much in the past, that is starting to get enforced more here lately.

I was told someone went through the boat ramp parking lot at the lake in Delhi and ticketed every boat trailer there because nobody had their trailor registered. That is what someone told me, I cant verify it happening so take it for what its worth.


cdaniel76
Member since Feb 2008
16986 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
"Inspection sticker" as in a brake tag?

WTF yall smoking?


It needs to be licensed and have a current registration sticker on the license, but I ain't never heard of a boat trailer needing no damn brake tag.


Drop4Loss
Birds Eye Of Deaf Valley
Member since Oct 2007
2312 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
Trailers must be inspected just like a car, for working lights.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Langston
LSU Fan
Cenla
Member since Nov 2010
6381 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
Been a law, only know of one person that got a ticket for it from a prick arse cop that couldnt find anything else and it got threw out without any connections.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
taurusjwf
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2008
817 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
5th wheels too.


KingRanch
LSU Fan
The Ranch
Member since Mar 2012
59228 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
Yep, I got cited for that back in the day


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Langston
LSU Fan
Cenla
Member since Nov 2010
6381 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
quote:

5th wheels too.


Yes, my camper came with one and that will be its last unless they start enforcing.


Hammertime
UNO Fan
TGI Fridays
Member since Jan 2012
21380 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
quote:

"Inspection sticker" as in a brake tag?
I laugh when all of these idiots call it an inspection sticker. All of the places in the New Orleans metro area have signs that say "Brake Tags". When are they gonna get with the times?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
TJG210
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Aug 2006
23331 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
quote:

unless they start enforcing.


A guy who works at a boat dealership was telling me that a couple guys came in asking about this after getting ticketed by cops sitting at a launch.

WTF? I've had a fishing pole in my hand from the time I could walk and have never heard of this.


cdaniel76
Member since Feb 2008
16986 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
So hang on... No one answered my question...

A BRAKE TAG on a boat trailer? Is that really a requirement?


QuietTiger
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Dec 2003
20940 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
quote:

A BRAKE TAG on a boat trailer? Is that really a requirement?


Of sorts, yes.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
fishfighter
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Apr 2008
21423 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
quote:

A BRAKE TAG on a boat trailer?


Yes and yes, I know what a brake tag is. Grew up in New Orleans. Everywere else calls them inspection stickers and mine in my truck is expired last month.

The one horse town I live in got busted and can't inspect till mid march.


cdaniel76
Member since Feb 2008
16986 posts

re: Boat trailers need an inspection ticket??
quote:

Yes and yes, I know what a brake tag is. Grew up in New Orleans. Everywere else calls them inspection stickers and mine in my truck is expired last month.


I get one on my truck every year. I know they're actually inspection stickers, but it's easier to say brake tag (less syllables for us Chalmations).

I've had boats with their trailers all my life(either my dad's when I was younger or mine since I was old enough to own one) and I've never heard of boat trailers requiring brake tags.

This is blowing my mind for some reason.
This post was edited on 1/14 at 2:44 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram