Opinions on Android Tablets | TigerDroppings.com
Posted by
Message
Dpizz450
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2011
5338 posts

Opinions on Android Tablets

Looking for opinions on this tablet. Pros, cons, etc.

Best Buy link to said tablet

Samsung Galaxy Tablet 10.1 operating Android 3.1 Honeycomb. Is there a better tablet out there? Tell me about this Honeycomb OS. I know absolutely nothing about Androids. I own an iPhone 4S and don't want an IPad. Is this tablet the hottest and newest one out right now? (Obviously excluding the iPad 3 by reading the previous statement.) If so, is there a newer one about to come out in the near future I should wait for? Looking for wifi only, no data plan.

After some replys and more research I am leaning towards the Asus Transformer Prime. Anyone got any experience with these?
This post was edited on 4/15 at 12:08 am



Cosmo
UNO Fan
glassman's guest house
Member since Oct 2003
68534 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
quote:

Is this tablet the hottest and newest one out right now?


Ipad 3


MrDrumngun
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Apr 2010
2301 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
The new transformers are better imo. But the galaxy line is also very impressive. Just buy something recent with Android 4.0 on it


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
Dpizz450
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2011
5338 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
You didn't excel in reading comprehension, did you?


Cosmo
UNO Fan
glassman's guest house
Member since Oct 2003
68534 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
Oh i read it just fine


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
MrDrumngun
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Apr 2010
2301 posts

Dpizz450
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2011
5338 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
quote:

MrDrumngun


That's a nice looking tablet. Which one is that? Judging by the pic below Android 4.0- doesn't support flash, just like apple? This true? Flash is a big reason I don't want an iPad.

This post was edited on 4/14 at 10:46 pm


TheShwenz
LSU Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jun 2008
1381 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
That's the Asus Transformer Prime...that's what I've been thinking about getting too. They're set to have a new model come out soon that I'll probably wait for if it's not too pricey

ETA: Current Transformer

New one coming out soon
This post was edited on 4/14 at 11:06 pm


MrDrumngun
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Apr 2010
2301 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
I believe that is correct because Adobe themselves are ending Flash development to move on to HTML5


lsu xman
Member since Oct 2006
10158 posts
Online

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
I have a samsung 7.7 and it is pretty sweet. 12oz half the weight of a ipad3.


MrDrumngun
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Apr 2010
2301 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
Well it's also considerable smaller too.


colorchangintiger
LSU Fan
Dan Carlin
Member since Nov 2005
23664 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
If you want a tablet with great content, get an iPad. If you want a tablet to just surf the Internet and read email, then save your money and don't buy anything.


Jet12
LSU Fan
Member since Nov 2010
20008 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
quote:

Edited again for the less intelligent folks.


quote:

Sasmsung

Lol


Dpizz450
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2011
5338 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
quote:

I believe that is correct because Adobe themselves are ending Flash development to move on to HTML5


Hmmm... Interesting. Sorry for being lazy and not googling, but do you know the ETA on this?

quote:

Jet12


It was a typo I didn't catch, crucify me. Big difference in a typo and comprehension to which I was referring to in the edit.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
hogbody
Southern Cal Fan
Fayetteville
Member since Oct 2008
3723 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
I have had the transformer prime for about a month now, and am really digging it after getting used to the OS( I have an iPhone 4 and am used to iPhone OS)

I'm running Icecream sandwich, and don't worry you can get flash from the google play store for free

There's lots of sweet features that aren't available with other tablets( I can even Bluetooth a ps3 controller to it an play games). I'd certainly look into it more


Dpizz450
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2011
5338 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
quote:

Hogbody


Wow. Sounds pretty sweet. Why the hell does best buy's dumbass site say it doesn't have flash support if all you have to do is download a free app? People need to know this shite when researching. This is why I come to get actual users opinions and don't rely on some dumbass comparison chart. Thanks man.


MrDrumngun
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Apr 2010
2301 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
Who says? All the games on iOS are on Android now and within the next year developers are going to start developing for Android first and then porting over to iOS.


Dpizz450
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2011
5338 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
quote:

Who says? All the games on iOS are on Android now and within the next year developers are going to start developing for Android first and then porting over to iOS.


I ignored him, he's obviously another one with reading comprehension problems.


hogbody
Southern Cal Fan
Fayetteville
Member since Oct 2008
3723 posts

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
Ha I know. The first time I opened the browser on mine it prompted me to go download flash. Been rocking ever since

If you do end up going android, be sure to get the Amazon app store. They offer a paid app for free every day. Some are pretty good


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
lsu xman
Member since Oct 2006
10158 posts
Online

re: Opinions on Android Tablets
I like the portability of a 7.7" tablet. Carrying around a 10" tablet is way too cumbersome for me. If I'm at home, I much rather be on the PC.


Page 1 of 4

Back to top

Follow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram